Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC, MiNT

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, Moderator Team

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC, MiNT

Postby Shredder11 » Mon May 17, 2010 3:25 pm

*** HOPEFULLY THIS TOPIC WILL BECOME A STICKY ONCE ENOUGH GOOD INFORMATION HAS BEEN OBTAINED ***

Seeing as there are a growing number of people with ethernet interfaces, who wish to have an internet connection and also network shares and file servers etc; why not have a dedicated sticky guide on what software is required and how to set it all up? What is needed is simple and concise explanations where possible, with screen grabs of the various option screens within programs and .inf files. There are bits and pieces of information dotted around the web, although not that much in total.

We have a fair head start with MiNT and a little STinG as wongck has done some excellent guides on his website http://phsw.110mb.com/sw-mintinst.html . For MagiC and STinG there is some info here http://hardware.atari.org/manuals/netsoft.htm although I could not get MagiC to work, well not yet anyway. I will be trying STinG and then MiNT next.

As for other general related software, I will leave that for others to decide upon what is best.

There is some good information contained within the Wiki here http://www.atari-forum.com/wiki/index.php/Sting_Setup

I assume that the reader has some basic understanding on TOS and its derivatives.

First, one needs an 68k Atari: ST, TT or Falcon. It should have at least two megs of ram, the more the better. I presuppose the use of a hard drive. Second, an Ethernec which is an ne2000 compliant networking card with realtek 8019 chipset and an adapter to the Atari romport. The only 68k Atari which can't easily be setup for internet use with this is the ST-Book.

Software needed is the tcp/ip stack Sting, a driver for the networking card (enec.stx, enec3.stx) which can be found in etherne.zip, and the editor Qed or another one that can write 'real' paper writing tabs. Further there should be depackers for Zip and Lzh archives at hand. It is suitable to install wdialog if not using multitasking. Last piece of software is the readily installed Xcontrol.

The Ethernec is placed into the Ataris romport. Then the Atari can be powered on. On the boot drive one makes the folders 'auto' and 'gemsys'. I'd advise to use an additional folder 'data' for the needed archives. Furthermore I suggest to put the applications into a folder 'apps'. The Sting archive has to be unpacked and the data from the unpacked 'auto' folder is moved to 'c:\auto\'. The folders 'sting' and 'cpx' are moved to 'c:\gemsys\'. Now one gets 'enec.stx' (for 68000 Ataris) from the Etherne packet or 'enec3.stx' (for 68030 Ataris) and puts it to 'c:\gemsys\sting\'. Now the files needed to use tcp/ip are at their places.

Next, one starts qed (or the respective editor one prefers) which is used to change some files: First one changes the path in 'c:\auto\sting.inf' to 'c:\gemsys\sting\'. Second one opens the file 'c:\gemsys\sting\route.tab' and writes the line '0.0.0.0[tab]0.0.0.0[tab]EtherNet[tab][ip-address of your router] into it. The tabs have to be tabs, not spaces, else one wonders why nothing is working afterwards. Other lines have to be commented out by setting a '#' as first character in the line. One can set comments after active lines masking them with a '#' as well. You can kill everything as well and just leave the line you inserted. Third in 'c:\gemsys\sting\default.cfg' the line NAMESERVER = [your nameservers' ip] is changed. Now the Xcontrol modul 'Sting Port Setup' is opened and the connection 'Ethernet' is chosen. There an ip address within the routers ip-range has to be specified. 'Subnet mask' is set to 255.255.255.0. The 'active' box has to be enabled. In 'general' choose ne2000 as hardware used. Now save. There will be created a file 'c:\sting.prt'.

After rebooting your system the connection via network should be available.
Last edited by Shredder11 on Sat May 22, 2010 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby AtariSince1989 » Mon May 17, 2010 9:05 pm

From here I want to send my thanks to wongck for his excellent guide. Thanks to his guide I've been able to install MiNT and get my EtherNEC finally connecting to Internet. Superb work! :thumbs:
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby wongck » Tue May 18, 2010 11:22 am

Thanks for the good words about the MINT guides. :D
I have added a DHCP guide for Mintnet, hopefully that will take out the guess work of configuring your network. :wink:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby wongck » Tue May 18, 2010 4:06 pm

Shredder11 wrote: For MagiC and STinG there is some info here http://hardware.atari.org/manuals/netsoft.htm


Well, I took a look at the MagiXnet guide. Seems quite detailed. :thumbs:

Scratch the idea of mine to write a guide for MagiXnet.
I was thinking of digging my copy of MagiC 6 and install on one of my spare CF drive.
Then there's no worry of MagiC killing my proper good drive :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby Shredder11 » Sun May 23, 2010 10:32 pm

Since I last posted about this I have not been able to surf the net as yet, despite the fact I can ping in either direction from Atari to PC and vice versa and all via a WiFi broadband cable router. When I ping the ST from the PC the yellow Hydra LED blinks and the PC reports no lost packets. There are no lost packets when I ping the PC from the ST either. I do not want to use the PC as a gateway to the internet, so I am trying to use my WiFi router as a gateway and the IP for that is 192.168.2.1, so the line I enter in the STinG ROUTE.TAB file is 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 EtherNet 192.168.2.1

I've installed CAB v2.7 and that runs fine offline but does not manage to download any live webpage content. Anyone here have any ideas as to what else I should be trying or checking for? I have even tried placing the Hydra outside of my WiFi router NAT zone to no avail. If I can ping 100% in either direction I must be reasonably close to viewing internet content on my STE!?

User avatar
rocket-dog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:13 pm
Location: Great Britain - The Kingdom of Mercia

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby rocket-dog » Sun May 23, 2010 11:08 pm

Um. Silly question time here. Do you know how much memory you are using do this? I note you STe's are 4Mb, I only have 3Mb. Though I am months away from trying this there is no point in starting if it is doomed to failure from the get go.

EDIT: Perhaps set up a RAM disk to take up a couple of Mb of memory?

Have you a method for a simple PC-ST file transfer via Ethernet?
Last edited by rocket-dog on Mon May 24, 2010 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby wongck » Mon May 24, 2010 11:59 am

Shredder11 wrote:Since I last posted about this I have not been able to surf the net as yet, despite the fact I can ping in either direction from Atari to PC and vice versa and all via a WiFi broadband cable router.
......
I do not want to use the PC as a gateway to the internet, so I am trying to use my WiFi router as a gateway and the IP for that is 192.168.2.1,


Ok, so my guide which was written back in 2003, I had only a cable modem and it was connected to my PC via the ethernet so i use it to be the gateway.
However, it should not be any different because as far as STING is concern, it does not matters who is the gateway, PC or WIFI router. So long as both hw & sw are configured correctly.

Can you do a ping to www.yahoo.com and see if there are any drop packets?
You post did not mention if you can go to the internet.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby wongck » Mon May 24, 2010 12:01 pm

rocket-dog wrote:Have you a method for a simple PC-ST file transfer via Ethernet?


Simplest is to get FTP server on the PC and run a FTP client on the Atari.
FTP server comes with WinXP (as part of IIS), so it's easy to configure.
Plenty of FTP client on Atari to choose from. :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
rocket-dog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:13 pm
Location: Great Britain - The Kingdom of Mercia

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby rocket-dog » Mon May 24, 2010 12:29 pm

wongck wrote:
rocket-dog wrote:Have you a method for a simple PC-ST file transfer via Ethernet?


Simplest is to get FTP server on the PC and run a FTP client on the Atari.
FTP server comes with WinXP (as part of IIS), so it's easy to configure.
Plenty of FTP client on Atari to choose from. :mrgreen:


That sounds so simple. I bet I will cock it up. :lol:

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby wongck » Mon May 24, 2010 1:36 pm

rocket-dog wrote:That sounds so simple. I bet I will cock it up. :lol:


Then there is only one possible solution - SneakerNet. :lol:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Hempsa
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 5:00 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby Hempsa » Mon May 24, 2010 3:51 pm

I'm also having problems. 4mb STe and hydra with STinG. Ping is working fine in both ways. I set up a ftp server to my pc, and atari connected fine. I was able to download files etc, but it doesn't seem to connect to the "outside world". Tested with AtarIrc, AtarIcq and CAB. I'm using my old zyxel dsl modem as router and all other devices (Wii, PS3, laptop, phone) works just fine. Any ideas?

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2304
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby christos » Mon May 24, 2010 3:54 pm

is it a direct connection or through a router? I mean, does your modem allow routing as well?
Last edited by christos on Mon May 24, 2010 4:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby wongck » Mon May 24, 2010 4:01 pm

If you read my other thread, you may find out how to do it.

Anyway, did any of you try to ping www.yahoo.com ??
If you claim that it does not go out to internet, basic test will be to ping a internet address. :roll:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Hempsa
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 5:00 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby Hempsa » Mon May 24, 2010 4:02 pm

It's a bit complex system, like this:

Internet - cable modem - PC (with 2 network cards) - old dsl modem - atari + other devices :)

Edit: No. it doesn't ping yahoo's ip.
Last edited by Hempsa on Mon May 24, 2010 4:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby wongck » Mon May 24, 2010 4:03 pm

CAB have no issue to go to internet because I just did it yesterday.
what version are you using?

As for ICQ & IRC, I do not know as I do not use them.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Hempsa
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 5:00 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby Hempsa » Mon May 24, 2010 4:06 pm

CAB version is 1.5

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2304
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby christos » Mon May 24, 2010 4:08 pm

Ok, so you have a direct connection to your pc. You need to enable internet connection sharing or network translation if you use linux. Also you need to have the address of your PC as gateway in the route.tab.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby wongck » Mon May 24, 2010 4:08 pm

Hempsa wrote:It's a bit complex system, like this:

Internet - cable modem - PC (with 2 network cards) - old dsl modem - atari + other devices :)

Edit: No. it doesn't ping yahoo's ip.


Most likely the default route is not correct because if you can ping your PC it means network routing to PC is correct.
If it cannot get out then you need to specify the gateway to the internet.

You are using WinXP?
Your diagram looks like ICS configure ? (sorry i do not know linux).
If it's ICS, then my webpage says how to do it.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby wongck » Mon May 24, 2010 4:10 pm

My webpage on ICS - internet connection sharing - is here http://phsw.110mb.com/nw-isc.html
Last edited by wongck on Mon May 24, 2010 4:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Hempsa
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 5:00 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby Hempsa » Mon May 24, 2010 4:11 pm

I have set my pc's ip as gateway to route.tab and I'm using Win7.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby wongck » Mon May 24, 2010 4:12 pm

Hempsa wrote:CAB version is 1.5


no i use a newer version. but this is no the problem. Like Christos says, it's your ICS or NAT needs to be configured on your PC.
Also it's the same diagram like the one I have on my website :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby wongck » Mon May 24, 2010 4:13 pm

Hempsa wrote:I have set my pc's ip as gateway to route.tab and I'm using Win7.


Win7.... ??
OK, try to disable all the firewall and see if it's works.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby wongck » Mon May 24, 2010 4:14 pm

I did not install win7 because some games don't work i read.
Good luck.
Last edited by wongck on Tue May 25, 2010 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Hempsa
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 5:00 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby Hempsa » Mon May 24, 2010 4:22 pm

Turning off windows firewall didn't do the trick either. Tried to connect ftp.funet.fi with aFTP, it just says "Can't resolv host". Seems it won't even try to connect, error comes up right away.
Last edited by Hempsa on Mon May 24, 2010 4:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Setting up Ethernet Internet & Network in STinG, MagiC,

Postby wongck » Mon May 24, 2010 4:24 pm

Hempsa wrote:Turning off windows firewall didn't do the trick either. Tried to connect ftp.funet.fi with aFTP, it just says "Can't resolv host". Seems it won't even try to connect, error comes right away.

Goto http://phsw.110mb.com/nw-isc.html
and look at the part called DNS setup.
Good luck.

Just now url was a typo. this is now OK.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Guides”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest