Does STOS support all 4096 colors of STE?

STOS-related stuff in here please

Moderators: exxos, simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

darkhog
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:05 pm

Does STOS support all 4096 colors of STE?

Postby darkhog » Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:17 am

I'm trying to figure out whether it's STOS not supporting those or Sprite not being updated to support it. Could use larger color selection even if I can display only 16 at a time (main gripe is that white is not actually white in 512 spectrum while it may be the case in 4096 one).

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Does STOS support all 4096 colors of STE?

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:03 pm

STOS as a rule doesnt support STE colours, however you CAN poke values into the colour registers as with any BASIC.
I've used this technique to do a lot of palette work..

There are 2 versions of the spectrum 512 extension, the one to use is down to personal preference, you need to use a program called Photochrome v4 to develop/change SPU 4096 pictures that DO display on STE's and STFM with either 512 or 4096.

I cannot for the life of me find my code that shows this but if i do, i will post the two differing spectrum colour pictures here (One STE the other FM)

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Does STOS support all 4096 colors of STE?

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:25 pm

Ok, that didn't take long.. fluked it by opening the "wrong" folder :P

I've included the source, the material required and TWO spectrum pictures, the first is a 512 and the second is a 4096.
There are also 2 BPM files showing the differences too...
If some kind soul could put these two BMP files online i can link them here.

This uses a couple of extensions mainly to wipe the screen, also uses STOS SHOW v2

SPU_CODE.rar
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Mikefulton
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 10:27 am

Re: Does STOS support all 4096 colors of STE?

Postby Mikefulton » Tue Mar 08, 2016 3:34 am

Color #3147 is unsupported, but it's almost the same exact thing as #2977 so just use that instead.

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Does STOS support all 4096 colors of STE?

Postby shoggoth » Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:35 am

Mikefulton wrote:Color #3147 is unsupported, but it's almost the same exact thing as #2977 so just use that instead.


:lol:
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 655
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Does STOS support all 4096 colors of STE?

Postby Anima » Tue Mar 08, 2016 11:27 am

EstTeeEfEm wrote:i've included the source, the material required and TWO spectrum pictures, the first is a 512 and the second is a 4096.

What program did you use for the conversion?

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Does STOS support all 4096 colors of STE?

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:53 am

I used XNView to convert it to TARGA on the PC then Photochrome v4 on the ST to convert it to SPU (Spectrum 512).
Photochrome allows you to build both 512 and 4096 versions

User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 655
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Does STOS support all 4096 colors of STE?

Postby Anima » Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:37 am

EstTeeEfEm wrote:I used XNView to convert it to TARGA on the PC then Photochrome v4 on the ST to convert it to SPU (Spectrum 512).
Photochrome allows you to build both 512 and 4096 versions

Ok, thanks for the info.


Social Media

     

Return to “STOS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest