Strange issue with Yamaha FB-01 Editor in Steem

A forum for anything about the Steem Engine STE emulator, comments, problems, bug reports etc. Steven Seagal regularly provides updated versions of the original STEem code. The current version is v3.9.4.

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

NightSprinter
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 3:48 am

Strange issue with Yamaha FB-01 Editor in Steem

Postby NightSprinter » Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:26 am

Hey, I know it's an issue I should've chimed in much earlier about but I've noticed a rather bizarre issue running the Caged Artists' editor for the Yamaha FB-01 synthesizer in Steem. I've tried this with both my Audigy2 ZS card's joystick port with the MIDI adapter cable, and my M-Audio Midisport UNO adapter. I can send patches without problem to the synth, but when I try to get anything it just responds with "Is anybody out there?". Plus YSEDITFB01 also gives me an error message of "no midi data" when I try to receive patches.

I do have two 1040STf computers, a 1040STe computer, and a STacy2 portable. On the real machines, these errors do not occur. Is there something with the MIDI hardware/drivers on the PC within the emulator causing this communication error?

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2529
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Strange issue with Yamaha FB-01 Editor in Steem

Postby charles » Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:51 am

how is your steem configured buddy?
it needs midi set for in coming and out going .
mine has option
external midi
or
microsoft midi mapper

i set both to external midi when using external device.

or if i use the pc's sound card i set both to microsoft midi mapper

contact me because i use midi alot .
charles
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!

NightSprinter
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 3:48 am

Re: Strange issue with Yamaha FB-01 Editor in Steem

Postby NightSprinter » Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:50 pm

That's the thing, Charles. I've tried it with both ports set to the Audigy2 ZS MIDI I/O, and tried it with MIDI in to M-Audio USB Uno In and out to M-Audio USB Uno Out.

Given I have a bad leg, if I want to tote my Yamaha or my Roland around I want to be able to get a working Atari MIDI setup through STEem without any of the errors. Considering I forgot the Uno for use on this laptop I'll get a screenshot up and online for the emulator, and running on a real STE.

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2529
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Strange issue with Yamaha FB-01 Editor in Steem

Postby charles » Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:58 am

oh don't tell me about real st , i own five of them .

its a communication error .. i hope you don't use laptop as there port configurations are messy , use a pc .

then even check in the hardware configuration if its enabled or disabled ...

all i can really do is blindily try and help cause i'm not there , it took me a while to begin when i first ventured into steem , now i write a couple little midi programs , i like both platforms and really want to help...

is the in put channnels the same oout one on steem and in one on the fb?

charles

maybe try a sequencer too and see if you are able to out put noteds from a song ,, then it will reveil if its the steem or the computer setting...
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!

User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1964
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W
Contact:

Re: Strange issue with Yamaha FB-01 Editor in Steem

Postby Desty » Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:11 pm

Spam, eh?
tá'n poc ar buile!


Social Media

     

Return to “Steem”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests