DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Come and chat to the team working on the huge Atari ST emulator frontend projects

Moderators: SkylineDave, Goldrunner, Moderator Team

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby SkylineDave » Fri Apr 06, 2007 4:18 pm

Well after a total balls-up with v1.2 (after finding that some path information was hard-coded into memory snapshots) I have hopefully fixed the problem and made DBST functional again. It has been successfully tested on 5 different systems. A copy of STeem is included in the archive which is used solely by DBST so it won't interfere with any other copy of STeem you may use. There are also [other] files already included [cough]. There is also no need for setting up, just unzip the downloaded file and hit DemoBase.exe. There are also 500 more demoscreens in this release :D
Let me know how you get on.


http://dbst2.mysite.orange.co.uk/index.htm
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
megar
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 8:33 am
Location: East of France
Contact:

Postby megar » Fri Apr 06, 2007 6:00 pm

Yeah at last !

Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome Demobase ST ! Working version !

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:14 pm

ive just added a nice 'favourite demos' functionality to the front-end, where you can tick your favourite demos from the main list, and access them from a seperate screen - each demo you add has an animated screenshot. :D you'll have to wait for the first patch to come out before you can have it tho ;) but with 106 new screens already after the main release that shouldn't take too long
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby jvas » Tue Apr 10, 2007 11:36 am

I got the following screen when I tried to start it. (XPsp2, PIV 1.6, 1GB memory)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2191
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby Zorro 2 » Tue Apr 10, 2007 11:51 am

jvas wrote:I got the following screen when I tried to start it. (XPsp2, PIV 1.6, 1GB memory)

I've the same pbl, Dave send me this adress : http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=0856EACB-4362-4B0D-8EDD-AAB15C5E04F5&displaylang=en to download and install .NET framework on your PC.
Member of NoExtra Team

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby jvas » Tue Apr 10, 2007 11:57 am

Thanks, but thank you, not. I've tried and uninstalled the NET framework. I think I wont use DemoBaseST if it requires the NET framework.

Zorro 2 wrote:
jvas wrote:I got the following screen when I tried to start it. (XPsp2, PIV 1.6, 1GB memory)

I've the same pbl, Dave send me this adress : http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=0856EACB-4362-4B0D-8EDD-AAB15C5E04F5&displaylang=en to download and install .NET framework on your PC.

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby SkylineDave » Tue Apr 10, 2007 12:06 pm

jvas wrote:I think I wont use DemoBaseST if it requires the NET framework.


did you have problems with .NET then? as far as i know its installed as standard with Windows PCs nowadays. yes DBST does require .NET to work. sorry to hear you had a problem.

Zorro did that .NET download work for you?
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby jvas » Tue Apr 10, 2007 12:12 pm

Except I don't like it I have no problem with it.
With windows XP it is not in the "standard" installation.
I'll resist .NET as long as I can. (I use only those microsoft products that are necessary for my work -> for feeding my family) But this is OFF-TOPIC.


SkylineDave wrote:
jvas wrote:I think I wont use DemoBaseST if it requires the NET framework.


did you have problems with .NET then? as far as i know its installed as standard with Windows PCs nowadays. yes DBST does require .NET to work. sorry to hear you had a problem.

Zorro did that .NET download work for you?

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2191
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby Zorro 2 » Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:18 am

SkylineDave wrote:Zorro did that .NET download work for you?

Now it works fine ;)

I see some problems with the last version like to see pictures galerie. I return towards you as soon as I can possible.
Member of NoExtra Team

User avatar
megar
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 8:33 am
Location: East of France
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby megar » Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:15 am

jvas wrote:Except I don't like it I have no problem with it.
With windows XP it is not in the "standard" installation.
I'll resist .NET as long as I can. (I use only those microsoft products that are necessary for my work -> for feeding my family) But this is OFF-TOPIC.


So You have two choices:
1/ Do not use DBST, and do not complain about it
2/ Make you own frontend to launch the demos.

Sorry, but you really can't ask the maker of this great tool (SkylineDave) to recode his whole program in a way that please you, especially after saying that you don't use it, because you "don't like" the engine the frontend is written in.

.Net framework will be used in more and more applications. There is a linux version of the framework, and it is great to code. The fact that you don't like it is irrevelant and insulting for SkylineDave.

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby SkylineDave » Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:42 am

thanks for the support Megar. i didnt take offence from what Jvas wrote, although he did seem a little blunt in the way he said it. You are right however that .NET is becoming more and more common in software development, it isnt something thats going to go away, and there are many many software vacancies for people to migrate software to .NET (i should know as thats something im trying to get into at the moment)

megar wrote:So You have two choices:
1/ Do not use DBST, and do not complain about it
2/ Make you own frontend to launch the demos.

Sorry, but you really can't ask the maker of this great tool (SkylineDave) to recode his whole program in a way that please you, especially after saying that you don't use it, because you "don't like" the engine the frontend is written in.

.Net framework will be used in more and more applications. There is a linux version of the framework, and it is great to code. The fact that you don't like it is irrevelant and insulting for SkylineDave.
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Tomchi
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: Au bord de la rivière
Contact:

Postby Tomchi » Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:06 pm

I did download and install everything required for demobase st to work and I'm happy of it.

This would be great to have a "my favorite screens" selection, as it's hard to remember a screen in this long list of demos ....

Thanks skylineDave for that tool. I like the random button that brings me to a screen I wouldn't give a look by myself.


:cheers: Fred. Je suis toujours sur mon projet même si ça prend plus de temps que prevu ;)
There's no way to happiness, happiness is the way ...
click
Noextra

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:33 pm

Tomchi wrote:I did download and install everything required for demobase st to work and I'm happy of it.

This would be great to have a "my favorite screens" selection, as it's hard to remember a screen in this long list of demos ....

Thanks skylineDave for that tool. I like the random button that brings me to a screen I wouldn't give a look by myself.


:cheers: Fred. Je suis toujours sur mon projet même si ça prend plus de temps que prevu ;)


thanks for your kind comments. the first patch will be released soon - I'm going to release it when I reach 2000 screens, and the updated front-end with the 'favourites' screen will be included ;) stay tuned!
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2191
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Postby Zorro 2 » Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:11 am

Tomchi wrote::cheers: Fred. Je suis toujours sur mon projet même si ça prend plus de temps que prevu ;)

Hi Tom,

Nice to see a lot on this forum, give me some news by PM !
Member of NoExtra Team

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Fri Apr 13, 2007 12:22 pm

just to tease you all even more, the 'Megademo Browser' feature of DBST is now fully functional. this allows you to select a megademo (Cuddly Demos for example) and then sit back and watch it all play out by itself - going through each demoscreen in a slideshow.

it will play the intro(s), and then go to the main menu, and then go through each screen in the megademo (with the option of playing the loading screen beforehand, and also the option of returning to the main menu afterwards) - finishing off with the hidden screens and finally the reset screen.

you select how long in seconds you want each screen to play for. loading screens and main menus will play for between 4-6 seconds randomly.

if there are multiple main menus (Phaleon Gigademo for example) then it will choose a random one each time!
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
megar
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 8:33 am
Location: East of France
Contact:

Postby megar » Fri Apr 13, 2007 12:55 pm

Sounds awesome !

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Fri Apr 13, 2007 3:17 pm

ive now added the functionality so you can browse by coders too, so you can select, say "M.J.J.-Prod" ;) or "The Black Cats", and sit back while each of their demoscreens runs for the time you specify.

...or you can just click 'random' and have it play a screen randomly for the time you specify before going onto the next one. :)
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Sat Apr 14, 2007 1:19 pm

AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Greyfox™
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 341
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:27 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby Greyfox™ » Thu Jul 24, 2008 1:32 pm

this is a great project...and needs to be covered..as SkylineDave has..in which I wish to thank you for all your hard work...I emailed you a a new little banner some time ago now..which you never used..lol...but neither here or there...gr8 stuff...

Greyfox™
↓↓Click Banner to See More↓↓
Image
-== Making Atari great once more ==-

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby SkylineDave » Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:58 pm

Greyfox™ wrote:this is a great project...and needs to be covered..as SkylineDave has..in which I wish to thank you for all your hard work...I emailed you a a new little banner some time ago now..which you never used..lol...but neither here or there...gr8 stuff...

Greyfox™


thanks for the comments :) i didnt get a banner though mate, at least i cant remember getting one :? where did you send it?
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Greyfox™
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 341
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:27 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby Greyfox™ » Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:37 pm

Dam..it mustn't of gotten delivered...rubbishly outlook....anyways..better late than never...enjoy it if you use it...I made it and wanted tyo contribute to the brilliant work you have done...so enjoy ;)

Greyfox™
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
↓↓Click Banner to See More↓↓
Image
-== Making Atari great once more ==-

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby SkylineDave » Fri Jul 25, 2008 6:12 pm

:) thanks for your logo Greyfox - i'm sure i'll use it in the near future!
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Greyfox™
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 341
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:27 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby Greyfox™ » Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:25 pm

SkylineDave wrote::) thanks for your logo Greyfox - i'm sure i'll use it in the near future!


glad you liked it....hope it fits...it's the same px height & width of your site banner ;)

Greyfox™
↓↓Click Banner to See More↓↓
Image
-== Making Atari great once more ==-

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby SkylineDave » Wed Nov 12, 2008 2:05 pm

Greyfox™ wrote:
SkylineDave wrote::) thanks for your logo Greyfox - i'm sure i'll use it in the near future!


glad you liked it....hope it fits...it's the same px height & width of your site banner ;)

Greyfox™


hey, ive put it on the web site and it will be used on the new front-end too :cheers:
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1951
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W
Contact:

Re: DemoBaseST v1.75 now online!

Postby Desty » Wed Nov 12, 2008 2:47 pm

Great-looking logo! :thumbs:
tá'n poc ar buile!


Social Media

     

Return to “GameBaseST & DemoBaseST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest