How run games form harddisk?

A forum for anything about the Steem Engine STE emulator, comments, problems, bug reports etc. Steven Seagal regularly provides updated versions of the original STEem code. The current version is v3.9.4.

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

ruthan
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:56 am

How run games form harddisk?

Postby ruthan » Wed Sep 21, 2016 1:03 am

Hello,
i would like to use hard disk, because switching floppies in virtual drive is annoying, its it possible and how to do it?

I have tried to copy files from disk A drive to drive C, but i dont know how to select all (something like CRTL+A in Windows) files on floppy drive and by some file groups and without some commandline interface to compare two lists of files is pain the ass.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2945
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How run games form harddisk?

Postby AtariZoll » Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:40 am

There are good copy programs for Atari - like Kobold 2.
But pure copying from floppy to hard disk will not make it work in most cases.
Better get games from here: http://atari.8bitchip.info/fromhd.php
There are some guides too.
There is way to stop global warming.

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: How run games form harddisk?

Postby AdamK » Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:06 am

In most cases this will not work anyway. Most of the ST(E) games needs to be modified to be able to run from harddisk. You can find such modified games bu Dbug or PPera.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: How run games form harddisk?

Postby leech » Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:09 am

To Select All, I think it's just 'E' at least it is on TOS 4.04. Does it show any shortcut under 'File'? Anyhow, playing games from hard disk is hit and miss for sure. Check out the dbug page. http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/patch.php
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

ruthan
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:56 am

Re: How run games form harddisk?

Postby ruthan » Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:04 pm

I studied manual - so select all, its ok, i can simply drag whole diskette letter to disk.

For programs its working allmost everytime, for games in 50% but i tried only 6 of them.

ruthan
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:56 am

Re: How run games form harddisk?

Postby ruthan » Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:10 pm

Thanks for replies,
i discovered, than for select all, i can drag whle diskette icon to hardisk white space and there is KK commander and other tools.

Run from HDD, its working for all no gaming apps, which i have tried, and for 50% of games, but i have tried only 6,7 of them, so i could be lucky..


Social Media

     

Return to “Steem”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests