MIDI via USB dongle?

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE emulator - the current version is v2.0.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

MIDI via USB dongle?

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Thu May 23, 2013 2:45 pm

I have bought some cheap USB dongle from ebay to use it with hatari under linux. But it seems the dongle does not work properly under linux (even just shortening midi in with midi out doesn't result in a simple echo ...).

What midi/usb dongles are known to work with hatari under linux?
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1558
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: MIDI via USB dongle?

Postby Eero Tamminen » Thu May 23, 2013 5:27 pm

MasterOfGizmo wrote:I have bought some cheap USB dongle from ebay to use it with hatari under linux. But it seems the dongle does not work properly under linux (even just shortening midi in with midi out doesn't result in a simple echo ...).

What midi/usb dongles are known to work with hatari under linux?


Hatari itself doesn't care, all it needs are (device) files it can read and write. I've myself used Hatari's MIDI features only with virmidi (virtual MIDI interface) and software synthetizers & other Linux MIDI programs.

Does your dongle work with native Linux MIDI software?

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI via USB dongle?

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Thu May 23, 2013 6:57 pm

From the hatari docs i've found so far this seems to be the typical use case.

I've built a MIDI interface for my MIST board (http://www.harbaum.org/till/mist) and would love to let it run a session of midimaze against hatari.

But that doesn't seem to work. Actually transmission from MIST to PC just seems to have some buffer issue (bytes are received in bursts). But transmission from PC to MIST is totally broken. But this isn't a hatari specific problem as this already happens when talking directly with /dev/snd/midiC1D0 on the PC.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1558
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: MIDI via USB dongle?

Postby Eero Tamminen » Thu May 23, 2013 7:19 pm

It seems that USB MIDI cables may require firmware uploads:
http://alsa.opensrc.org/USBMidiDevices

What about yours?

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI via USB dongle?

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Fri May 24, 2013 9:22 am

Eero Tamminen wrote:It seems that USB MIDI cables may require firmware uploads:
http://alsa.opensrc.org/USBMidiDevices

What about yours?


The cable works and e.g. running the ECO game on my MIST board connected to the rosegarden sequencer on the Linux PC results in the game music being played (ECO does MIDI music).

Maybe MIDI client software needs to configure something like disabling buffers or so. I'll have a look at rosegarden so see whether they do more than just opening the device.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1558
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: MIDI via USB dongle?

Postby Eero Tamminen » Fri May 24, 2013 7:20 pm

If MidiMaze doesn't use normal MIDI messages, but its own communication protocol over MIDI, dongle might not support it. Googling finds many posts of e.g. problems with MIDI sysex message with (cheaper) USB MIDI cables.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI via USB dongle?

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Tue May 28, 2013 2:22 pm

Eero Tamminen wrote:If MidiMaze doesn't use normal MIDI messages, but its own communication protocol over MIDI, dongle might not support it. Googling finds many posts of e.g. problems with MIDI sysex message with (cheaper) USB MIDI cables.


Yes, maybe. Running my device against rosegarden on a linux PC does work now. I've tested this with my board as well with hatari and e.g. the ECo game plays well. I actually don't fully understand those usb interfaces. If the dongle has support the protocol as you suggest, then the dongle does more than just sending and receiving bytes. A midi usb dongle is really more than just a uart connected to an opto coupler and some current source?

The games i tested now all do MIDI music for me. But i can't get cubase to work. I just don't see it transmitting anything. Neither hataris Midi_Data_WriteByte() function gets called nor see i write accesses to fffc06 on my device. It seems it's supposed to use midi tx interrupts as i see it enabling the tx irq for the midi acia. But neither hatari nor my board work.

There's a free lite version of cubase here: http://tamw.atari-users.net/cubase.htm

Has anyone ever successfully used this on hatari?

Regards!
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI via USB dongle?

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Fri May 31, 2013 1:51 pm

MasterOfGizmo wrote:There's a free lite version of cubase here: http://tamw.atari-users.net/cubase.htm

Has anyone ever successfully used this on hatari?


Finally i managed to get cubase lite to replay midi on hatari. There are two potential pitfalls: 1) The acia irq handling only works if the midi device emulation is actually enabled. 2) It needs to be enabled at startup. Just enabling it at runtime won't make it work. After that cubase lite sends data to the midi out port.

And now that hatari has helped me to prove that cubase lite really needs acia tx interruprs i should be able to get my board to work with it as well.

BTW: Your name sounds familiar. I was one of the "fremantle stars" ... i am sure we met in amsterdam ...
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1558
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: MIDI via USB dongle?

Postby Eero Tamminen » Fri May 31, 2013 3:10 pm

Good that you got it working.

I sent a comment about the IRQ issue to hatari-devel mailing list.

I don't think I've been in any Amsterdam Maemo event, but I've otherwise been involved with Maemo from its beginning to its end.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1558
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: MIDI via USB dongle?

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sat Jun 01, 2013 9:10 am

MasterOfGizmo wrote:Finally i managed to get cubase lite to replay midi on hatari. There are two potential pitfalls: 1) The acia irq handling only works if the midi device emulation is actually enabled.


Isn't that expected? MIDI doesn't work if it's not enabled? :-)

MasterOfGizmo wrote:2) It needs to be enabled at startup. Just enabling it at runtime won't make it work. After that cubase lite sends data to the midi out port.


I've hopefully fixed that now, by forcing emulation reset when MIDI is enabled (or disabled):
http://hg.tuxfamily.org/mercurialroot/h ... 25e2cff695

Could you try whether 2) goes away in new Hatari version?


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest