Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

STOS-related stuff in here please

Moderators: exxos, simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Mon Jun 01, 2015 8:59 pm

Ok, finally got something off of the ground ...

MANY MANY thanks to exxos for his patience ;)

All sprites move and bg scrolls, player controlled with joystick. No palette splitting, that can wait hence the funny Status bar..

runs at a fairly decent speed but until i get on my REAL ST then i wont really be able to judge how it all truly goes speed wise. coding of the menu screen is going well, with STE and STF trackers, although the STF one is a bit suspect. If I can get the parallax in im onto a winner ;)

Just gotta work out how to do images in the posts :P

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:28 pm


User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby exxos » Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:31 pm

Moving stuff cool :mrgreen:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:32 pm

See now why the parallax needs to be there ;)

otherwise its no better than the original imho

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 875
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby Zogging Hell » Tue Jun 02, 2015 12:59 pm

Well it will be amusing if you can make a version similar to the original in STOS, will probably make the original coder a bit red in the face.. Brian Watson wasn't it? :)
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:47 pm

Brian Watson wasn't it?


It was yes, but I suspect there were time constraints and other factors to do with commercial development and considering the game was probably started '87 '88 its fair to assume not all the ST tech and developement routines that we have now were available.

Rather than tread on toes, i would consider, if it can be done (this is a BIG if ;) ) that this game be considered a tribute/deluxe version rather than one that trashes the original.

Its just done differently thats all... after compilation I can see my code being far stranger and less optimised than Brians as well...

Swings and roundabouts cos this is probably gonna run onto 2 DD disks with 1 Meg and I know they (DMA) probably had constraints of a lot of people using Single Sided 512k machines...

Its a thought anyhow!

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby exxos » Thu Jun 04, 2015 7:03 pm

I've not got huge amounts of free time, but I can offer some assistance in optimizing stuff if needed :) It's probably been 20 years since I used STOS properly. But will get back into it one day, probably when I retire :lol:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Thu Jun 04, 2015 7:12 pm

That would be awesome ... maybe when its a little closer to being finished, probably when I retire ;)

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby exxos » Thu Jun 04, 2015 7:19 pm

EstTeeEfEm wrote:That would be awesome ... maybe when its a little closer to being finished, probably when I retire ;)


Yeah know that feeling :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Thu Jun 04, 2015 7:23 pm

Im almost certain this game can be done in STOS btw ... just a few routines to play with then serious coding...

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Sat Jun 06, 2015 6:42 pm

Well, managed to input hundreds of DATA statements and the result is this..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwhaxslFeY4

Also managed to get the palette split working so the status bar is the correct colour. Shame about the jerkiness on the video, and it is the video's fault :P

Didnt hit 1VBL, had to settle for 2 :( not too bad but better than jerking everywhere which is what happened under 1vbl

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby exxos » Sat Jun 06, 2015 7:30 pm

Looking really nice [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_12.gif]
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:35 pm

Hey all... Im having some issues reading the joystick with the Ninja Replayer Extension...

I can read keys quite easily using PEEK $fffc02...

How do you read the joystick buttons directly? I dont mind a

Code: Select all

 PEEK %00001000
kind of statement Its just I dont know where to peek :P

Thanks in advance....

P.S the intro is done and the STE replayer routine sounds aweosme.... if I can get the menu system acting correctly with all the input devices I'm on a winner and might be able to show people a complete and working intro/menu minus the game

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby exxos » Thu Jun 25, 2015 2:34 pm

Its not really a good idea to peek address directly like that as different TOS versions use different addresses. Its why a lot of STOS programs had to be patched.

IIRC there is a list of trap functions in the rear of the STOS manual. Those functions will look up the address via the OS and return values. Though I'm not sure if they mix well with sound related extensions.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Thu Jun 25, 2015 7:45 pm

Can't believe I'd forgotten about that!!

Thanks for the heads-up... Thats how often I refer to the manual lol...?

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby exxos » Sun Jun 28, 2015 9:53 am

Ninja has a track key function anyway ?

Integer=track key
gets the value of the acia at $FFFC02, ie reads the keyboad for the less techy readers.

surprise ,surprise the keyboard can't be read as usual whilst a modis
playing ,get the value of the keyboard by peeking $FFFC02 or by
using MISTY'S hardkey command instead.


4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Menace, an update in STOS ?!?!?!

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Mon Jun 29, 2015 10:51 am

Ok, wierd how this works but the P JOY ON Routines from the missing link work a treat!

Seems like the old J=Joy routines from STOS are just not going to work properly once you start using trackers but the Missing Link's joystick routines work fine without a hitch. Don't know why and there is probably some technical reason but hey, life's too short 8)

Aside from some dumb stupidity things like misaligned sprites and a lack of space, the intro/menu system is almost finished, one day this project might be finished but seeing as I dont actually own an STE, most of the menu system has to be coded on STEEM and rehashed to allow me to code on my ST without the STE extra bits...

Anyway, all is well and coding should begin on large sections of the game fairly soon... all the pieces are there and i just need to marry it all up


Social Media

     

Return to “STOS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest