HiSoft source code problem...

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

HiSoft source code problem...

Postby nagual » Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:46 pm

Is there anyone with good knowledge of HiSoft Basic ?
Recently I found a really interesting source code which transform old 2D flat GUI interface (RSC) to modern 3D...

I try compiling, and I did it, but, obviously not quit good because application return an error, no matter how small or big is RSC that there's no enough memory to open RSC file.

Please note I don't have original Atari hardware, I was trying on Gemulator and STEmulator in single TOS mode,

Unfortunately, my knowledge of HiSoft Basic is worst then average, so, I'll be really grateful if someone can look a code and try to compile it to working version.

Source code is from GitHub from author Michael Wensley, in archive is all lib's needed for compiling...

Also, does anyone have HiSoft Basic Pro version 3 and advanced library ENCHANT (full version) ?
Or valid mail address from Matthew Bacon (maker of ENCHANT)...

Thanks in advanced!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2234
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: HiSoft source code problem...

Postby charles » Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:08 pm

matthew bacon ,
oh man I badily desire to contact him too !!!!
he did ami
a algo music program from way back ,,,
ill take a look at this source code however don't get hopes up...
I may not have skills to solve your trouble but I do have a desire to learn ,,,,
sounds to me like :
your compiler memory hasn't reserved enough memory for the allotted rsc
or
your st doesn't have enough ram......

just for starters , what memory does your ST setup installed 512,1,2mb ,4 or 14?
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

Re: HiSoft source code problem...

Postby nagual » Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:20 pm

As I said, I don't have real Atari hardware, but, on emulators is following:
Gemulator 14MB ST RAM
STEmulator 14MB ST RAM, 32 MB TT RAM

Maybe is too much memory ?

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2234
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: HiSoft source code problem...

Postby charles » Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:10 am

ive reached my verdict
problem is I don't have a real st which use the mint kernel...
and
I don't know if emulators address this trouble(steem is enough for my programming , as a stock ste with 4mb )
im not sure what a mint does for the ST I believe falcons milans tt030 novas had this but not ST's

matthew bacon wrote a.c.t. algo composition tool

I wrote him years ago about act
google a.c.t matthew bacon midi maybe something will appear?????

but at this moment a regular st without mint cant make proper use of 3d rsc anyhow so the source codes will not compile correctily....
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2234
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: HiSoft source code problem...

Postby charles » Wed Dec 20, 2017 12:29 am

any further progress
or
have I diagnosed it right on the head ...?
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

Re: HiSoft source code problem...

Postby nagual » Wed Dec 20, 2017 12:56 am

Unfortunately no, need time to figured how actually HiSoft Basic works...
I understand a logic behind the code, so lookin' forward...

But, do you think that this 3D RSC code work only with MiNT?

In this case I have a problem, because:

1. I don't have MiNT installed
2. I don't like MiNT at all and don't have plan to install it...

In the meantime I think I found a author of this code, so now I'm waiting for his answer:-)


Cheers! :cheers:

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2234
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: HiSoft source code problem...

Postby charles » Wed Dec 20, 2017 1:04 am

good good ,I really hope he answers cause I want to contact about a.c.t. !!!
back to the code tho
as far as I know it uses the mint library matthew must have written
and this means it calls mint thru the operating system..
my first ponder was to see if I could initate the code as is ...and since I too don't like mint , or have it installed means it wont run properily on my machine either...however now for a second frollie if I can make some procedures and code function without mint we just might have a "artificial mint application" at hand....
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2234
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: HiSoft source code problem...

Postby charles » Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:13 pm

nagual so you have part of the enchant toolkit?

is it this one?
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/mirro ... nchant.htm
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

Re: HiSoft source code problem...

Postby nagual » Sun Dec 24, 2017 9:31 pm

I have only a dmo:-(
But, yes, this is library I need/want:-)

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2234
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: HiSoft source code problem...

Postby charles » Sun Dec 24, 2017 9:37 pm

will you upload for me?
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

Re: HiSoft source code problem...

Postby nagual » Sun Dec 24, 2017 10:52 pm

Sure, but I'm not at home right now, so, tomorrow I can send you:-)


Social Media

     

Return to “Other BASIC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests