Page 1 of 1

How Can I get a setup Falcon 68030 at 32Mhz

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:41 pm
by atarimonk
Hi,

On hatari 2.0, I am trying to setup a Falcon 030 with 68030 + 68882 + DSP with the 030 clocked at 32Mhz
No matter what I do in the GUI, it is reverting to 16 Mhz.

Any idea?

thanks,

AtariMonk

Re: How Can I get a setup Falcon 68030 at 32Mhz

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 9:10 pm
by dhedberg
I have the same problem. Seems like a bug to me.

Re: How Can I get a setup Falcon 68030 at 32Mhz

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:21 pm
by OL
atarimonk wrote:Hi,

On hatari 2.0, I am trying to setup a Falcon 030 with 68030 + 68882 + DSP with the 030 clocked at 32Mhz
No matter what I do in the GUI, it is reverting to 16 Mhz.

Any idea?

thanks,

AtariMonk


Start with your 16Mhz, then press F12, setup CPU to 32Mhz, then OK, you run at 32Mhz, but yes at start looks not take into account

Re: How Can I get a setup Falcon 68030 at 32Mhz

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 6:18 am
by thothy
The problem is the following: The Falcon has a register that can be used to select either 8 MHz or 16 MHz as CPU frequency. Hatari emulates this register, so if TOS or a program writes a value in the register, the emulator switches to 8 or 16 MHz accordingly. Now TOS seems to write to this register during boot, so you always end up in 16 MHz after a reset. I've now changed the code in Hatari a bit to ignore writes to the register if the user selected a frequency > 16 MHz, I hope that should fix the problem: https://hg.tuxfamily.org/mercurialroot/ ... 4adb62da35

Re: How Can I get a setup Falcon 68030 at 32Mhz

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 3:33 pm
by Bama
thothy wrote: I've now changed the code in Hatari a bit to ignore writes to the register if the user selected a frequency > 16 MHz, I hope that should fix the problem: https://hg.tuxfamily.org/mercurialroot/ ... 4adb62da35


Super Cool, Thank you, Thothy!
:cheers:

Re: How Can I get a setup Falcon 68030 at 32Mhz

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:24 pm
by dhedberg
Yes! Thank you Thothy! That 'resetting to 16MHz behavior' has driven me almost crazy sometimes! Makes sense though, but I think your fix implements the behavior that most people really want/expect.