Reporting Errors in GamebaseST

Come and chat to the team working on the huge Atari ST emulator frontend projects

Moderators: SkylineDave, Goldrunner, Moderator Team

User avatar
Goldrunner
Guardian of the PaST
Guardian of the PaST
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Formby, England, UK

Reporting Errors in GamebaseST

Postby Goldrunner » Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:38 pm

If you spot any errors in GamebaseST please use this thread to report them, for example, possibles errors may include:

1: Wrong screenshots for game
2: Incorrect Language shown
3: Incorrect Publisher/Developer/Year, etc
4: Games crashes or does not work at all
5: Game controlls Joystick/Keyboard/Mouse are incorrect
6: The cracking group is wrong
7: The game will (or does not) work in monochrome
8: The games is STE only or can use STE enhancements
9: Spelling mistakes

10: Most importantly, you forgot to add me to the credits list

Many thanks to all those who have so far reported errors :D
Last edited by Goldrunner on Fri Nov 11, 2005 3:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Belgarath
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 1:09 am
Contact:

Postby Belgarath » Thu Nov 10, 2005 5:47 pm

Is there a new copy of the db available? As some errors may already have been fixed.

Here's one to start off

Elvira - Mistress of the Dark and Elvira II - Jaws of Cerberus aren't linked.

I'd use the related link for the game and demo of Elvira as well.

User avatar
Goldrunner
Guardian of the PaST
Guardian of the PaST
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Formby, England, UK

Postby Goldrunner » Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:03 pm

Hi Belgarath

This deals with v1.2b errors as they will no doubt still be present in the latest development version. Except in a very few cases the reports posted here will still be present as I have not had that many reported so far.

In an ideal world I would keep a running log of what has been fixed but time constraints always get in the way. This thread hopefully will be a kinda log for people to see if its been reported or not. It still to early for another release at this point so reports will only come from v1.2b which is 75% of the games and content anyway!

Many thanks for pointing out the errors with the links for Elvira :D

User avatar
Belgarath
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 1:09 am
Contact:

Postby Belgarath » Fri Nov 11, 2005 8:18 pm

1943 > 1943 - The Battle of Midway

3D Pool - 1-2 Players

Devs - Instead of Psygnosis it reads Pygnosis

Alien Storm - should be 1-2 simultaneous

Altered Beast - again 1-2 simultaneous

Ancient Battles - as far as I know is commercial and was published by CCS

Arkanoid II - technically it doesn't actually have II in the title

Arkanoid III - certaintly not a sequel, certaintly not published by imagine, it's just a hack.

Awesome - game has copyright of 1991 (gbst has year set to 1990)

User avatar
Goldrunner
Guardian of the PaST
Guardian of the PaST
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Formby, England, UK

Postby Goldrunner » Sun Nov 13, 2005 12:40 am

Hi Belgarath

Cheers for pointing out the errors which have now been fixed! The links for the Arkanoid games were wrong and have been reworked after you pointed out the errors, so:

Related games
Arkanoid -> Arkanoid - Enhanced -> Arkanoid III

Precursor & Sequal
Arkanoid -> Arkanoid - Revenge of Doh

User avatar
Belgarath
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 1:09 am
Contact:

Postby Belgarath » Sun Nov 13, 2005 12:07 pm

Balance of Power and 1990 Edition - No related link
Beast Busters - should be simultaneous
Blasteroids - again should be simultaneous
Bob Morane's - need linking, amiga only had ocean though so not sure what order they should be in.
Brat - currently set to 0p only
Brides of Dracula - should be simultaneous
Buggy Boy - game comment says it's based on coin-op called buggy speed
Actually the arcade was also called Buggy Boy and in the US Speed Buggy. The Amiga actually has both games so there may be a copy of Speed Buggy out there for the ST somewhere.

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Sun Nov 13, 2005 1:18 pm

I think VROOM and F1 could be linked (or perhaps F1 considered to be a sequel to Vroom)
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Goldrunner
Guardian of the PaST
Guardian of the PaST
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Formby, England, UK

Postby Goldrunner » Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:24 am

Hi Belgarath

Many thanks for the fixes :D Will keep an eye out Speed Buggy which (as you say) may exsist :!:

Hi dave

I see you were your coming from with the connection between F1 and Vroom, F1 does look like it's using a slightly updated Vroom engine. But (as far as I know) they were never marketed this way, maybe some more research is needed on it which I will leave in your capable hands :D

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:06 am

Lemmings series - didn't Oh No More Lemmings come out before Lemmings 2? In which case they are linked in the wrong order

Missile Command (High Res Version) - says it doen't work in ST High, which of course it does

Operation Wulf - spelt wrong, it should be Operation Wolf

Ork - is showing screenshots from Oriental Games

Revenge of the Mutant Camels - I'm guessing ROTMC II is the sequel but its not linked as such

Dizzy series - shouldn't these be linked in some way?
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:44 am

Also I'm pretty sure Starball isn't STE only
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
Goldrunner
Guardian of the PaST
Guardian of the PaST
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Formby, England, UK

Postby Goldrunner » Wed Nov 16, 2005 10:34 am

Hi unseenmenace

Many thanks for reporting the erorrs :D

To be honest I could not work out how to link the Dizzy games or even if they should be linked. Should they all be linked together as simply related or are there some prequals and sequals also? Maybe they should not be related at all since they only share the same character?

Had the same kinda trouble with the two Blinky games since no one knows if one is the sequal!

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11208
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Postby Mug UK » Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:52 am

I don't think (unlike, say, the Tomb Raider games) they're all linked. You're best bet would be to look at the Oliver Twins website and see if they denote if Dizzy x and Dizzy y were sequels, prequels or just games using the same engine.


Oliver Twin's site: http://www.olivertwins.com/


As a suggestion (and mental reminder to Goldrunner), I'm assuming he's a moderator of this part of the forum.

How's about marking each suggestion within a post by a "bug-finder" as "*done*" so that you don't have to keep replying to each post?
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
Goldrunner
Guardian of the PaST
Guardian of the PaST
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Formby, England, UK

Postby Goldrunner » Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:36 pm

Hi Muggy

The games as you say should be unrelated unless a definative link can be found. It is not enough to link games simply because they use the same engine otherwise all the sierra, infocom, maganatic scrolls, etc, would have related links which is just going over the top. Will look at the Oliver Twins website and try and establish which are sequals, precursors or related!

Also will take a look at finding a way to display reported errors!

User avatar
Belgarath
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 1:09 am
Contact:

Postby Belgarath » Wed Nov 16, 2005 3:41 pm

Main Dizzy games in order

Treasure Island Dizzy
Fantasy World Dizzy
Magicland Dizzy
Spellbound Dizzy
Dizzy - Prince of the Yolkfolk
Crystal Kingdom Dizzy
Fantastic Dizzy

(not sure if the last one was on the ST?)

the above games should be linked in that order, spinoffs like fast food and dizzy panic shouldn't be marked related.

User avatar
aktiv8
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1478
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

Postby aktiv8 » Wed Nov 16, 2005 4:00 pm

Belgarath wrote:Main Dizzy games in order

Treasure Island Dizzy
Fantasy World Dizzy
Magicland Dizzy
Spellbound Dizzy
Dizzy - Prince of the Yolkfolk
Crystal Kingdom Dizzy
Fantastic Dizzy

(not sure if the last one was on the ST?)

the above games should be linked in that order, spinoffs like fast food and dizzy panic shouldn't be marked related.


That is indeed the order of the Dizzy games on 16 bits - and no fantastic Dizzy wasn't released on the ST. If anyone wants more info on the Dizzy series then goto http://www.yolkfolk.com
>>> Trust me, I'm a Research Chemist.... <<<

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Sun Dec 04, 2005 12:27 pm

The version of Shadow Of The Beast in GBST appears to be bad. If you go left at the start then after a short while there is a tree with a door in it. As soon as you try and enter the door it crashes. I don't think this is an emulator issue since the Medway Boys crack (menu 87) works fine.
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
Goldrunner
Guardian of the PaST
Guardian of the PaST
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Formby, England, UK

Postby Goldrunner » Sun Dec 04, 2005 1:54 pm

Hi unseenmenace

Nasty one, thanks for letting me know :D Will have to find a different version of the game possibly the Medway Boys crack as you suggest!

User avatar
Goldrunner
Guardian of the PaST
Guardian of the PaST
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Formby, England, UK

Postby Goldrunner » Sun Dec 04, 2005 3:02 pm

Here is another image of Shadoe of the Beast. This one comes from the FOF menu disks and was cracked by the Replicants. Please drop this zip over the other one to replace it, also change cracking group to Replicants and number of trainers to 1.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Sun Dec 04, 2005 3:47 pm

My version of Access (2002) says the database is Access 97 format so I can't edit it. Is there a way to alter it from within GameBase?
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
keili
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Germany, near Leer
Contact:

Postby keili » Sun Dec 04, 2005 4:15 pm

Unseen, it means, that you can't change the look of tables, queries and so on. Correcting the data should be possible.
TI 99/4A, C64, 800XL, 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 1040ST, 1040 STE, Mega ST1, Mega ST2, Mega STe, Apple IIsi

User avatar
Goldrunner
Guardian of the PaST
Guardian of the PaST
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Formby, England, UK

Postby Goldrunner » Sun Dec 04, 2005 4:15 pm

Just right click on any field to change it within GamebaseST :wink:

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Sun Dec 04, 2005 5:25 pm

Sorted, cheers
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Wed Dec 07, 2005 5:07 pm

Turbo Cup thinks it works in High res but it doesn't. The details say it doesn't work in High res but when you play it it says it does and asks you if you want colour or mono.
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
Goldrunner
Guardian of the PaST
Guardian of the PaST
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Formby, England, UK

Postby Goldrunner » Wed Dec 07, 2005 9:54 pm

Fixed, absolutely no idea how that could have happened :oops: Cheers Unseen :thumbs:

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Thu Dec 22, 2005 2:24 pm

Vroom or more specifically the Elite Intro doesn't work right under Steem 3.2 but works under 3.1. The problem is the overscan code doesn't work right and after a while it fails to open the top border so unless you're quick it doesn't respond to any keypresses since the program is overrunning the VBL.
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com


Social Media

     

Return to “GameBaseST & DemoBaseST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest