STOS Maps and Scrolling

STOS-related stuff in here please

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

STOSMaker
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 8:44 am

STOS Maps and Scrolling

Postby STOSMaker » Sun Jul 24, 2005 8:56 am

Hello. I am currently using STOS to build some levels using its MAP editor.
When displayed on the screen i can only get the level to flip between rooms rather than scroll smoothly through each one. I have some code given to me to display the rooms 1 by 1. Is there anything i can add in order to scroll the screen?

Thanks in advance.

Here is the code i use to display the screens:

50000 restore 50005 : read nl,nroom : if room>nroom or room<=0 then boom : return

50001 restore 50010+(room-1)*nl : read gridw,gridh : cls physic : cls back : for I=0 to 319/gridw : for j=0 to 199/gridh:read s : if s>0 then sprite 1,i*gridw+1,j*gridh,s:update : put sprite 1

50002 next j : next i : wait vbl : sprite 1,100,-100,1 : return


P.S The data for the rooms is continuous.

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Postby exxos » Sun Jul 24, 2005 10:36 am

I Don't think the MAP command does actually do scrolling. The map data is held in the data statments and the map command just simply puts the sprites on the screen and the possisions of the map data.

You would be better off getting the missing link extensions and using the world commands. I've done large scrolling maps with that and you can do a lot more with it than the map commands.

BTW you may want to join the STOS list..

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/mega_stos/
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

STOSMaker
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 8:44 am

Postby STOSMaker » Sun Jul 24, 2005 11:36 am

Thanks for that! i'd forgotten all about the Missing Link extension..

Next ...

Do you know where to get the Missing Link, i was going to d/l from Atari-shrine but cant remember ma logon :?

Also, if anyone could get the version with EDDY included that would be nice :wink:

Thanks guys an gals

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Postby exxos » Sun Jul 24, 2005 5:41 pm

Join the STOS list, there is a Beta testing going on which has everything STOS related which could be found on there.

I am one of those Beta testers and the files are on there. The site should up up in a day or 2.

BTW, Atari shrine closed some time ago.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

STOSMaker
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 8:44 am

Postby STOSMaker » Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:38 am

thanks, ill join as soon as i can.

Wow, atari shrine closed down? missed that one! 8O

thanks again, although no doubt ill prob need hlp in the future :wink:


Social Media

     

Return to “STOS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests