STOS sprite editor, precision issues

STOS-related stuff in here please

Moderators: exxos, simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

darkhog
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:05 pm

STOS sprite editor, precision issues

Postby darkhog » Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:22 am

My hand is not shaking, always in shooters can get a headshot from decent range, but there's something about the STOS editor that I always miss what pixel I try to put in. Don't know if it's just cursor that makes it imprecise (would appreciate crosshair cursor for everything) or just that it's hard to translate PC mouse to Atari one while keeping decent precision.

Is there any alternative editor which has same capabilities as SPRITE, but is easier to draw in (like e.g. ability to use keyboard to input pixels via arrows+space and another key for second color)? Or version of SPRITE improved for those features.

Great work on the compiler you guys, but IMO tools need some love too.

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: STOS sprite editor, precision issues

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Wed Jan 13, 2016 9:07 am

Yeah its not you lol, ideally the sprite designer needs compiling...
It pisses me off no end too ;)

Someone (i.e exxos yeah i dropped you in ;) ) needs to rewrite the mouse routines in the damned sprite editor.
You can of course use any art package, align the pictures using your fav art package and cut and paste using your own routines, by putting sprites into the sprite banks manually.
I do have designs on a new sprite editor but its waaay off... sorry :( .. if you're using an emulator, try slowing down the mouse precision, this can be done in steem at least, not ideal but a workaround

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STOS sprite editor, precision issues

Postby exxos » Wed Jan 13, 2016 9:32 am

Are you using a emulator for doing this work or a real ST ? The emulated mouse is way to fast for doing that work, though on a emulator you can double up the screen size which helps no end.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

darkhog
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:05 pm

Re: STOS sprite editor, precision issues

Postby darkhog » Wed Jan 13, 2016 11:17 am

Emulator (Steem). As I've said in the other thread, I can't afford actual ST and even if I could I don't have place for it to stay. @EstTeeEfEm, how do I slow mouse precision in Steem?

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STOS sprite editor, precision issues

Postby exxos » Wed Jan 13, 2016 11:27 am

darkhog wrote:Emulator (Steem). As I've said in the other thread, I can't afford actual ST and even if I could I don't have place for it to stay. @EstTeeEfEm, how do I slow mouse precision in Steem?


I'd like to know that aswell :lol:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: STOS sprite editor, precision issues

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Fri Jan 15, 2016 5:55 am

how do I slow mouse precision in Steem?


In the "joystick" tab at the top ( looks like a joystick ;) )
There is a slider right at the bottom of the page..

I set it to the left as far as I can and then adjust it by running steem and moving it slightly..
Also, turn ON "VSYNC to PC Display" in the fullscreen options menu under "options"

Its not great but it works a bit better.
Has anyone tried a compiled version of the sprite editor? I haven't but if no-one has I'll try it tomorrow. Its still really difficult to get to work properly, unfort this is one of those times where the ST really does kill the emulator ...

Hmm, just had a thought as I was typing... what if we could add "joystick" control to the sprite editor that only shifted in 1 pixel bits with a delay....
I use the same technique in Frogger to stop people killing themselves..

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STOS sprite editor, precision issues

Postby exxos » Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:17 am

I compiled the compiler once if that helps :lol:
SPRITE.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator


Social Media

     

Return to “STOS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests