Multiface ST

A forum for anything about the Steem Engine STE emulator, comments, problems, bug reports etc. Steven Seagal regularly provides updated versions of the original STEem code. The current version is v3.9.4.

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
X3peri_MENTaL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 6:58 pm
Location: The Broom Cupboard
Contact:

Multiface ST

Postby X3peri_MENTaL » Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:37 pm

Does anyone know if there is a working Multiface ST cartridge image about and where it can be obtained (I assume it is compatible with Steem).

Thanks
X3peri_MENTaL

hakim
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:38 am

Postby hakim » Fri Mar 12, 2004 9:31 am

Multiface ST is not very useful on STeem, you are much better off with the Debug build of STeem...

regards,
hakim

User avatar
ggn
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1133
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 4:49 pm

Postby ggn » Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:58 am

So, anyone has a dump of it? The Steem authors mention that it's working, so there must be at least one guy who has a dump of it :)
is 73 Falcon patched atari games enough ? ^^

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11208
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Postby Mug UK » Thu Jun 15, 2006 9:33 am

I nearly won one on ePrey for the simple reason of dumping the ROM but got pipped at the post.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
aktiv8
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1478
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

Postby aktiv8 » Thu Jun 15, 2006 11:34 am

Checking on teh past threads it looks as if there are one or two members with multiface ST's so can any of them do a dump?

Threads Im thinking of are:

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... =multiface
http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... =multiface
>>> Trust me, I'm a Research Chemist.... <<<

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Thu Jun 15, 2006 6:58 pm

MultifaceST dump attached
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
aktiv8
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1478
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

Postby aktiv8 » Thu Jun 15, 2006 7:08 pm

and many thanks go to Protos for supplying :)
>>> Trust me, I'm a Research Chemist.... <<<

User avatar
bodkinz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: London

Postby bodkinz » Thu Jun 15, 2006 11:15 pm

Hmmmm.. I just looked in my desk draw... I have a Multiface ST ... one of the wires has come out though..
someone post something, i'm bored :)

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11208
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Postby Mug UK » Fri Jun 16, 2006 8:25 am

That happend to the one I borrowed years ago from Slasher Bog .. luckily it was easily repaired.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
X3peri_MENTaL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 6:58 pm
Location: The Broom Cupboard
Contact:

Postby X3peri_MENTaL » Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:29 am

bodkinz wrote:Hmmmm.. I just looked in my desk draw... I have a Multiface ST ... one of the wires has come out though..


muguk wrote:That happend to the one I borrowed years ago from Slasher Bog .. luckily it was easily repaired.


Damn, they're fragile :!:

My Multiface is now is 2 pieces unfortunately :( , and I hardly ever touch it - both wires seem to have just popped out by themselves!

How easy is it to reattach the wires to the box? Is there anything actually holding the stripped back part of the wires in place within the white connector on the blue box, or are they just held in place by means of a tight fit?

User avatar
Dew-It
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 310
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: USA, Iowa

Postby Dew-It » Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:35 am

What is a multiface ST? I have heard of it before. Is this some sort of copier? I think I saw this in one of my old ST format magazines.

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11208
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Postby Mug UK » Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:40 am

It was an early attempt at a Freeze Frame type cartridge for the ST.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1982
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Multiface ST

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Sep 14, 2016 8:25 am

The Multiface ST dump posted in this thread is compatible with Steem.
In Steem SSE I'm adding a feature that emulates the 'Freeze' button of the cartridge, by triggering MFP interrupt 15 (mono detect).
The cartridge intercepts the "mono" line of the monitor, that's the purpose of the cable.

The problem is:

In the manual they state that the cartridge is transparent, and that the menu appears only if you press the button at startup, which seems reasonable.
But in Steem it boots directly on the cartridge menu, and two reviews I read suggest this behaviour.

I wonder if the manual is wrong, or if different revisions behave differently (red, blue, etc.).

Anybody with the real hardware?

User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1419
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Multiface ST

Postby dlfrsilver » Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:16 pm

the Multiface for ST is the equivalent of the Multiface 2 for Amstrad CPC. Made by the same company :)
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !

insanity
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:31 pm
Location: Leicester, England

Re: Multiface ST

Postby insanity » Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:24 pm

I know that with the Ultimate Ripper Cartridge, you had to hold reset down (the ST reset button), flick a switch on the cartridge, then release the reset button and the URC would kick in... keeping the switch on meant you also couldn't boot past the URC menu!

Can you switch the Multiface on after bootup?! I seem to remember the bootup sequence checking the cart port prior to the disk etc.

I have a Multiface for the Spectrum somewhere... loved that thing!

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3138
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiface ST

Postby ijor » Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:49 pm

Never owned a Multiface, but it is obvious that if all you emulate is just the mono detect intercept, then the cartridge would be present and active all the time. The hardware, obviously, has some custom logic that can make it transparatent and hidden (no cart rom present), or present (cart rom present).

Not sure exactly how the logic activates itself. Possibly pressing the button after power up switches itself on. You would need to perform some testing, to find out. May be some reverse engineering of the cart firmware in the worst case (but probably not needed).

In anycase, you have to emulate the full hardware behavior, not just the mono detect.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1982
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Multiface ST

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Sep 14, 2016 6:29 pm

Ah yes I see now, in that case, emulation is OK already, when the file is inserted, the cartridge is active.
I didn't think about this. I was only looking at the cartridge code. Thx.
Still the magazines (referenced at atarimania) are ambiguous about this. Conclusion: do nothing else for the moment.

I will also look at the Ultimate Ripper Cartridge, so that next version of Steem SSE could contain some grouped cartridge emu improvements.

User avatar
Maartau
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2591
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:15 am
Location: France

Re: Multiface ST

Postby Maartau » Wed Sep 14, 2016 7:11 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:I will also look at the Ultimate Ripper Cartridge, so that next version of Steem SSE could contain some grouped cartridge emu improvements.

:cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

*** *** ***

Multiface ST Manual :

http://www.spiny.org/atari/hardware_docs.html

https://archive.org/details/multiface_st_1989
Member of :
- aTaRi LeGeNd ,
- eLiTe ! ,
- NoExTrA .

Don't hesitate to visit http://www.atarimania.com/ & http://www.atarilegend.com/ :D

-> Slowed due to serious health troubles <-

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1982
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Multiface ST

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:13 pm

The Ultimate Ripper Cartridge has a sort of "dongle" too, in the RS232 port, so it definitely was a good idea to add this feature!
The "dongle" was used to freeze games by using an interrupt ("ring").

Here's the future Steem menu, with new buttons for 'Switch off' and 'Freeze'.
'Switch off' makes the cartridge transparent, like it wasn't there.
'Freeze' would be useful on Multiface and URC.

Note: the URC cartridge isn't user friendly, one should read the manual. If enabled, it starts on a white screen.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Maartau
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2591
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:15 am
Location: France

Re: Multiface ST

Postby Maartau » Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:34 pm

Simply great, thanks Steven [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_01.gif] .
Member of :
- aTaRi LeGeNd ,
- eLiTe ! ,
- NoExTrA .

Don't hesitate to visit http://www.atarimania.com/ & http://www.atarilegend.com/ :D

-> Slowed due to serious health troubles <-

insanity
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:31 pm
Location: Leicester, England

Re: Multiface ST

Postby insanity » Fri Sep 16, 2016 11:30 am

Steven Seagal wrote:Note: the URC cartridge isn't user friendly, one should read the manual. If enabled, it starts on a white screen.


It's waiting for F1/F2 to be pressed, depending on whether you want it loaded into high or low memory I believe.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1982
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Multiface ST

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Sep 16, 2016 7:10 pm

insanity wrote:
It's waiting for F1/F2 to be pressed, depending on whether you want it loaded into high or low memory I believe.


The best is to quote the manual:


THE ULTIMATE RIPPER: EASY INTERRUPTING 100 % EFFICIENT

When you wish to interrupt your program, push the reset button, put the cartridge switch on and release the reset button. At that moment your ATARI is under the control of the cartridge. Several possibilities are the offered;

1) Push the F1 or F2. The software of the cartridge occupies a certain amount of memory, and so will overwrite a part of it. To retreive the overwritten part and move in another place in memory, push the F1 function key. If you don't want to move it, push the F2 key.

2) Push the F7 key, and once software is in the drive, you will be able to enter infinite lives in the software.

3) Push the F9 key to make a jump at the address contained in the $30 vector (This function is only useful to programmers)

4) If your cartridge remained ON and you switched your ST on, a fix screen appears. It is not necessary to switch it off.

Pushing the F10 key does a normal reset. This function key enables you to leave your cartridge always ON. For a normal use of your ATARI, you are advised to switch the cartridge OFF.


But not even a "Press F10 to boot your Atari normally" message appears.


Social Media

     

Return to “Steem”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest