STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

A forum for anything about the Steem Engine STE emulator, comments, problems, bug reports etc. Steven Seagal regularly provides updated versions of the original STEem code. The current version is v3.9.4.

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby SkylineDave » Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:47 pm

Hi Mr. Seagal.

STeem 3.9.1 - is there a way to pass both a disk image and a memory snapshot via CLI at the same time? e.g.:

STeem.exe c:\disk.msa c:\memsnapshot.sts

so that STeem starts with disk in drive and runs mem snapshot? I'm sure older versions used to work like this but when I try it now I just get the dialog box saying "when this snapshot was taken disk x was in the drive"...
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1990
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Jun 21, 2017 8:38 am

Hello,
Don't think it worked that way in Steem original code. In what version did it work?

I patched up something for you, please try the new beta (Win32.D3D is main build):

http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse/files/DevBuilds/

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby SkylineDave » Thu Jun 22, 2017 2:36 pm

Thanks for your work on this, sadly I'm unable to test it with DemobaseST because the memory screenshots were taken with STeem 3.2 - 3.4 (ish) and I saw the below in the new beta manual:

- CPU: 64bit cycle timers (Win64).
This makes older memory snapshots incompatible.

I think this means that 3.9.1 is the last STeem that can be used with DBST :(

I've been experimenting with how DBST got combined sts and msa to work and it looks like I used this in the .ini file:
AutoLoadSnapShot=1
AutoSnapShotName=mysnapshot

...and then using the CLI to pass in the disk image.

I can't prove this as I lost the source code for DBST ages ago :(
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1990
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Jun 22, 2017 3:35 pm

SkylineDave wrote:Thanks for your work on this, sadly I'm unable to test it with DemobaseST because the memory screenshots were taken with STeem 3.2 - 3.4 (ish) and I saw the below in the new beta manual:

- CPU: 64bit cycle timers (Win64).
This makes older memory snapshots incompatible.

I think this means that 3.9.1 is the last STeem that can be used with DBST :(


This is true only for the 64bit builds.
But to be fair, maintaining 100% compatibility with older snapshots is too hard.
I thought about creating a converter, but this would take much time too.


I've been experimenting with how DBST got combined sts and msa to work and it looks like I used this in the .ini file:
AutoLoadSnapShot=1
AutoSnapShotName=mysnapshot

...and then using the CLI to pass in the disk image.

I can't prove this as I lost the source code for DBST ages ago :(


The mod I made, you don't mess with ini, you pass the snapshot then the disk in the command line. Both as complete paths of course.

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby SkylineDave » Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:56 pm

I can get the old sts files to work in 3.9.2b but STeem won't autoplay, even when I copy the ini file from 3.9.1 to 3.9.2. When I call STeem from CLI I still have to manually Load the snapshot from the menu, then click Play. A few of the demos that work in 3.9.1 crash out in 3.9.2 so perhaps the limit of compatibility has been reached.
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1990
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Jun 23, 2017 8:02 am

Well, DemoBaseST is now legacy if the source is lost. It wouldn't be shocking if it needed an older version of Steem.
I fixed the bug (*) now it runs with v3.9.2 like with v3.9.1 in DemoBaseST while still being able to specify snapshot and disk in the command line.
Steem will also switch to STF if TOS version is lower than 1.06.
Please try again with the new beta.
Could you indicate which demos don't work anymore?

(*) I used Exist(path), forgetting that "." is a valid path.

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby SkylineDave » Sat Nov 04, 2017 5:35 pm

Hi Mr. Seagal,

Apologies as it's been months since I last posted. I've been experimenting with the 3.9.4 beta that is available from your website at the moment and it looks like it's allowing the successful passing of disc image and memory snapshot at the same time, which hopefully is great news.

I see 3.9.3 doesn't currently allow this, so would it be possible to go live with this change for 3.9.4?

In response to your previous post, yes DBST as it stands is legacy, and hasn't been supported/updated since about 2008, however over the last few months on and off I've been rewriting the front-end from scratch, making it a bet less Windows-y and adding in new features, and trying to get the 10-year-old memory snapshots to work, which most of them do. I have better success using 32-bit version of STeem SSE.
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1990
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Nov 04, 2017 8:18 pm

Hi, I can understand that people have a more on and off approach to emulation.

The feature was beta-only waiting for your feedback, it will be in release 3.9.4.
Good luck on your project.

It's no wonder that Steem SSE 32bit works better as snapshot compatibility isn't maintained between 32bit and 64bit. :)

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby SkylineDave » Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:05 am

Thankyou very much :) really appreciate your support with this.
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!


Social Media

     

Return to “Steem”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest