Megafile Assembly - Images

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
techie_alison
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1547
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Megafile Assembly - Images

Postby techie_alison » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:59 pm

These are of where various bits go :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
techie_alison
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1547
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Postby techie_alison » Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:01 pm

Next five in the series...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
techie_alison
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1547
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Postby techie_alison » Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:02 pm

And just one more, the PSU.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2190
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Postby Zorro 2 » Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:20 am

Thanks miss techie_alison to post all interesting pictures. If you have another pictures, don't miss to create a sticky :D
Last edited by Zorro 2 on Thu Jun 14, 2007 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Member of NoExtra Team

User avatar
Brume
Red eyes
Red eyes
Posts: 4099
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 10:16 am
Location: France
Contact:

Postby Brume » Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:48 am

Zorro 2 wrote:Thanks mister techie_alison to post all interesting pictures. If you have another pictures, don't miss to create a sticky :D


She's a girl, so she isn't mister ;)

User avatar
techie_alison
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1547
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Postby techie_alison » Thu Jun 14, 2007 12:15 pm

Yayyyy, thank you Brume :)

Just to add to this from the other thread;

There are three connectors on the main board, J5, J8, and J9. J8 and J9 are NOT interchangable even though the connectors are identical. If you accidently swap over J8 and J9 then you will damage the PCB and/or the PSU. I'm not sure why Atari did this.

J5 - PSU
1 - 5V - Red
2 - 5V - Red
3 - GND - Black
4 - GND - Black
5 - GND - Black
6 - 12V - Blue

J8 - HDD Power
1 - 5V - Red
2 - GND - Black
3 - GND - Black
4 - 12V - Blue

J9 - FAN Power
1 - NC
2 - 12V - Red (it is red!)
3 - GND - Black
4 - NC

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2190
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Postby Zorro 2 » Thu Jun 14, 2007 3:51 pm

So sorry 8O

Thanks to have changed your proper avatar Aly (I see better !) and Brume would have had to modify my last post (j'espere que tu te ne moques pas de moi coco !)

I'm really sorry !
Member of NoExtra Team

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11208
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Postby Mug UK » Thu Jun 14, 2007 6:21 pm

Nice pics .. never took the lid off my old MegaST drive :)
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
tobe
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:06 am
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Postby tobe » Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:04 pm

Nice pictures :)

Unfortunately my megafile30 is dead. I think I need to replace the HD but I don't really care because now I have a megafile44 and I'm waiting for a SatanDisk :)

I really such kind of informations, I've bought a soldering unit and I'm planning some experiments :)
step 1: introduce bug, step 2: fix bug, step 3: goto step 1.

User avatar
sniperstorm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 11:58 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Postby sniperstorm » Fri Jun 15, 2007 3:30 am

where did you get pics of such a clean megafile?
SysOp: The St Guild BBS

telnet://stguild-bbs.dyndns.org

User avatar
teh3pwner
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:31 pm
Location: Slovenia, Ptuj
Contact:

Postby teh3pwner » Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:15 pm

why are the bateries needed in a megafile 30 :?: :?: :?: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Image
Image

Chandler
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1151
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:15 am

Postby Chandler » Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:43 pm

sniperstorm wrote:where did you get pics of such a clean megafile?


no doubt she cleaned it in the bath with toothpaste and a tooth brush!! :lol:

oh and we're still waiting for pics of this Aly! :wink:

User avatar
PaulB
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2168
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:56 pm
Location: You Kay

Postby PaulB » Fri Jun 15, 2007 3:09 pm

teh3pwner wrote:why are the bateries needed in a megafile 30 :?: :?: :?: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:


I don't think the battery compartment is wired up to anything. It's essentially a Mega ST case without the various holes in it for ports/plugs/floppy etc. Since it's from the same mould as the Mega ST I guess they never bothered to remove the battery compartment when they were moulded. Or.. maybe it was designed to have a battery backed up clock same as ICD cased hard drives but they never implemented it. Who knows!

User avatar
teh3pwner
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:31 pm
Location: Slovenia, Ptuj
Contact:

Postby teh3pwner » Fri Jun 15, 2007 4:54 pm

maybe it is just to store some bateries :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Image
Image

Chandler
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1151
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:15 am

Postby Chandler » Fri Jun 15, 2007 6:52 pm

nope - it's coz Atari used the same lid from the Mega series of computers which did use batteries for something......

User avatar
teh3pwner
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:31 pm
Location: Slovenia, Ptuj
Contact:

Postby teh3pwner » Fri Jun 15, 2007 8:02 pm

Chandler wrote:nope - it's coz Atari used the same lid from the Mega series of computers which did use batteries for something......


no i meant that if you have the magafile you can use it for baterie storage :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Image
Image

User avatar
Lando_C
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 12:31 am
Location: Sweden

Adding second MFM/RLL drive unit to megafile controller

Postby Lando_C » Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:29 pm

Is it possible to add a oldtime PC style "double" mfm wide cable plus a second narrow MFM cable soldered to the second drive connector on the board to use two units on one controller?
UK 1040 STF, SE kbd, SE tos 1.04, gotekHxC+floppy B internally, external powerbrick, molex connector on the back (hard disk style)
SE Mega 2
SE Mega ST 4
Megafile 20 with 2 MFM drive mechanisms (80+20 meg) in open case w AT psu
Megafile 30
Meagfile 60
SM125, finlux 19 inch TV RGBscart
PC Intel i5 8G ram many disks
5xRaspberry pi

User avatar
Joel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:42 am
Location: Essex, UK

Postby Joel » Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:46 pm

Are there any custom chips on these suckers?

Just out of curiosity.

-Joel
520 STFM (Upgraded to 1mb)
520 STFM (Stock)
520 STFM (Stock)
1040 STE (Stock)
Falcon 030.. I wish!

User avatar
Lando_C
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 12:31 am
Location: Sweden

second drive unit from mfmf controller

Postby Lando_C » Wed Jan 16, 2008 1:46 pm

The answer is :YES.

but then my 80 megger overheated, shrieked and died, and wouldnt spin up again.. but i wiggled it loose with a pair of pliers on the axle end at the bottom.. and lo and behold, it is now reformatting and mapping away a LOT of bad sectors (presumably all that got in the way of the head spiral crash :_P)

Guess I'll not put anything important on that drive :P (it sounds like a jetplane..)
UK 1040 STF, SE kbd, SE tos 1.04, gotekHxC+floppy B internally, external powerbrick, molex connector on the back (hard disk style)
SE Mega 2
SE Mega ST 4
Megafile 20 with 2 MFM drive mechanisms (80+20 meg) in open case w AT psu
Megafile 30
Meagfile 60
SM125, finlux 19 inch TV RGBscart
PC Intel i5 8G ram many disks
5xRaspberry pi


Social Media

     

Return to “Guides”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest