Atari Legend FTP

Atari Legend talk.

Moderators: Klapauzius, Moderator Team

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Fri Jul 23, 2004 11:36 pm

Hi there, glad the serious problem is now sorted.
As you are aware, I am uploading anything I have which you don't,
what you are not aware is that I am using my web browser (firefox) to upload files which is not good enough.
Does anyone know how I can get WS_FTP Pro 8 to connect to this site??
I have not been successful in my limited attempts to do this.
I would prefer to use this for FTP as I quite like the way it remembers what I have attempted to do, as my NTL box crashes as usual and I have to reset my internet connection.

Cheers

User avatar
Silver Surfer
Forum Administrator
Forum Administrator
Posts: 1793
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 6:50 pm
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Contact:

Postby Silver Surfer » Sat Jul 24, 2004 10:37 am

I use wsftp without any problems.

File -> Connect...

File -> New Site...

Site Profile Name: Atarilegend.org FTP

Host Name or IP Address: ftp.atarilegend.org

Next >

User Id: ftp@atarilegend.org

Password: retrogamerukisgawd

Tick the Save Password box

Finish

Note, my wsftp is version 7 so it might be slightly different on v8.

I have never tried to upload files with firefox, didn't even know it was possible.
Last edited by Silver Surfer on Sat Jul 24, 2004 11:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Sat Jul 24, 2004 11:32 am

It works!
Cheers, I shall begin uploading now.
With regards to Firefox, to upload you have to copy / paste files which is tedious.

Cheers

Capitaine
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 12:06 am

Postby Capitaine » Sat Jul 24, 2004 12:56 pm

Brume wrote:- have uploaded correct versions of zipped games from ST Pirate Gold, too. Let me know if other disks are corrupted, too.
Thanks,
Brume.


Thank :wink: for the sake of th ST.
You're making a great work.

User avatar
bodkinz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: London

Postby bodkinz » Sat Jul 24, 2004 3:09 pm

Very nice collection of disks RetroGamerUK :D :lol: :)

nice one :D

bodkinz
someone post something, i'm bored :)

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Sat Jul 24, 2004 3:18 pm

Cheers Bodkins,
I must point out however, that all of the disks in my collection are what I have downloaded from many sites, for some years now, most of the uncommon ones are from Lee's FTP.
I don't actually possess any originals, alas, they all died from moisture exposure in the cellar when I moved house years ago, and there were'nt many Menu disks.
I don't mind uploading them to sites that share them out for free, I am simply putting back what I have taken out.
:) Glad to be of help.

User avatar
bodkinz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: London

Postby bodkinz » Sat Jul 24, 2004 5:43 pm

thanks for the uploads :)))

if anyone got any others that are missing then upload :) if you feel like it :)

i'll be uploading a few missing menus to atari legend ftp later.. not the one that was posted to the forum... Brume sould get all the menus up on atari legend soonish... so don't worry... they will appear :)

bodkinz
someone post something, i'm bored :)

User avatar
bodkinz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: London

Postby bodkinz » Sat Jul 24, 2004 7:09 pm

ok here go my uploads to atari legend.. not the one thats available to everyone else... but soon available :)

bodkinz
someone post something, i'm bored :)

User avatar
X3peri_MENTaL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 6:58 pm
Location: The Broom Cupboard
Contact:

Postby X3peri_MENTaL » Sat Jul 24, 2004 7:13 pm

Did I read somewhere that boxscans and mag adverts were to found / uploaded here?? Anyway, I've uploaded 6 nice ads (the Rotox one's a classic) to get the ball rolling.

Cheers,
X3peri_MENTaL

BTW (there is a partially complete upload of the rotox adv there also because my damn internet connection dropped after only 4 minutes online - fuming :evil: )

User avatar
Silver Surfer
Forum Administrator
Forum Administrator
Posts: 1793
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 6:50 pm
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Contact:

Postby Silver Surfer » Sat Jul 24, 2004 7:31 pm

X3peri_MENTaL wrote:Did I read somewhere that boxscans and mag adverts were to found / uploaded here?? Anyway, I've uploaded 6 nice ads (the Rotox one's a classic) to get the ball rolling.


Yups! This is the place! :D

Your scans look absolutely fantastic!! :D Many thanks, we'll definetly be using these on the Atari Legend website and I am sure Paul and TK will use em for GamebaseST as well. :D

We have been holding off putting the game image gallery online as we want more images to start it off with. I would be great if we could have something like 1000 images when we put it online. cb of AL has scanned several hundred great adverts (mostly french) which means that although we have covered a good deal of the road towards 1000 there is still a bit more to go. :)

More scans guys! :D

Silver

User avatar
bodkinz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: London

Postby bodkinz » Sat Jul 24, 2004 7:51 pm

ok thats my latest menu update added.... a few more bits and pieces to add .. disc mags.. budgie stuff.. mod compilations etc ... brume.. thats directed towards you :)


got a lot of single game rips too

just give me a bit of time :)

bodkinz :D
someone post something, i'm bored :)

User avatar
bodkinz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: London

Postby bodkinz » Sat Jul 24, 2004 7:58 pm

i can do over 100 box scans of various games if needed.. although the game boxes are all round my parents.. well most of them.. 20-30 or so are right here...

bodkinz :D
someone post something, i'm bored :)

User avatar
Silver Surfer
Forum Administrator
Forum Administrator
Posts: 1793
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 6:50 pm
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Contact:

Postby Silver Surfer » Sat Jul 24, 2004 11:08 pm

bodkinz wrote:i can do over 100 box scans of various games if needed.. although the game boxes are all round my parents.. well most of them.. 20-30 or so are right here...

bodkinz :D


Thanks for the offer bodkinz! We'd love more boxscans, please scan them. :)

User avatar
X3peri_MENTaL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 6:58 pm
Location: The Broom Cupboard
Contact:

Postby X3peri_MENTaL » Sun Jul 25, 2004 12:02 am

Okay, a quick query. When the downloads are available on the Atari Legend site will it simply be pulling stuff from the Legend FTP or will all site downloads be on a separate server?

The reason I ask is that I noticed that all boxscans etc on the site have been reduced in size etc to save space (and therefore money). I dislike resized images and so it would be nice if things were available in actual size on the FTP (Like I said to Maarten Graveyard dude recently the LGD is a good site except that all box scans are awful as they are heavily reduced in size and quality).

Oh, I've uploaded a few more ads.

X3peri_MENTaL

User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2023
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Postby ST Graveyard » Sun Jul 25, 2004 12:05 am

Well, so far all the boxscans are all on another server ...

We are planning on having the actual game downloads on this server however, cause we believe loads of people will download those things and it would be impossable to afford all that ...

About the boxscans ... What do you think Silver?

We try to make the scans as good in quality as possible, in about 100-150 kb tops ...
Atari Legend IS back!

User avatar
The Byte
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Germany

Postby The Byte » Sun Jul 25, 2004 5:36 pm

Hehe, i have upped another 3 rare Menu Disks....
Supremacy CD 22+23 and IMPACT Menu 58 ....

Bye by(t)e....

The Byte / TCE

User avatar
Brume
Red eyes
Red eyes
Posts: 4099
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 10:16 am
Location: France
Contact:

Postby Brume » Sun Jul 25, 2004 8:59 pm

Cheers The Byte for the Supremacy disks!
I love them :)
Thanks,
Brume.

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11210
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Postby Mug UK » Mon Jul 26, 2004 9:47 pm

Must be either the 5 user limit or me being dumb ( :oops: ) .. can't connect to upload these new transfers ..

Equally annoyed as dropped my mini 2.5" portable drive when I got in from work with some new downloads on etc. and now (surprise! surprise!) it don't work. And guess which idiot "moved" the files to this drive only an hour or so before when he was at work ... :oops:

Not my day today ..
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Tue Jul 27, 2004 3:32 pm

Hello Muguk, sorry to hear about your mini-drive accident, I do hope you manage to recover the files!
About connecting to the FTP, I used Windows XP's integral FTP client with one of the later addresses in this topic, and copy/paste files to upload, that was tedious but worked.
I now use WS_FTP Pro 8, set to the details on page 4 of this topic (Cheers Silver Surfer) and it works no problems.
The "user limit" problem was sorted earlier, according to a post by one of the
"gaffers" here.

BTW congrats on winning the bid for that ST and small disk collection :)
Hope everyone pays up :D


Cheers

Andy

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Tue Jul 27, 2004 3:52 pm

Ok, I think that's all of my menus and demos uploaded.
As soon as Lee's FTP is back up I will continue to synchronise our menu disks, unless he cuts me off :P
Also, I have quite a collection of ST utils and various games sorted by name, and some "TOSEC" games whatever this means.
Any of these any good to upload?

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11210
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Postby Mug UK » Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:47 pm

Yeah .. working now .. must have been me!!

Uploading some bits and pieces .. 71 disks so far imaged and another 10 done tonight.

Is it OK to create a "Utils (menu compilation)" folder ?
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Tue Jul 27, 2004 8:24 pm

Muguk:
Wow thats a load of new menus :P
Correct me if I am wrong but should'nt files be uploaded in .zip format in case of transfer error?

User avatar
The Byte
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Germany

Postby The Byte » Tue Jul 27, 2004 9:00 pm

muguk wrote:Yeah .. working now .. must have been me!!

Uploading some bits and pieces .. 71 disks so far imaged and another 10 done tonight.

Is it OK to create a "Utils (menu compilation)" folder ?


WOW, its a megafucking GOOOD Piece of Stuff.... THANX for this !!!

...The Byte

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11210
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Postby Mug UK » Tue Jul 27, 2004 9:23 pm

WHoops .. completely forgot to ZIP them up .. drat .. apologies all.

WIll re-do tomorrow night and add a load more too :)
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
The Byte
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Germany

Postby The Byte » Wed Jul 28, 2004 2:05 am

I have upped a full working Version of FUZION Compil 140. The Old File have damaged Intro and CD Check Program.
Bye...

...The Byte


Social Media

     

Return to “Atari Legend Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest