DemoBaseST v1.21 now online!

Come and chat to the team working on the huge Atari ST emulator frontend projects

Moderators: SkylineDave, Goldrunner, Moderator Team

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

DemoBaseST v1.21 now online!

Postby SkylineDave » Wed Feb 28, 2007 6:28 pm

After months of searching for someone to host the files, Megar has very kindly offered to help out. So now, finally, you can download the whole of DBST so far!

http://dbst2.mysite.orange.co.uk/index.htm

Keep an eye out for more screens to come! ;)
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1310
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Postby Marakatti » Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:08 pm

Brilliant news! Keep up the good work :)
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:11 pm

I say! :D
That's a damned good thing old boy :wink:
Just out of curiosity, does it require normal demo disk images or have the demos been ripped like some of the games in GBST??

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:43 pm

RetroGamerUK wrote:I say! :D
That's a damned good thing old boy :wink:
Just out of curiosity, does it require normal demo disk images or have the demos been ripped like some of the games in GBST??


no doesnt require the disk images at all - they are all memory snapshots. :D
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:45 pm

A cunning plan indeed my good man :o, and is the emulator integral to the frontend or does one require an external emulator, and if so, does it need to be a specific version? :)

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:57 pm

RetroGamerUK wrote:A cunning plan indeed my good man :o, and is the emulator integral to the frontend or does one require an external emulator, and if so, does it need to be a specific version? :)

lol its all in the readme file RG - requires STeem but its only been tested with v3.2
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
aktiv8
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1478
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

Postby aktiv8 » Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:40 pm

Lovely work...

Glad to see this is hosted at last - congrats to all involved :)
>>> Trust me, I'm a Research Chemist.... <<<

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2315
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby christos » Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:05 pm

I agree, it' s great that Demobase is hosted and thanks to megar and you, but how do you install it?
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:40 pm

christos wrote:I agree, it' s great that Demobase is hosted and thanks to megar and you, but how do you install it?


sorry ive not been very forthright with documentation! :oops:
it doesnt need installing as such. you just need to unzip the three zip files you downloaded into a directory of your choice - probably something like DBST. then double-click on the .EXE file. like I say in the readme file, some PC's wont have a certain .DLL installed but I'll be looking into that shortly. let me know how you get on.

EDIT: ive updated the readme.txt file on the website so it's a little more helpful!
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2315
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby christos » Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:58 pm

I figured it would be like that! I get an error whenever I try to run a demo.. Maybe STEEM hasn't been installed properly. I' ll look into it. Thanks
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Sat Mar 03, 2007 3:33 pm

christos wrote:I figured it would be like that! I get an error whenever I try to run a demo.. Maybe STEEM hasn't been installed properly. I' ll look into it. Thanks


try changing the text box in the bottom-left of the frontend - it should be pointing to your STeem directory. i know its a little basic for the time being. :oops:
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2315
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby christos » Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:18 pm

OK, I know what the problem is. Firstly, I couldn't find the steem directory setting because you' ve kind of hardcoded it for a resolution higher than mine (1024x768). Secondly it's looking for the demos in a predetermined path. C:\Games\GameBaseST\DemoBaseST\screens\
Thank you for your support.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:24 pm

christos wrote:OK, I know what the problem is. Firstly, I couldn't find the steem directory setting because you' ve kind of hardcoded it for a resolution higher than mine (1024x768). Secondly it's looking for the demos in a predetermined path. C:\Games\GameBaseST\DemoBaseST\screens\
Thank you for your support.


ok hope youve got it working now. in the next release of DBST i'll try to make the window resizable ;)
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Mon Mar 12, 2007 8:58 am

i took DBST to a friend of mine's yesterday and installed it on his machine. it was only then that a couple of problems appeared concerning paths and TOS - this is the first time ive tested DBST on someone else's machine and so it looks like ive got a little bit of bug fixing to do.
i'll post up with progress made :roll:
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:27 pm

well as soon as it went up it came down again. :(
i need to figure out how to edit certain bytes of a memory snapshot before i can make DBST available again. it turns out that the exact TOS that was used (i.e. the directory on my own PC) is embedded in the memory snapshot and needs to be edited on-the-fly by my front-end. i'm just waiting for a STeem author to reply to a question of mine.
this should only be a minor delay. but to tease you further i shall be releasing everything done so far - including the latest version of the front-end and version 1.51 of the archive ;)
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:43 am

well there's some good news - it half-works. as long as your TOS path name is less than 35 characters long then it should be fine! this will suit most people's PCs im sure:

eg.
c:\games\atari st\steem\tos\ <-28 chars

i'll keep looking into how to cope with any path name, but i wont waste too much time over it. i'd rather spend the time adding more screens ;) speaking of which...
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2191
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Postby Zorro 2 » Sat Mar 24, 2007 8:32 pm

Hello mister SkylineDave,

It's a good idea !

But I want to use your windows prog, where I can download it ?
Member of NoExtra Team

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Postby SkylineDave » Sun Mar 25, 2007 3:49 pm

Zorro 2 wrote:Hello mister SkylineDave,

It's a good idea !

But I want to use your windows prog, where I can download it ?


its just being finalised to be PC-independant and it will be downloadable from the DBST web site shortly.
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!


Social Media

     

Return to “GameBaseST & DemoBaseST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest