Feature Requests

A forum for anything about the Steem Engine STE emulator, comments, problems, bug reports etc. Steven Seagal regularly provides updated versions of the original STEem code. The current version is v3.9.4.

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Feature Requests

Postby exxos » Mon Jan 26, 2015 2:13 pm

I don't think these are current options but...

1) Batch convert folders on a steem hard drive to MSA and/or .ST images.

2) screenshots to save in PNG format. It would save some time in having to convert them from BMP all the time. I can batch convert a lot, but mostly I am doing things one at a time. So it becomes a bit of a epic having to load and edit images one by one.. similar with below..

3) screen shots to save in proper ST resolutions. Currently I am using "double height and width" though screenshots save at that size also (which is fine in some cases) though It would help if they could also be set to save in proper resolutions. This would save a huge amount of time in doing screenshots for various things.

:)
Last edited by exxos on Tue Jan 27, 2015 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Cyprian » Mon Jan 26, 2015 3:57 pm

exxos wrote:4) screen shots to save in proper ST resolutions. Currently I am using "double height and width" though screenshots save at that size also (which is fine in some cases) though It would help if they could also be set to save in proper resolutions. This would save a huge amount of time in doing screenshots for various things.

try "Minimum Size Screenshots" option
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby exxos » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:07 pm

OH, never saw that option! That creates a problem for 640x200 though as they are "letterbox" format and I have to double the height on them to get them looking square again :roll:

OK - New feature request to double height of medium res when that box it ticked :lol: 8)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1265
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Stefan jL » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:57 pm

exxos wrote:I
3) screenshots to save in PNG format. It would save some time in having to convert them from BMP all the time. I can batch convert a lot, but mostly I am doing things one at a time. So it becomes a bit of a epic having to load and edit images one by one.. similar with below..


I did ask for this feature myself a while ago and it turned out Steem already support saving in PNG format 8O I think you need "FreeImage.dll" in Steems directory to enable it.
Image

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby exxos » Mon Jan 26, 2015 5:10 pm

Stefan jL wrote:
exxos wrote:I
3) screenshots to save in PNG format. It would save some time in having to convert them from BMP all the time. I can batch convert a lot, but mostly I am doing things one at a time. So it becomes a bit of a epic having to load and edit images one by one.. similar with below..


I did ask for this feature myself a while ago and it turned out Steem already support saving in PNG format 8O I think you need "FreeImage.dll" in Steems directory to enable it.


Oh right, bit of a hidden feature that is then. Will try and find that dll later :)

EDIT1: Oh cool, now can save in all sorts of formats [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_01.gif]
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:56 pm

exxos wrote:
Oh right, bit of a hidden feature that is then. Will try and find that dll later :)

EDIT1: Oh cool, now can save in all sorts of formats [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_01.gif]


Steem is full of features.
FreeImage support was already in Steem 3.2.

Here:

http://ataristeven.t15.org/Other_downloads.htm

you may find plugins that work with Steem.


About your 1) request, I already answered by PM, it would be nice, but it seems more the job of a 3rd party program than of an Atari emulator. I'd like to keep it lean if possible.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby exxos » Thu Dec 24, 2015 2:50 pm

I thought of something which would be useful (at least for me) is that have a option to re-program the right mouse click to "break out" of the steem window back to PC desktop rather than using the pause/break button (or mostly I end up using the windows key to get my back to desktop).

This would be useful for me as i'm coding in notepad on the PC as its so much easier and quicker than using ST editors, but then I end up going back and forth between notepad and steem and it would be far quicker to just use the right mouse button as its not generally used in anything on the ST anyway.

Or similar to what Hatari (fails?) to do by when you move the mouse to the edge, it simply goes back to the PC desktop mouse like normal. Probably the right click idea would be better as at least I can leave the mouse on the ST screen where I want it to be.

Also, a faster MHz speed in the machine menu would be nice. Something like 512MHz would be awesome. It would help speed up compiling of large programs no end and be also useful for testing Gembench on to make sure its more "future proof" this time :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Cyprian » Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:39 pm

exxos wrote:I thought of something which would be useful (at least for me) is that have a option to re-program the right mouse click to "break out" of the steem window back to PC desktop rather than using the pause/break button (or mostly I end up using the windows key to get my back to desktop).

This would be useful for me as i'm coding in notepad on the PC as its so much easier and quicker than using ST editors, but then I end up going back and forth between notepad and steem and it would be far quicker to just use the right mouse button as its not generally used in anything on the ST anyway.

I defined the middle the mouse button as a switch from ST desktop to PC desktop
MMM.png


exxos wrote:Also, a faster MHz speed in the machine menu would be nice. Something like 512MHz would be awesome. It would help speed up compiling of large programs no end and be also useful for testing Gembench on to make sure its more "future proof" this time :)

agree, would be cool to have 512MHz or just "full-speed" option
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby exxos » Thu Dec 24, 2015 8:07 pm

Cyprian wrote:I defined the middle the mouse button as a switch from ST desktop to PC desktop


Oh nice one! I didn't know that could be done!

Cyprian wrote:agree, would be cool to have 512MHz or just "full-speed" option


Yeah full speed would be awesome aswell :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Dec 25, 2015 10:24 am

exxos wrote:
Cyprian wrote:I defined the middle the mouse button as a switch from ST desktop to PC desktop


Oh nice one! I didn't know that could be done!


The middle mouse button doesn't exist on the ST, so it's better than right button.
It seems Steem's shortcuts aren't well known enough.
There is also an "SSE" option to not capture mouse on run.


Cyprian wrote:agree, would be cool to have 512MHz or just "full-speed" option


Yeah full speed would be awesome aswell :)


seagal_claus.gif


It's not a problem to add this, I'll also add 1, 2, 3 and 4 Ghz.
It will work on a correctly overclocked PC.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Cyprian » Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:11 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:There is also an "SSE" option to not capture mouse on run.

What does that option mean?
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Dec 25, 2015 7:06 pm

Cyprian wrote:
Steven Seagal wrote:There is also an "SSE" option to not capture mouse on run.

What does that option mean?


You keep your PC mouse cursor while Steem is running.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Cyprian » Fri Dec 25, 2015 8:39 pm

hmm, to be honest I can't see any difference.
when it is unchecked I have to click ST desktop area in order to switch from PC to ST.
and when I check it I also have to click ST desktop in order to switch to ST.
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Dec 25, 2015 9:26 pm

Cyprian wrote:hmm, to be honest I can't see any difference.
when it is unchecked I have to click ST desktop area in order to switch from PC to ST.
and when I check it I also have to click ST desktop in order to switch to ST.


I know it's no excuse but it works for me. :) Click on play and mouse disappears in a case, not the other.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Cyprian » Fri Dec 25, 2015 9:40 pm

ah, got it now.
thanks for that switch, It's very useful and actually I thought about it.
In case of watching demos I use it unchecked, in case of games/GEM - checked.
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:12 am

This option has been there for a long time, mouse capture in Steem always annoyed me.
Another one I did for myself is 'keyboard click'.
Click click... click click click... Click click... click click click... Click click... click click click... Click click... click click click...
Argh!
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby exxos » Sun Dec 27, 2015 10:42 am

Steven Seagal wrote:This option has been there for a long time, mouse capture in Steem always annoyed me.
Another one I did for myself is 'keyboard click'.
Click click... click click click... Click click... click click click... Click click... click click click... Click click... click click click...
Argh!


Oh wow, I never noticed that option either :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Maybe there should be a thread to collect these "tip bits" somewhere..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Dec 27, 2015 6:32 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:
exxos wrote:
Cyprian wrote:I defined the middle the mouse button as a switch from ST desktop to PC desktop


Oh nice one! I didn't know that could be done!


The middle mouse button doesn't exist on the ST, so it's better than right button.
It seems Steem's shortcuts aren't well known enough.
There is also an "SSE" option to not capture mouse on run.


Cyprian wrote:agree, would be cool to have 512MHz or just "full-speed" option


Yeah full speed would be awesome aswell :)


seagal_claus.gif


It's not a problem to add this, I'll also add 1, 2, 3 and 4 Ghz.
It will work on a correctly overclocked PC.


I'm afraid I was a little bit carried away.
Steem's CPU timing counter is an int, max int is 2147483647, which is < 3 or 4 Ghz.
Maybe in a 64bit build.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby exxos » Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:58 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:I'm afraid I was a little bit carried away.
Steem's CPU timing counter is an int, max int is 2147483647, which is < 3 or 4 Ghz.
Maybe in a 64bit build.


Even so, 512mhz -1ghz is still a huge gain. It would cut my compiling times down to pretty much 1 second, and also be useful for other stuff no doubt :)

I generally have 2 copies of steem running, one with my "programming" stuff open and another with actually testing the compiled program. Of course if you ever wanted to do "tabs" in steem then that would be useful also ;)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Sun Mar 13, 2016 8:13 pm

lol, can we not fix the X-Out mouse routine?

Annoys the hell out of me that I can watch all those fantastic demos that never used to run on STEEM play with MultiTos on a 40mhz TOS 2.06 but am severely irritated by the mouse routine in the game X-Out :P
I own the game outright so i know its not like that on an original ST

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Mar 13, 2016 9:04 pm

EstTeeEfEm wrote:lol, can we not fix the X-Out mouse routine?

Annoys the hell out of me that I can watch all those fantastic demos that never used to run on STEEM play with MultiTos on a 40mhz TOS 2.06 but am severely irritated by the mouse routine in the game X-Out :P
I own the game outright so i know its not like that on an original ST


This would annoy me too.
It is fixed if you use option SSE/C1 (for 6301 emu).
This free advice is in 'Hints.txt'.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Mon Mar 14, 2016 6:23 am

Thanks for that, must have missed reading that one!!
maybe as a second one you could have a hints / updates box that pops up similar to other programs when it starts, that obvs you can turn off ;)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Mar 20, 2016 10:30 am

If you copied the files in Steem folder, you can read them from inside Steem by clicking the little (i) button.
It's an old feature of Steem, didn't do it myself.
If we change that in an automatic popup, expect complaints and requests to remove it!
The real problem is that nobody's reading the doc. It's not a complaint, it's a fact.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby exxos » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:05 pm

Not sure if its been suggested before, but is it possible to add alt-ram into steem ?

Probably only useful for developers more than normal users I guess though.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Jan 04, 2017 8:11 pm

Hi
For requests, I changed my mind, it's better to open a new thread in the development sub-section of Steem in this forum. Easier to follow.
In Steem, there's the 14 MB hack.
I looked for "alt-ram", it seems part of something bigger (MonSTer?)
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse


Social Media

     

Return to “Steem”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests