Hatari AVI recording.

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE emulator - the current version is v2.0.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

607
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Frisia, the Netherlands

Hatari AVI recording.

Postby 607 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:11 am

Hey. First off: I tried this with both Hatari 1.9.0 and 2.0.0.
I'm trying to record video from Hatari, as Steem doesn't record sound correctly.
However, I am having an issue.
There seems to be something going on with the produced AVI file. I can watch it in VLC Media Player just fine, but in Windows Media Player, Windows Movie Maker, Lightworks, et probably cetera, I only get the sound, and not the video.
If I upload the video straight to YouTube (which is highly impractical) frames go missing.
Does anyone know what's going on here, and if it's perhaps fixable?

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1133
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Hatari AVI recording.

Postby npomarede » Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:54 am

Hi
Hatari records video as lossless frames using png or bmp codec, which might not be supported by less competent video player than VLC. You can use ffmpeg to convert the Hatari's AVI to a smaller video file compressed with h264 code for example.

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1133
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Hatari AVI recording.

Postby npomarede » Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:54 am

[duplicate post]

User avatar
Cogweasel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Hatari AVI recording.

Postby Cogweasel » Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:44 pm

It is possible to convert the file in VLC. Go to Media/Convert/Save. There you can encode it to H264, an uncompressed AVI or something that your editing software supports.

607
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Frisia, the Netherlands

Re: Hatari AVI recording.

Postby 607 » Sun Jan 29, 2017 2:28 pm

I think that will work after playing around with the options a bit.
Thanks.

Also, when recording, the game runs very slowly. Is there any way to make it run faster without missing frames, or should I just deal with it?
The thing is, I'd like to record a video with gameplay, and I don't think there's an input replay system in place. And I'm not sure if I'll be able to play at such a low speed.
I've got a really good CPU, so I'd think it should be able to run quicker.

EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 844
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Hatari AVI recording.

Postby EvilFranky » Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:03 pm

As far as I'm aware Hatari only uses a single core, including when it records to an AVI.

So even my 3770k with SSD can't emulate and record at the same time at full speed.

The faster your single core performance the better.

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1133
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Hatari AVI recording.

Postby npomarede » Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:43 pm

You need to use the command line option if you want more control over the avi recording :
- use --avi-vcodec=bmp if you want to save with no compression ; this is the method that need less cpu, but you need a fast HD with a lot of free space
- use --png-level=x x=0 .. 9 to choose the compression level if video is recorded using the default png codec. The higher, the more cpu you need. Try with "1" for fast compression.

In both cases, avoid using x2 resolution zooming in Hatari as this will record a x4 bigger screen area for "nothing". So try to use a 320x200 screen under Hatari (less easier to play a game, but you will gain a lot of cpu)

Nicolas

EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 844
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Hatari AVI recording.

Postby EvilFranky » Sun Jan 29, 2017 5:26 pm

Just a quick note, changing the PNG compression level to 1 made a massive difference, obviously at the cost of disk space. Little more experimenting with this value I think to see how my CPU can cope.

Also the command is "--png-level 1" there is no equals = between 'level' and the value.

Could the video encoding be moved to a different CPU core at some point?

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1133
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Hatari AVI recording.

Postby npomarede » Sun Jan 29, 2017 5:47 pm

You're right, that was a typo, there's no "=" between option name and its value.
Maybe at some point we will try to add thread support to use 1 core for emulation itself and other cores for extra work (video recording, sound/gfx filters, ...), I think it should be doable, but there's more work to do on emulation itself first :)

EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 844
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Hatari AVI recording.

Postby EvilFranky » Sun Jan 29, 2017 5:55 pm

Thanks Npomarede!

Emulation work takes priority ;)

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Hatari AVI recording.

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sun Jan 29, 2017 8:39 pm

This (and more) is explained in Hatari's video recording documentation:
https://hg.tuxfamily.org/mercurialroot/ ... ording.txt


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests