Menu disks -help please ;-)

You can discus menu disks by all those classic ST hack & pack teams. If you have questions, requests or remarks about hackers, packers, screens or just menu disks in general, this is the place to be!

Moderators: Mug UK, bodkinz, Moderator Team

User avatar
Gumbo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 5:33 pm
Location: Cambridge

Menu disks -help please ;-)

Postby Gumbo » Mon Mar 21, 2011 12:20 pm

I got rid of all my Menu disks back in 1999(ish) pompey,auto,d-bug etc.. Just found this site and it has inspired me to 'Dig-Out' my old cd-data disks of archives. I have thousands of menu disks saved as .ST .MSA. I did manage to run these afew years ago on PC, but ai now only have a MAC.

I have tried installing Hatari but it keeps telling me i cannot open these files.. Any one help with a walk thru of instal for a Mac?

I am also looking to get back in my collection The Golden Dawn Disks. Where can i find them ;-)

All the best

Gumbo Gilbert

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Menu disks -help please ;-)

Postby Marakatti » Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:03 pm

Hi and welcome :)

They really should work the same way than with PC. Have you tried to copy them from CD to hard disk. If you can attach here one file you can't get running, I'll take a look if I can open it.

Cheers,
Marko
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
Gumbo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 5:33 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Menu disks -help please ;-)

Postby Gumbo » Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:37 pm

Heres one of the MSA files.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Menu disks -help please ;-)

Postby Marakatti » Mon Mar 21, 2011 6:04 pm

Worked very well on both Hatari 1.4 and NoSTalgia 1.42. Are you sure you have correct TOS image and you are not booting from emulated hard disk?
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2311
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Menu disks -help please ;-)

Postby lotek_style » Mon Mar 21, 2011 6:07 pm

Check the compiles sections:

http://no-fragments.atari.org/

:)
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

User avatar
Gumbo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 5:33 pm
Location: Cambridge

Menu disks -help please ;-)

Postby Gumbo » Mon Mar 21, 2011 10:39 pm

Files are on my external hd, which tos should I use? When I try and change any setting the proggy exits (crashes).

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Menu disks -help please ;-)

Postby Marakatti » Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:10 am

TOS 1.2 works for most things. Some early software may require 1.0, while STe-stuff needs TOS 1.62.

Hatari developers visits this forum very often so they can probably help you more with the crashing issues. It might be OS X compatibility issue. I run Hatari 1.4 on Snow Leopard (10.6)

Here's one link to version which runs from 10.5 onwards -> http://jerome.vernet.pagesperso-orange. ... ari-UB.zip
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
Gumbo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 5:33 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Menu disks -help please ;-)

Postby Gumbo » Tue Mar 22, 2011 9:02 am

Awesome, thanks for the info, turns out the older version of Hatari wont run on my iMac i7 os10.6. But the link you sent works like a charm.
I have a whole load of images to load and read, oh the memorys of wasted years.. lol

Just need to find some more crews menus to download ;-)

Cheers Guys..

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Menu disks -help please ;-)

Postby Marakatti » Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:43 pm

Excellent :)

There's plenty of this stuff available at http://planetemu.net/index.php?section=menus&machine=34 for example.
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
Gumbo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 5:33 pm
Location: Cambridge

Menu disks -help please ;-)

Postby Gumbo » Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:31 pm

Tried that link above and it's in some strange language? And the golden Dawn pd menus won't download. I'll keep trying! :-)

User avatar
thenodfather
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 1:19 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Menu disks -help please ;-)

Postby thenodfather » Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:55 pm

Speaking of Menu Disks I have some too, maybe I have some in the list that someone might like.

I have th following:


Automation: A_000 - A_512
Cynix: 1 - 8
D-Bug: 0 - 157, (but 38 are missing according to the folder title)
Flame Of Finland: FOF_002 - FOF_054
Medway Boys: med_001 - med_112
Pompey Pirates: 1 - 114, (but again out of that there are again 38 missing)


I am will share any of these if anyone would like them. Send me a message and we can arrage how best to send them.


Cheers :cheers:
I can't believe I signed up so long ago and have been here so little :( I must become a more active member.......


Social Media

     

Return to “Menu Disks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests