EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Wed Mar 26, 2014 1:34 am

After many hours spent on building this archive and thanks to the help of many of you, I am please to share with you EasyAraMint.
It's still a work in progress and this is the first public beta, but it has reached a good stability to be shared : updates will come.

EasyAraMint is a complete and modern OS for Aranym, built on :
- EasyMint 1.18 fully installed and configured.
- FVDI & NVDI 5.03 setup for printing.
- Thing 1.27E setup for the apps included
- All the necessary apps for internet, office, image, music, video and development.
- A guide ton install this package and set up the internet for Windows, OSX and Linux.

https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/news/finallythebetaishere

Enjoy,

Philippe

Image
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby lschafroth » Wed Mar 26, 2014 2:19 am

Holy cow! This is exacly what I've been waiting for. An Atari desktop with modern apps that make it usable daily. I

I tried it with MacAranym and it goes to the setup screen. I can select the config file but it doesnt do anything.

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby lschafroth » Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:02 am

lschafroth wrote:Holy cow! This is exacly what I've been waiting for. An Atari desktop with modern apps that make it usable daily. I

I tried it with MacAranym and it goes to the setup screen. I can select the config file but it doesnt do anything.


The readme for MacAranym says it will look for the Aranym_files folder in the current application folder and then the Documents folder. I had the files in the same folder as the MacAranym program. Once I moved the Aranym_files to the Documents folder it loaded right up. The only thing that doesnt work is the networking. The MacAranym shows to edit the config file and edit the /etc/resolve.conf on the Atari side. I noticed your setup has a network panel. Do I edit both to match exactly or am I misting something? It says unable to resolve host.

Here is my first try at running it:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Wed Mar 26, 2014 4:51 am

Hi,

1rst post ever about this install : welcome and thank you :cheers:

Setting up the network is always touchy
What version of Aranym do you use?
I see that you have followed MacAranym readme instructions, beware they are quite different compared to mine.
Try the install procedure given in the readme.pdf from the archive. It should I hope work better with the step by step.
The tricky step is explained in page 4. You Absolutely must know the address of the router connected to the net and insure that Atari_ip is free on your lan
After boot you have to setup the atari side according to step 7 with "Network Setup" (aka : Enick) located in "Setup" folder - folder with gears icon- on the desktop.
At the end reboot of Aranym and you will be connected to the NET.

You are at 5 min to complete your setup :wink:

Thanks lschafroth for being the first official user :D

Cheers,
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

cyberish
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:18 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby cyberish » Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:15 am

Wow... great!
Would it be possible do adapt your efforts also for plain TOS users to run it on CT60 f.e. ?
raphael

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11993
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby wongck » Wed Mar 26, 2014 12:05 pm

[smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_12.gif]
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4081
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Dal » Wed Mar 26, 2014 12:15 pm

Very very nice! Thanks for putting the effort into this. It looks gorgeous - here's hoping the main EasyMint distro gets this kind of treatment.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Wed Mar 26, 2014 2:21 pm

Thank you guys for these nice comments, it's motivating. :D
Please don't hesitate to send me comments if things are not clear enough, not working properly or if you detect some interesting software to include in the install.

cyberish wrote:Wow... great!
Would it be possible do adapt your efforts also for plain TOS users to run it on CT60 f.e. ?
raphael

Well, I don't have a CT60 so it will be difficult for me to test the various solutions, especially for the VDI and network side. Nevertheless if you are interested in I can guide you with a manuel install of first Easymint and secondly of the desktop and app side from EasyAraMint.

I am thinking of doing a similar install for the Firebee that I have received recently ... TBC
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby [ProToS] » Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:08 pm

Very Nice :D
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby lschafroth » Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:50 pm

Faucon2001 wrote:Hi,
After boot you have to setup the atari side according to step 7 with "Network Setup" (aka : Enick) located in "Setup" folder - folder with gears icon- on the desktop.
At the end reboot of Aranym and you will be connected to the NET.

You are at 5 min to complete your setup :wink:

Thanks lschafroth for being the first official user :D

Cheers,


I did the download that was ready to go. I will do the step by step one you suggested. I had the MacAranym network working once with Aranym by editing the config file with the gateway and atari ip. I was hoping it would be that simple for this setup. I'm using the 0.9.15 from here: http://www.donzé.ch/atari/software/macaranym/

So are you saying I should leave the Aranym config file alone and let the step by step installation do it for me?

Thanks!

Lannie

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby lschafroth » Wed Mar 26, 2014 9:04 pm

I tried the setup and the german screens stopped me from choosing the correct options. I followed the readme but it was not exactly as the steps so the process fails. It goes to a mint command line and no farther.
I will use the other setup and see if I can get it working on the network somehow.

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby warp12 » Wed Mar 26, 2014 10:14 pm

Boy, this looks awesome! I am not smart with Aranym, though. I could never get my own setup working properly, with any stability.
Shane

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Wed Mar 26, 2014 10:23 pm

Lannie,
Sorry but I am lost.
Are we talking about EasyAraMint_b2 archive? Because there is no setup in German !
If you are talking about easymint for TOS or Emutos, that's a completely different install, it's only for those who want to put their hand in the mud and build the same install from scratch.
When I referred to the step by step, I am talking about the instructions given in the readme.pdf of EasyAraMint, not about the installation soft for easymint.

So I recommend that you give a try to EasyAraMint_b2.zip archive.
Read carefully the readme.pdf. Every steps are described and several people have achieved to install it successfully with these instructions.
Copy the content of this archive into your /Documents/Aranym_files directory (and nowhere else)
Copy the config from the OSX setup directory (the one coming with EasyAramint_b2.zip archive) into /Documents/Aranym_files directory.
Launch Aranym JIT.
From Aranym with "cmd+," Open the setup menu and change the network configuration according to the readme file instruction. It's the same information as requested in Ph DONZE Aranym port.
From Aranym, from the "setup" folder on the desktop, with "Network Configuration" change the network with the values you set just above.
Save, quit and relaunch. Internet should work.
Read the readme.pdf to complete your installation (keyboard, NFjpeg and other tips)
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Thu Mar 27, 2014 12:02 am

I retried the installation on my OSX 10.6.8 Mac, with the archive from the net and Ph DONZE MacAranym.
The installation went on flawlessly and the network got setup immediately, following the instructions. :wink:

Just one issue : no connection with Airport / Wifi so far. Only with Ethernet.

Be patient and don't jump any step of the guide, that's the key for a stable system together with :
Find the ip address of your routeur connected to the internet, and choose for your Atari a free ip,
out of DHCP range, that must have 2 free address above and 2 below.

Good Luck !
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby lschafroth » Thu Mar 27, 2014 2:03 am

Faucon2001 wrote:I retried the installation on my OSX 10.6.8 Mac, with the archive from the net and Ph DONZE MacAranym.
The installation went on flawlessly and the network got setup immediately, following the instructions. :wink:

Just one issue : no connection with Airport / Wifi so far. Only with Ethernet.


I misunderstood what you meant. I will go back and try again. I wonder if it will work by changing the eth0 to eth1 because thats what the wifi interface in OSX is. I dont have Ethernet on anything. Wifi only.

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Thu Mar 27, 2014 2:06 am

In fact it's en0 to en1 on OSX
May be you could have a look to Ph DONZE page, he's explaining how to set Wifi up. Something to see with MAC address.
I have never been so far.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby lschafroth » Thu Mar 27, 2014 2:21 am

Faucon2001 wrote:In fact it's en0 to en1 on OSX
May be you could have a look to Ph DONZE page, he's explaining how to set Wifi up. Something to see with MAC address.
I have never been so far.


I think you are right. There was something I had to do with the MAC address back when I was experimenting with it. I did get wifi to work.
I just noticed if I open your pdf in Adobe Acrobat on my mac there is one page, thats it. Thats all I saw the first time I tried it. I opened it with Mac Preview and now I see all the additional pages with the instructions. So much easier now. :)

The keyboard does not work well enough to type in the MAC address. The shift key does not change the ; to a :. The / key types a - instead. Is there another keyboard mapping I need for MacAranym?
Lannie

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby lschafroth » Thu Mar 27, 2014 3:13 am

SUCCESS on MacAranym and WIFI....

Since the keyboard within MacAranym settings does not type the correct keys, I manually edited the config file from OSX using text editor.

Here are my network settings in the config file:

[ETH0]
Type = bridge ip
Tunnel = en1
HostIP = 192.168.0.1
AtariIP = 192.168.0.5
Netmask = 255.255.255.0
MAC = XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX

I used the actual mac address of my wifi card on the MacBook Pro. I replaced my real MAC address with xx's for posting here.

I then edited the /etc/resolv.conf file with QED and used my gateway of 192.168.0.1. I then opened the Network Control Panel and made the network settings there match the config file then rebooted.

I have attached a picture of the settings while in the Atari desktop. You have to use ETH0 in the settings as that is the network device within the Atari system.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby lschafroth » Thu Mar 27, 2014 3:22 am

I am browsing the forums!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby lschafroth » Thu Mar 27, 2014 1:17 pm

How do you change the keyboard layout? I cant use the email app as the @ symbol does not work on my keyboard. There are a lot of keys that are not mapped correctly. Is this a Easymint thing or is this a Aranym thing?

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Thu Mar 27, 2014 1:46 pm

Hi glad that it's working, and thanks for the Wifi solution on MacOSX.

For your keyboard pb, it's dealt directly by EasyMint.
Please copy the relevant or closest keyboard (without a letter it means ST keyboard, with a P it means PC) from /mint/1-18-0/Keyboards to /mint/1-18-0/ and and rename into keyboard.tbl
Mac keyboard are slightly different than ST and PC ones.
You'll have to edit it manually using keyedit ( setup/ Keyedit) in order to remap all the defective keys.
I am using a Mexican Mac keyboard and with the custom keyboard.tbl it's working good.
If you make a specific keyboard.tbl for you, please send me a copy I will put it in the distribution.

Also, you can change the global language and keyboard with NVRAM setup, but you can't customize it.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby lschafroth » Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:17 pm

This keyboard layout is a USA-P file modified to work with a iMac and its external keyboard.
I will test it on a MacBook keyboard and see if it works.

UPDATE: This does work on a MacBook and on a iMac with an external keyboard.

I zipped it because the forum would not let me keep the tbl extension and upload it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

warp12
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:03 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby warp12 » Thu Mar 27, 2014 9:00 pm

I hate to ask such a dumb question, but...

So, what do I need to do to get this setup going? Install Aranym with basic settings, and then add this in?

I'm a little confused. I am a Technical Writer, and I do have a lot of computer experience...just not so much with Aranym. If someone could help me understand the process, I would be happy to write a guide for starting from scratch. Thanks.
Shane

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:34 am

Warp12, It's easy.

You need first to install Aranym (aranym.org), then download EasyAraMint, uncompress it, read carefully the install guide readme.pdf, copy the files in the indicated directory which is different from one system to the other, execute a few setup to have internet running et voila. Total 15 min to have the system running and it works on Linux, OSX and Windows. It gives you a system 68040@3,3 ghz (that the relative speed calculated with Chronos for a core i3), video 32 bits, 16 bits sound, Network access, Printing capable, with all the applications necessary.

I am interested in your feed back on the documentation , as I am not a Technical Writer it will be very valuable to improve it.
As this document as been written on Atari Works on EasyAraMint and the original text file is in the distro, you can modify it if you find some unclear part.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:36 am

lschafroth wrote:This keyboard layout is a USA-P file modified to work with a iMac and its external keyboard.
I will test it on a MacBook keyboard and see if it works.
UPDATE: This does work on a MacBook and on a iMac with an external keyboard.
I zipped it because the forum would not let me keep the tbl extension and upload it.

Thanks, I add it to the distribution.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home


Social Media

     

Return to “Other emulators & tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest