Page 1 of 1

Ok basically, i dont know how to work an Atari ST

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 5:23 am
by China_crisis
yeah basically thats it, i get it, and then im like WTF i dont know what im doing....i got it because it has synth stuff for it. I got Master Tracks Pro, but once i put it in, im like how do i work this beast?!

please someone give me help..

i dont know how to work This thing! 8O

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:41 pm
by bullis1
Well, it sounds like you have the program running, which is good.

Now here's the hard part: using the software. Midi sequencing software, on PC or ST, is complicated and takes practice. Have you used any music software like Cubase or anything before? I mean Mac or PC versions.

Anyway, if you think that Atari ST is all you need to make MIDI music, then you are sorely mistaken. You will need external sound modules, like a sampler, soundcanvas, synthesizer, or a PC with VST supporting software and MIDI ports. Also, you will want a MIDI instrument such as a keyboard. Then, you will be able to sequence music!

There is a cheaper way though. You can use a tracker. A tracker can make great music using the internal sound-chip of your ST, and it's free. However, it's not as flexible because of the limitations of the YM2149 (the ST's sound chip). Also, the interfaces are not very intuitive to people who are used to more traditional studio software. However, if you do decide to try the very technical art of tracking, I'll recommend MaxYMiser as your software.

Sorry for the long response, but your question was somewhat vague.

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 9:45 pm
by China_crisis
yeah i guess it kinda was....well

this is what i got

Master Tracks Pro for ATARI ST

i have two synths

A Ensoniq ESQ-1 and a Casio POS (but has midi capabilites)

Problem is, when i put the floppy in, and i open the folder, do i just click on the application? cause when i do it just makes this buzzin noises and nothing comes up

Posted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:32 pm
by daeghnao
China_crisis wrote:yeah i guess it kinda was....well

this is what i got

Master Tracks Pro for ATARI ST

i have two synths

A Ensoniq ESQ-1 and a Casio POS (but has midi capabilites)

Problem is, when i put the floppy in, and i open the folder, do i just click on the application? cause when i do it just makes this buzzin noises and nothing comes up


Normally you would switch the computer on with the disk in the drive, for it to boot from.

If you get to the desktop, double-click (or click and then select File->Open) on the filing cabinet drawer icon for drive A, then locate the application (square icon, dotted region to the top - it's supposed to look like a miniature window) and run it with a double click or File->Open. The screen should clear to a blank desktop with the name of the application at the top while it loads.

What exactly is making the buzzing noises that you mentioned? The power supply? Disk drive? Monitor? TV?

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:11 am
by China_crisis
ok, when i get home ill try what you said by putting the disk in first..but before when i just put it in after the start up, it just showed a blank green screen and buzzed and did nothing and went back to the previous screen

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 8:00 am
by unseenmenace
Sounds like either your floppy disk or drive may have problems. Do you have any other ST floppies (games or anything) that you can get to work?

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:29 am
by China_crisis
acculty it works perfectly

im just dum and dont know how to work this thing


but i did make a drum track on it, ill let everyone listen later to the song i create :P