Page 1 of 1

Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:38 am
by ssj
I'm having problems getting most Zenobi Software adventures to run with Hatari, they all work fine with Steem SSE, but Hatari fails to recognize the disks.
Here's a couple of examples:
http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st ... 30804.html
http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st ... 28988.html

Those dumps have some strange file extension (.stt), I'm assuming this is a a simple .st dump considering Atarimania has them tagged as ST dumps, but not really sure since all games that I can't get to work have this same .stt extension. I tried renaming them to .st just in case the emulator was doing some checks based on file extension, but no luck.

Could anyone provide some help to why these won't run in Hatari? As I said they work flawlessly on Steem SSE so the dumps are good.

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 7:54 pm
by Eero Tamminen
Hatari doesn't support STT format, and doesn't currently have plans to do that. Only emulator supporting STT (STeem ST image) format is STeem.

STT isn't similar to ST image format, as it contains also other data than track data. Nowadays STT is obsoleted by STX format, which Hatari does support.

More info: http://info-coach.fr/atari/software/Images-formats.php

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 1:38 am
by ssj
Oh thanks, I had no idea about what the STT format was I wonder why those were dumped like that instead of STX which seems to be the common dumps for protected disks in Atarimania (not even sure if these particular ones are protected).

Is there any way to convert these to STX?

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:00 pm
by Mug UK
The Zenobi ones weren't protected at all. You will have to use STEem to convert the .STT files into .ST files.

Insert a .STT in drive A: and a blank .ST in drive B: Go to the GEM desktop and then copy all of the files from A: to B:

Rinse and repeat for all the Zenobi .STT image files you have.

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 11:24 am
by ssj
If they aren't protected then I guess that would work, but for the life of me I can't figure how to use 2 drives on Steem.

Even though I have both disks mounted on the disk manager I keep seeing the same content on drives A and B on the GEM desktop even after rebooting...

Normally that comes with a cryptic message whenever I click on the floppy icons "Please insert disk B into drive A" or "Please insert disk A into drive A".

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 5:33 pm
by Mug UK
Have you got PASTI switched on?

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 8:21 pm
by ijor
ssj wrote:Normally that comes with a cryptic message whenever I click on the floppy icons "Please insert disk B into drive A" or "Please insert disk A into drive A".


These messages mean that drive B is not turned on. Or it was turned on after the ST boot and the operating systems was not aware about the second drive.

To turn on/off drive B, click on the corresponding drive icon on Steem's Disk Manager. It changes from grey to white.

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:24 am
by ssj
lol that was it ijor, thanks! Steem is a great emulator, but its UI isn't exactly very intuitive :)

Not related to this, but I was trying to get these to auto boot into the game, but it has been too long and don't remember exactly what needs to be done to do so, is there any guide around?
I know how to do it for hard disk games by editing the desktop.inf file, but don't recall the whole process for floppies.

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2016 9:56 pm
by Mug UK
Copy the .PRG into a new folder called AUTO.

However, if the .PRG requires any GEM stuff, such as a file selector then you will have to use one of the programs that auto-starts a GEM-based program from within the AUTO folder.

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 11:48 am
by ssj
That's it, thanks! Hopefully all games will work with the AUTO folder, will get started doing it for for all now. Just one question, if the game boots after doing it I can assume that everything will work fine right? It will either work or not or is it possible that I will be getting some surprises like the game crashing at a particular point in-game?

I recall using a program like the one you mention, was called STARTGEM I believe? Unfortunately tried searching for it online, but couldn't find any place to download it. Unsure if there is something better though.

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 10:56 pm
by Eero Tamminen
For floppies you can also use desktop.inf file. That works also for programs that need GEM. It will fail for programs that need to be run from AUTO folder to save RAM (programs run from AUTO have more RAM available).

There are couple of programs that won't work properly when started from desktop.inf, this lists known ones:
https://hg.tuxfamily.org/mercurialroot/ ... c/todo.txt

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 12:08 pm
by ssj
Using desktop.inf would definitely be easier, I've been using it for hard disk conversions, but I don't really understand the format of the file. I simply copy paste it from one game to the other and edit the filename to run :) . For floppies I'm not sure what changes I would need to do.

I got all games running from AUTO, except Darkest Road which won't load from it, also doesn't have a PRG file, but runs from RUN.TTP. The game already includes a desktop.inf file, but I already see the format is slightly different from the hard disk games.
I'm attaching the file already converted to .st to this post, any kind soul could edit the desktop.inf file to make it bootable? That would help me understand what exactly I should be editing. Thanks.

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 12:32 pm
by AtariZoll
You can not automatically run TTP here - because it needs to enter "darkest" after clicking on RUN.TTP .
I don't see why programmers made it so - could do that command line (what would be just 'darkest' here) automatically via short starter proggie. Maybe it was Monday when sent it to publisher ? :mrgreen:
"Just one question, if the game boots after doing it I can assume that everything will work fine right? It will either work or not or is it possible that I will be getting some surprises like the game crashing at a particular point in-game?"
Surprises are always possible. In case of SW mostly bad ones. Plus, it may have some extra problems on certain TOS versions. You never can't be sure.

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 1:18 pm
by ssj
Ah right... didn't even realize RUN.TTP needed GEM what a bummer.
Yeah have no idea why it was coded like that, some sort of command line support would definitely be useful there.

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 6:12 pm
by Eero Tamminen
TOS runs only *.PRG files from AUTO-folder. You would need to rename *.TTP files to run them from AUTO.

ssj wrote:Using desktop.inf would definitely be easier, I've been using it for hard disk conversions, but I don't really understand the format of the file. I simply copy paste it from one game to the other and edit the filename to run :) . For floppies I'm not sure what changes I would need to do.


The change is exactly the same as for hard disks. For floppies, the drive identifier is "A:\" instead of "C:\".

Only thing you need to change, is the program name on this line in DESKTOP.INF:

Code: Select all

#Z 01 A:\RUN.PRG@

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 6:31 pm
by Eero Tamminen
Simon's HDMenu program may also be of interest:
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=29919

(It of course works on any drive, but naturally is of more use on drives with a lot of space & programs. :-))

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2016 7:00 am
by ssj
Thanks for the info, I notice there's one extra line on floppies that starts with #W and ends with A:\*.*@, I believe this is to tell GEM what folder to open. Should I remove the A:\*.* from it or it doesn't matter?

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2016 7:41 am
by ssj
Silly question, but how exactly can I edit the desktop.inf file inside an .st file?
For hard drive games it's simple because they are simply zip files so I edit the desktop.inf on the PC and then insert it back, not sure what's the easiest way to do this with .st files.

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2016 10:10 am
by Eero Tamminen
ssj wrote:Should I remove the A:\*.* from it or it doesn't matter?


Doesn't matter.

ssj wrote:Silly question, but how exactly can I edit the desktop.inf file inside an .st file?
For hard drive games it's simple because they are simply zip files so I edit the desktop.inf on the PC and then insert it back, not sure what's the easiest way to do this with .st files.


Just copy updated desktop.inf file to it. There are command line tools to do that (e.g. mcopy CLI one from Mtools) outside emulation, but you can just do it inside the Atari emulation, from emulated harddisk to the floppy image.

Re: Problem with Zenobi Software Adventures

Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 10:50 am
by ssj
Thanks, got it sorted.