EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 647
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Sun Apr 24, 2016 2:23 pm

Rudis, you are right the console is defined into etc/ttytab, but I have modified the boot script in order to be able to switch automatically from Xaaes to MyAES and also deal with different versions of Mint. This script autogenerates etc/ttytab at boot.

If you want to deactivate this feature: modify etc/rc.d/rc
Comment out everything between #Set AES Path until Echo "AES path..." almost at the end of the rc script
Modify etc/ttytab as you want.
Reboot and you should be ok
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1310
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Marakatti » Sun Apr 24, 2016 7:06 pm

Awesome looking project! I'm already dreaming that one day Hatari could be integrated to this system to have ST and Falcon030 compatibility :ehum:

Must try this new USB version on my iMac next week. Keep up the great work!
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

Playmobil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Playmobil » Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:20 am

Thanks Philippe ! I will try that !

highway
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 1:17 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby highway » Mon Apr 25, 2016 2:10 pm

Hello

I'm doing additionnal tests according to our discussions :)
I'll post the solution here... when we'll find it !

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 647
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Mon Apr 25, 2016 4:51 pm

Marakatti wrote:Awesome looking project! I'm already dreaming that one day Hatari could be integrated to this system to have ST and Falcon030 compatibility :ehum:

Thanks Marakatti, that's the idea down the road and my setup is like that at home. I just want to be sure that everything is booting well on various PC before releasing a more complex setup.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 647
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:19 am

I have opened a new thread for BeeKey : viewtopic.php?f=8&t=29835
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

Lostboysix
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:39 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Lostboysix » Fri May 27, 2016 11:49 pm

Hi Philippe,

thank you very much for your awesome distribution and all your efforts!
Luckily I found EasyAraMint and was able to set up everything according to my needs.

Thanks to you it´s the first time I have NVDI running on Aranym and can use many of the apps I used to work with back in the days, together with new ones, which give everything a nice modern touch and feeling.

The only thing I still couldn´t figure out is connecting Aranym to my network.
I created a tap connection and called it "tap0"1.3
It has the fixed IP: 192.168.1.3
Standardgateway is: 192.168.1.1 (which is the IP of my router)
Subnetmask: 255.255.255.0

In the config-file are the following settings:

[ETH0]
Type = bridge
Tunnel = tap0
HostIP = 192.168.1.1
AtariIP = 192.168.1.4 (also tried it with 192.168.1.3)
Netmask = 255.255.255.0

But it doesn´t work. Netsurf can´t resolve any dns.
Do you have any hint for me?

I am also definitely checking out BeeKey btw. :=)
Please keep up the great work. You are making many users very happy!

Greetings from good old germany!

Lostboy

Lostboysix
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:39 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Lostboysix » Fri May 27, 2016 11:49 pm

Hi Philippe,

thank you very much for your awesome distribution and all your efforts!
Luckily I found EasyAraMint and was able to set up everything according to my needs.

Thanks to you it´s the first time I have NVDI running on Aranym and can use many of the apps I used to work with back in the days, together with new ones, which give everything a nice modern touch and feeling.

The only thing I still couldn´t figure out is connecting Aranym to my network.
I created a tap connection and called it "tap0"1.3
It has the fixed IP: 192.168.1.3
Standardgateway is: 192.168.1.1 (which is the IP of my router)
Subnetmask: 255.255.255.0

In the config-file are the following settings:

[ETH0]
Type = bridge
Tunnel = tap0
HostIP = 192.168.1.1
AtariIP = 192.168.1.4 (also tried it with 192.168.1.3)
Netmask = 255.255.255.0

But it doesn´t work. Netsurf can´t resolve any dns.
Do you have any hint for me?

I am also definitely checking out BeeKey btw. :=)
Please keep up the great work. You are making many users very happy!

Greetings from good old germany!

Lostboy

Playmobil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Playmobil » Sat May 28, 2016 12:37 am

Sorry again & again &again for my english

Wich OS you use ?

Under windows some tips are needs before... Needs to make a gataway first.

Lostboysix
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:39 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Lostboysix » Sat May 28, 2016 12:45 am

I am using windows 8.1

Thank you very much for your help!

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11991
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby wongck » Sat May 28, 2016 3:56 am

On the windows you need ICS - internet connection sharing.
Look at my website https://sites.google.com/site/probehous ... /using-ics
rather old and on the Atari part, instead of STING use MINTNet.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Lostboysix
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:39 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Lostboysix » Sat May 28, 2016 9:47 am

Does this also work, If you are using only wifi to connect to the modem? So only one network interface?

Thank you very much for the clarification.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11991
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby wongck » Sat May 28, 2016 9:58 am

Yes, you can share your single wireless as the ICS.
But there must be another network adapter in your wintel to use ICS.
This will be the Aranym software adapter.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Playmobil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Playmobil » Sat May 28, 2016 11:15 am

Protos had make a how-to for sharing connection here : viewtopic.php?p=227166#p227166

And more detailled but in french here : http://www.yaronet.com/topics/154795-fi ... nym#post-5

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby shoggoth » Sat Jun 11, 2016 5:32 pm

0.5 gig, that's a fairly big file. Perhaps it would make sense to distribute this as a torrent as well?
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

DavidS
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby DavidS » Fri Sep 16, 2016 1:48 am

Very nice work. Networking gave me a bit of a headache with Aranym though once that gets sorted (giving another try today) EasyAraMint will become my primary Operating Environment. I am giving the networking setup another try today, on a Raspberry Pi 3B running Raspbian (BeePi I could not get to do anything close to attempting to connect).

Thank you for your effort.

DavidS
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby DavidS » Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:53 pm

Ok I still can not get networking going :( .

Any help would be appriceated.

Playmobil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Playmobil » Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:36 pm

You need to edit the file "host in E:/etc" something like that...

Try contact Faucon2001, it's a cool guy, and give you the solution...

For me, under Windows7, networking works fine...

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 647
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 10:20 pm

Hi,

Humm, I will need more information ; are you on a X86, OSX, Win7, Linux, or a Raspberry Pi3, are you talking of EasyAraMint or BeePi?
Have you seen the instructions on my website?

Beekey, BeePi connects automatically to any network, and needs by default 2 contiguous free addresses : the Host IP 192.168.1.50 and Atari IP 192.168.1.51. Should these addresses be already in use on your network, open Aranym Emulation Setup with 'Alt+F12', select 'Networking', change 'Host and Atari IP', Apply, Save Config file and Cold reboot
Your PC/Raspberry MUST be connected to an Ethernet Cable, Wifi is not supported out of the box. Afterward you can setup the wifi, my Rapi 3 runs with wifi like a charm.
Follow the same logic for new addresses : 192.168.1.10 and 192.168.1.11 for example. These 2 addresses must be, available on your network, contiguous and not directly surrounded by others.

For EasyAraMint, internet bridge works only with DEBIAN distrib. If you use another distrib, please refer to Aranym wiki. If you strictly follow the instructions, it will work. To change the ip addresses, you'll need to modify aranym config file and the script of the bridge.
Have you changed in the bridge script the permissions with your user login?
In general,aranym works better with root privileges.

On a Raspberry Pi3, network under aranym is slow and internet not usable. Good enough for ftp, SMB, mails. You need a PC for that.

Cheers,
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

DavidS
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby DavidS » Sat Sep 17, 2016 1:18 am

Faucon2001 wrote:Hi,

Humm, I will need more information ; are you on a X86, OSX, Win7, Linux, or a Raspberry Pi3, are you talking of EasyAraMint or BeePi?
Have you seen the instructions on my website?

Beekey, BeePi connects automatically to any network, and needs by default 2 contiguous free addresses : the Host IP 192.168.1.50 and Atari IP 192.168.1.51. Should these addresses be already in use on your network, open Aranym Emulation Setup with 'Alt+F12', select 'Networking', change 'Host and Atari IP', Apply, Save Config file and Cold reboot
Your PC/Raspberry MUST be connected to an Ethernet Cable, Wifi is not supported out of the box. Afterward you can setup the wifi, my Rapi 3 runs with wifi like a charm.
Follow the same logic for new addresses : 192.168.1.10 and 192.168.1.11 for example. These 2 addresses must be, available on your network, contiguous and not directly surrounded by others.

For EasyAraMint, internet bridge works only with DEBIAN distrib. If you use another distrib, please refer to Aranym wiki. If you strictly follow the instructions, it will work. To change the ip addresses, you'll need to modify aranym config file and the script of the bridge.
Have you changed in the bridge script the permissions with your user login?
In general,aranym works better with root privileges.

On a Raspberry Pi3, network under aranym is slow and internet not usable. Good enough for ftp, SMB, mails. You need a PC for that.

Cheers,

Raspberry Pi 3B, running Rasbpian (Debian ARM for the Raspberry Pi), also tried with BeePi, on a RPi 2B and RPi 3B. I use only a cable connection, I do have 192.168.1.50 and 192.168.1.51 available on the local network.

Followed all provided instructions in both cases with complete failiar. To make sure my router is not the issue I set my RISC OS up to a static IP of 192.168.1.50 it worked with out problem, did same for testing 192.168.1.51. Still fails with both BeePi and EasyAraMint+Raspbian+Aranym.

DavidS
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby DavidS » Sat Sep 17, 2016 1:19 am

Faucon2001 wrote:Hi,

Humm, I will need more information ; are you on a X86, OSX, Win7, Linux, or a Raspberry Pi3, are you talking of EasyAraMint or BeePi?
Have you seen the instructions on my website?

Beekey, BeePi connects automatically to any network, and needs by default 2 contiguous free addresses : the Host IP 192.168.1.50 and Atari IP 192.168.1.51. Should these addresses be already in use on your network, open Aranym Emulation Setup with 'Alt+F12', select 'Networking', change 'Host and Atari IP', Apply, Save Config file and Cold reboot
Your PC/Raspberry MUST be connected to an Ethernet Cable, Wifi is not supported out of the box. Afterward you can setup the wifi, my Rapi 3 runs with wifi like a charm.
Follow the same logic for new addresses : 192.168.1.10 and 192.168.1.11 for example. These 2 addresses must be, available on your network, contiguous and not directly surrounded by others.

For EasyAraMint, internet bridge works only with DEBIAN distrib. If you use another distrib, please refer to Aranym wiki. If you strictly follow the instructions, it will work. To change the ip addresses, you'll need to modify aranym config file and the script of the bridge.
Have you changed in the bridge script the permissions with your user login?
In general,aranym works better with root privileges.

On a Raspberry Pi3, network under aranym is slow and internet not usable. Good enough for ftp, SMB, mails. You need a PC for that.

Cheers,

Raspberry Pi 3B, running Rasbpian (Debian ARM for the Raspberry Pi), also tried with BeePi, on a RPi 2B and RPi 3B. I use only a cable connection, I do have 192.168.1.50 and 192.168.1.51 available on the local network.

Followed all provided instructions in both cases with complete failiar. To make sure my router is not the issue I set my RISC OS up to a static IP of 192.168.1.50 it worked with out problem, did same for testing 192.168.1.51. Still fails with both BeePi and EasyAraMint+Raspbian+Aranym.

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 647
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Faucon2001 » Sat Sep 17, 2016 6:30 pm

DavidS wrote:Raspberry Pi 3B, running Rasbpian (Debian ARM for the Raspberry Pi), also tried with BeePi, on a RPi 2B and RPi 3B. I use only a cable connection, I do have 192.168.1.50 and 192.168.1.51 available on the local network.

Followed all provided instructions in both cases with complete failiar. To make sure my router is not the issue I set my RISC OS up to a static IP of 192.168.1.50 it worked with out problem, did same for testing 192.168.1.51. Still fails with both BeePi and EasyAraMint+Raspbian+Aranym.

Good. Network connection with Aranym can be tricky, but generally on DEBIAN works well with a simple tuntap bridge.
Aranym Wiki is fairly detailed on it : http://wiki.aranym.org/manual#networking
Beepi is build on MINIBAN ; the linux side negotiates IP with DHCP, in rc.local the bridge is setup to host_ip and atari_ip (defined in aranym "config" file) and owned by root, finally the script to start Aranym is launched.I have been using these scripts for the past 5 years on various DEBIAN distrib, and it has been working for many others too, so I am confident that we will find a solution.

Can you please check on your router that you have reserved part of your addresses for static IP and others for DHCP? On mine 192.168.1.0 to 192.168.1.64 is for static IP, above for DHCP. As a result : linux side IP could be anything above 192.168.1.65, host_ip is 192.168.1.50, atari_ip is 192.168.1.51

Can you please test the following ?
Boot on Beepi. Once on the desktop, Right Click, Shutdown, Cold boot. I have noticed, sometime, that the linux network setup could be timed out ; if a reboot solves your issue, you may need to delay the bridge setup script.
After second boot :
Linux side IP can be found in home/Documents/host_ip.
Right click on the desktop, Start Shell : check ifconfig and route
SSH the linux side with : ssh root@beepi (to do it from another machine use host_ip address instead of beepi)
Check ifconfig and route
ping various address to check
Mine is looking like that :
Image
If you can ping only from the linux side, the bridge may be the issue, if you can ping from the atari side, may be the DNS is the culprit ( I set it to google DNS). If you want to have a look at the scripts, there are stored in /home/.system (activate Show Hidden Files on TeraDesk).
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

Playmobil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby Playmobil » Sat Sep 17, 2016 10:31 pm

I always say Faucon2001 is a cool guys !

Youpi !

DavidS
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby DavidS » Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:47 pm

Can you please check on your router that you have reserved part of your addresses for static IP and others for DHCP? On mine 192.168.1.0 to 192.168.1.64 is for static IP, above for DHCP. As a result : linux side IP could be anything above 192.168.1.65, host_ip is 192.168.1.50, atari_ip is 192.168.1.51

Did, and yes the static range includes 192.168.1.51 and 192.168.1.50 (DHCP for 192.168.1.5 through 192.168.1.25, static for 192.168.1.26 through 192.168.1.127).

Can you please test the following ?
Boot on Beepi. Once on the desktop, Right Click, Shutdown, Cold boot. I have noticed, sometime, that the linux network setup could be timed out ; if a reboot solves your issue, you may need to delay the bridge setup script.
After second boot :
Linux side IP can be found in home/Documents/host_ip.
Right click on the desktop, Start Shell : check ifconfig and route
SSH the linux side with : ssh root@beepi (to do it from another machine use host_ip address instead of beepi)
Check ifconfig and route
ping various address to check
Mine is looking like that :

I will do later, need to write out to another SD Card. My Raspberry Pi 3B is my main computer, so can not just switch over to a different computer while testing.

Though not through SSH, I always dissable SSH, I use my computers at the local terminal, not remote.

sashapont
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 9:40 pm

Re: EasyAraMint : a modern OS for Aranym

Postby sashapont » Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:11 pm

I downloaded Easymint 1.18 Tos 4.04 install image for Aranym, tos is load^ but mint is not start& How I can fix that?


Social Media

     

Return to “Other emulators & tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest