BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby Gaiyan » Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:05 am

Faucon2001 wrote:Finally I have found the culprit :-)
Read this article : https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=66&t=111773&p=768259

Basically :
- delete /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
- edit /lib/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules and remove eth*|wlan*| from
# device name whitelist
KERNEL!= ...

With that, your eth or wlan port won't be renamed anymore and you can use default beekey setup for eth0 or wlan0


Sweet, thanks. Will try it out.

Faucon2001 wrote:Gaiyan, I forgot to answer your TT installation question ; yes it's possible but it won't be easy to do as EasyAraMint is specifically setup for Aranym.
The easiest way may be to install first easymint : http://atari.st-katharina-apotheke.de/h ... texte=news
Install nvdi and then copy manually and selectively the content of C and H (you can use a USB key to transfer files from BeePi disk images), but don't copy directly Auto, Gemsys and Mint directories to your TT as they are specific to Aranym. You may have also to edit mint and xaaes configuration files, based on the one in EasyAraMint. So quite a lot to do indeed.
I should receive my CT60e soon, so may be I will do a specific install for 030 machines.


Thanks much! I will do this when I can.
Image

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby Gaiyan » Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:07 am

My review of the BeePi. I would appreciate comments.
Image

BlankVector
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby BlankVector » Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:38 am

Gaiyan wrote:My review of the BeePi. I would appreciate comments.

Great review! I have advertised it on the EmuTOS Facebook page.

itaboy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 6:24 pm

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby itaboy » Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:21 am

Well done Galiyan. And Great work, Philippe!!

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby Faucon2001 » Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:17 am

Excellent review Gaiyan !!! Thanks, I really appreciate, it's motivating. To be honest, though I had a lot of fun doing it, due to the lack of feedback I was considering giving up on BeePi and only concentrate on BeeKey. But now that I see that there is inteqrest, I will continue.

Just a detail regarding Aranym setup, the default key is alt+F12, not shift+F2. I guess you've changed it.
Regarding additional features, there is also the integration with Hatari which allows to run hardware specific games, demos and apps directly by double clicking on the disk image under Aranym, increasing the compatibility to almost 100% of softwares and bringing also midi for musician lovers (Cubase is working great) : with this feature you also have a Mega STE @32 MHz in 1280x960 a few clicks away.
For the next steps, I plan to correct the recently detected bugs for networking, include the latest Hatari 2.0 build, give the choice to boot at start into Aranym or Hatari, push the integration between Aranym and Hatari, improve the printing solution to be able to connect directly an USB printer (for now it only works with network printer), may be propose to install a lighter version of Mint as requested by some users (a kind of vanilla Mint under Tos4.04 and videl emulation that will give a slower but much more compatible setup for Aranym, able to run Calamus and other hardware dependent softwares), and finally design an Atari style case for the Pi when I will receive my 3D printer to push the user experience to the top ;-)
I have everything already setup on paper, it's now more a matter of time to do it.
If you have other ideas, feel free to share.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby wongck » Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:34 am

Excellent stuff
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby Gaiyan » Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:40 am

Thanks everyone!

Faucon2001 wrote:Excellent review Gaiyan !!! Thanks, I really appreciate, it's motivating. To be honest, though I had a lot of fun doing it, due to the lack of feedback I was considering giving up on BeePi and only concentrate on BeeKey. But now that I see that there is inteqrest, I will continue.


Thanks! I'm sure there is interest. Thank you for sticking with it :)

Faucon2001 wrote:Just a detail regarding Aranym setup, the default key is alt+F12, not shift+F2. I guess you've changed it.


Oops, my bad. I've fixed it now.

Faucon2001 wrote:Regarding additional features, there is also the integration with Hatari which allows to run hardware specific games, demos and apps directly by double clicking on the disk image under Aranym, increasing the compatibility to almost 100% of softwares and bringing also midi for musician lovers (Cubase is working great) : with this feature you also have a Mega STE @32 MHz in 1280x960 a few clicks away.
For the next steps, I plan to correct the recently detected bugs for networking, include the latest Hatari 2.0 build, give the choice to boot at start into Aranym or Hatari, push the integration between Aranym and Hatari, improve the printing solution to be able to connect directly an USB printer (for now it only works with network printer), may be propose to install a lighter version of Mint as requested by some users (a kind of vanilla Mint under Tos4.04 and videl emulation that will give a slower but much more compatible setup for Aranym, able to run Calamus and other hardware dependent softwares), and finally design an Atari style case for the Pi when I will receive my 3D printer to push the user experience to the top ;-)
I have everything already setup on paper, it's now more a matter of time to do it.
If you have other ideas, feel free to share.


Sounds good!
Image

AlexSTE
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby AlexSTE » Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:24 pm

Quick question. I am having problems with zip files from web page listed.
On my mac I can't unzip any of them, seems to be always corrupted.
Any zip beekey, beepi....
I noticed some other files (img from this www) would download to certain level 30-40mb and then stall.
Is there any other source for these files like Sourceforge?
[b] I am looking for: Atari TT030. Panther2 board, Magnum TTram board[/b]
Currently have: Atari 1040 STF, Atari 1040 STE Ultrasatan, MonSTEr board, Scart with HD to HDMI converter, IDE to CF, IDE DVD in external enclosure. 5 IBM/Lenovo Thinkpads. HP Chromebook. Custom AMD race SIM rig. Custom AMD Hackintosh. Apple Powermac G5 2x2.7GHz watercooled PPC.

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby Faucon2001 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 8:19 pm

Humm, I had previously some issues with certain browsers, google chrome in particular, corrupting the download but it was working ok with Firefox. Now I have the same issue with Firefox. It seems that there is something wrong with my provider :-(
I can send you a file via drop box, meanwhile I fix this issue with my provider. Which one do you need?
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2294
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby christos » Tue Mar 28, 2017 9:22 pm

I guess i need to buy a pi. I dont know why but i seem to be more motivated real h/w and that seems close enough and cheap enough to be worth a try!
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1044
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Tue Mar 28, 2017 9:41 pm

BeePi seems mostly fast enough but is there a way to smooth out the cursor updating? It is very choppy when moving the mouse.

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby Faucon2001 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 11:30 pm

It seems that my provider doesn't know how to solve this issue !!!
I have tried to resume download after a stall with Firefox and it works, and now it works again with Chrome !!!
Sorry, I don't have a 100% reliable solution for now.
If you have issue with download, send me a message and I will give you a direct link.

@AlexSTE I have sent you a direct link via private message
@The NameOfTheGame : very choppy? If you move the mouse at high speed, the mouse cursor is a bit blurry, but I don't see the mouse choppy. it's not as smooth as with BeeKey, I guess the processor speed is the limit. Sorry, but I don't have a clue.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

AlexSTE
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby AlexSTE » Wed Mar 29, 2017 2:58 am

Faucon2001 wrote:It seems that my provider doesn't know how to solve this issue !!!
I have tried to resume download after a stall with Firefox and it works, and now it works again with Chrome !!!
Sorry, I don't have a 100% reliable solution for now.
If you have issue with download, send me a message and I will give you a direct link.

@AlexSTE I have sent you a direct link via private message
@The NameOfTheGame : very choppy? If you move the mouse at high speed, the mouse cursor is a bit blurry, but I don't see the mouse choppy. it's not as smooth as with BeeKey, I guess the processor speed is the limit. Sorry, but I don't have a clue.


Awesome thank you very much.
[b] I am looking for: Atari TT030. Panther2 board, Magnum TTram board[/b]
Currently have: Atari 1040 STF, Atari 1040 STE Ultrasatan, MonSTEr board, Scart with HD to HDMI converter, IDE to CF, IDE DVD in external enclosure. 5 IBM/Lenovo Thinkpads. HP Chromebook. Custom AMD race SIM rig. Custom AMD Hackintosh. Apple Powermac G5 2x2.7GHz watercooled PPC.

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1044
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:20 pm

Can BeePi use the new release of MyAES or is it tied to XaAES?

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 465
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby OL » Sun Jul 30, 2017 6:27 pm

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:Can BeePi use the new release of MyAES or is it tied to XaAES?


I think the best is to do yourself, this is quite simple:

copy myaes folder in C:\gemsys\
Modify mint.cnf to load myaes020.prg rather XaAES
Correct shell.cnf in myaes folder to load desktop of this configuration

It should start like this

Probably you will have to adjust a bit myaes.cnf too for the use.

Olivier

PS: I have forget to said I have wrote a small software to be able to choose at start AES you want to use name "selgem" you can download it from MyAES web page, I just updated it
OL

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby Faucon2001 » Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:32 pm

MyAes is already installed and setup in Beekey and Beepi
There is an app, that you can access with right click/ setup, to switch from xaaes to myaes
You'll just have to change myaes files with the new ones to do the update.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1044
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:38 pm

Great! Thanks for the answers!

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2294
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby christos » Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:14 am

Just to let you know I installed Beekey on my laptop and so far I am very happy with it. How you made it look and work so good is beyond me, but I really liked it.
My only problem was that there was no wifi support from the start, but that was easily fixed by using network manager. This is what I did:

Connect it to ethernet.
SSH to the hostOS as described in the manual.
Install network manager

Code: Select all

apt-get install network-manager


Start network-manager service

Code: Select all

systemctl start networkmanager.service


Use nmtui to configure the connection:

Code: Select all

nmtui


Select the wifi network you want to connect to and fill in the data as needed. Because toswin2 isn't quite up to the task to do proper cli UI's I suggest using an external system. It is doable through the atari though.
[Untitled].jpg


Rebooting will make it work.

Anyway, thanks again for all your work you really made my laptop much more fun!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby Faucon2001 » Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:02 pm

Thank you Christos, very nice tip. It's going to simplify a lot wifi setup.
If you haven't seen it, there is an update on page 4 of this thread which accelerate the boot time too.
It is also explained in this thread : viewtopic.php?f=8&t=31104

Enjoy!
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2806
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby AtariZoll » Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:47 pm

Installed on 8GB Pen drive.
BeeBox.jpg

It started well, Internet access too. Don't know why creating couple GB persistent area on Pen drive takes so long. Restart of PC was problematic too.
But overall great achievement. I need to test some Atari SW in it ...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby Faucon2001 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:27 pm

Welcome and thank you for testing Beekey.
USB2 pendrive are vers slow, explaining the long time to create the persistence but also to copy all the files which are modified, especially the disk images. Second boot should be faster.
USB3 pen drive are a better solution for a constant use.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2806
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby AtariZoll » Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:32 pm

Faucon2001 wrote:Welcome and thank you for testing Beekey.
USB2 pendrive are vers slow, explaining the long time to create the persistence but also to copy all the files which are modified, especially the disk images. Second boot should be faster.
USB3 pen drive are a better solution for a constant use.

I meant creating persistence (step 3) while writing files on Pen drive under Windows. It took some 20 minutes (3 GB) . After first boot it took only some 3-4 minutes.
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

avtandil
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:34 am
Location: St. Petersburg, RUSSIA
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby avtandil » Sun Aug 13, 2017 11:03 am

christos wrote:Just to let you know I installed Beekey on my laptop and so far I am very happy with it. How you made it look and work so good is beyond me, but I really liked it.


Did you mean that you installed BeeKee to the USB-stick and just plugged it to your laptop ?

Or you got success to install BeeKee as one of the laptop systems ?

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2294
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby christos » Sun Aug 13, 2017 11:47 am

Yeah. The first one... wrong choice of words
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2294
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby christos » Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:40 pm

I am having some issue running hatari. I can't find it. Double clicking on a disk image doesn't seem to launch it either. Any ideas?
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org


Social Media

     

Return to “Other emulators & tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest