Small refresh rate problem with Saint 1.85

A forum about SainT by James Boulton and Arnaud Carré - the current version is v2.4.0.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Small refresh rate problem with Saint 1.85

Postby unseenmenace » Wed Dec 01, 2004 9:45 pm

For some reason I have to select 85Hz in order to get 100Hz. The refresh rates are listed in SainT as follows:-
100
120
56
60
70
72
75
85
90

It seems however that the 100Hz and 120Hz options should be at the bottom as I get the following:-
56
60
70
72
75
85
90
100
120
I have not tried all of them but this seems to be the pattern
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

punkrulesok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:34 pm

Postby punkrulesok » Thu Dec 02, 2004 3:06 pm

I also have this issue.

User avatar
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Postby leonard » Sun Dec 26, 2004 1:46 pm

Oh thanks for that bug report ! Never seen it (don't have freq greater than 100 here). Should be a stupid ascci sort order :-)

Should be fixed on the next version.
Leonard/OXYGENE.

punkrulesok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:34 pm

Postby punkrulesok » Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:53 pm

i hope you can sort the issue leonard :)

it turns out that i cant select 100Hz, only 120hz, giving me a "true" 60hz, not a "true" 50hz screen.

going back to previous versions of Saint, I find it has the same problem.

punkrulesok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:34 pm

Postby punkrulesok » Mon Jan 24, 2005 8:37 pm

Leonard - I hope you can release a quick update to this issue soon :)
I cant select 100hz, only 120hz, and as such, I only get a "true" 60hz smooth screen.

For the record, I have a Dell P1110 monitor.

Heres hoping :)

User avatar
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Postby leonard » Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:21 pm

Leonard - I hope you can release a quick update to this issue soon


Just try SainT v1.99 and let me know if you can choose the right frequency now !
Leonard/OXYGENE.

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Wed Jan 26, 2005 9:07 am

100Hz selected correctly on mine at any rate. All silky smooth and steady as a rock. Nice one Leonard
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

punkrulesok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:34 pm

Postby punkrulesok » Thu Jan 27, 2005 8:17 pm

Whoa, thanks Leonard :) That was a real 'mega' release :)

Only thing - I can select 100Hz properly now, but I cannot get Saint to sync down to 50Hz.
Are there any other options to enable to get a true smooth 50hz screen? Do you have to use a UK TOS perchance?

User avatar
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Postby leonard » Thu Jan 27, 2005 10:32 pm

I can select 100Hz properly now, but I cannot get Saint to sync down to 50Hz


Really ? Even if you set the "VBL Sync" option to "2" ? ( just at the right of the frequency combo box)
Leonard/OXYGENE.

punkrulesok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:34 pm

Postby punkrulesok » Fri Jan 28, 2005 6:33 pm

Yes, it is so. It will sync to a 60hz ST screen (at 120hz PC) but not down to a 50Hz ST screen. Very strange.

I have just reinstalled W2K on my PC, after having XP on it - both the same. My hardware as follows

AMD 1.4Ghz
GeForce 4 MX400
Windows 2000

Its even more strange, because no other emulator does this.
Anyone else have this problem?

User avatar
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Postby leonard » Fri Jan 28, 2005 10:11 pm

Another idea: my "VBL Sync" counter option uses a driver feature wich can be disabled with the NVidia control pannel. Could you check your Nvidia settings ? You should have a "Vertical Sync" var in the NVidia control pannel (windows screen display dialog). You should set that var to "Application-controlled"

Let me know if it helps.
Leonard/OXYGENE.

punkrulesok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:34 pm

Postby punkrulesok » Sun Jan 30, 2005 1:23 pm

It is set to Application control .. still no luck ..

Oh well, I am sure I will get it working at some time ..

thanks for the help :)

User avatar
Total Eclipse
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 222
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Postby Total Eclipse » Thu Feb 03, 2005 9:02 am

leonard wrote:
I can select 100Hz properly now, but I cannot get Saint to sync down to 50Hz


Really ? Even if you set the "VBL Sync" option to "2" ? ( just at the right of the frequency combo box)


I've got a similar problem - I've got an LCD monitor that works "officially" at 60, 70 and 72Hz (I can run SainT at 75Hz). Problem is, the monitor won't go up to 100Hz, so smooth scrolling is a no-no :(

Is it possible to implement some kind of in-between VBL sync e.g. "1.5", so that I can run the monitor at 75 Hz and SainT repeats every other frame? Hopefully the latency of the LCD screen would "smooth out" the frame skipping somewhat.

Alternatively, my monitor also has a TV tuner, so it's capable of showing a 50Hz input picture (though this may be displayed on the monitor at more than 50Hz). I thought about trying Power Strip to see what would happen if I persuaded my video card to output a 50Hz signal at the VGA port :?
Atari equipment all in storage - Now playing with MiST :)

User avatar
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Postby leonard » Thu Feb 03, 2005 9:29 am

Video sync for emulator is a big problem ( well, now with powerfull CPU, it's the "main" problem !)

LCD screen are another big issue for emulation 2d machines with smooth scrolling. The way an LCD screen works makes it impossible to have smooth bitmap scrolling without color flickering. ( just try to scroll some text page in your browser, you will notice some font will change color during the scrolling). The other problem with LCD screen is that drivers are lying about frequency. If it day 60,70,75 it's wrong, coz your LCD is working at a fixed frequency.
I'm afraid you never get a smooth 2d bitmap scrolling on your LCD monitor ( with any 2d emulator). Latest LCD screens (with fast refresh) start to be cool for 3d games.
To get the same cool effect of smooth bitmap scrolling as you remember on AMIGA or ATARI, just use a CRT monitor. ( maybe LCD screens will be improved in the future ?)

To get 1.5 VBL sync as you said, simply uncheck the "Force PC video sync", and you'll get perfect speed ( 50hz) but no smooth scrolling.
Leonard/OXYGENE.


Social Media

     

Return to “SainT”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests