Aranym and Linux question

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari

Aranym and Linux question

Postby nagual » Wed Feb 22, 2017 12:12 pm

Question for Linux / Aranym forum experts...

Is it possible to make some embedded Linux installation with basic drivers (graphic, LAN,mouse, keyboard, printers, USB, HDD etc...), no GUI, no desktop, no programs, no codecs, no nothing, just directly boot (start) Aranym...

Which Linux distribution will be suitable for something like this ?
Small enough, and fast ?
Text based?

Please note that I'm very new in Linux and don't have enough knowledge and experience to do something like that:-)

So, any help, comments, link on "how-to" is more than welcome !

Regards !

P.S. I don't want to install AFROS, not my cup of tea, Aranym is (for me, of course) real deal :-)

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari

Re: Aranym and Linux question

Postby nagual » Wed Feb 22, 2017 12:14 pm

I forgot - basic file manager like MC is must:-)
And some kind of HDD driver for Linux and support for Aranym disk images (if needed...)

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero

Postby vido » Wed Feb 22, 2017 12:16 pm

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari

Postby nagual » Wed Feb 22, 2017 12:36 pm

@vido

Thank You for link, I was playing with version 8, but my problem is - don't like MiNT :-(
Somehow prefer pure TOS / MagiC /Geneva stuff:-))

But, anyway, I just downloading BeeKey 9...

wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian

Postby wongck » Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:57 pm

You can just run Emutos or Falcon TOS image and not run Mint/XaAES on Aranym.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari