Sold! Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Do you need some hardware and/or software? Do you want to clear out the attic? Post your classified ads here. Please use the sub forum if you are posting links to items you've found on ebay.

Moderators: Mug UK, Adrenalin, Moderator Team

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Sold! Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby Greenious » Wed Mar 20, 2019 6:54 pm

Ok, I teased about it in my previous for sale post.

Here it is, the (slightly dysfunctional) Falcon motherboard...

The story:
This motherboard used to sit in a C-Lab MK-X, a friend of mine owned it but couldn't make it work with HDD-recording, despite trying various fixes.
So he ended up finding another motherboard, and talked me into exchanging it for him for the price of a pizza. (I know, I'm cheap...)

After the deed was done, he gave me his old motherboard, and I always intended to use it for a towerbuild or something, but I have realized it will not happen.

I just gave it a testspin, it boots fine.

So here it is for sale, you can find pics of it at my dropbox, along with some other stuff I'm selling.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/h561naizsea0 ... pBk9a?dl=0

It got TOS 4.04, and the internal SCSI resistors are exchanged for pins, for an internal SCSI adaptor, and the audo outputs have been removed to accommodate the MK-X audio outputs...

It's missing RAM. You will need to restore the audio outputs, or use a board similar to the one c-lab m-x used, aswell as replacing the RTC, the bottom metal shield is there, but the top part, aswell as case, is obviously missing. I do believe I have the audio parts I removed from the replacement mobo. If I can find them, I'll include them.

Basically, RAM, floppy, keyboard and power will be needed to get this bird flying again.

I'm selling it as-is, it is working, and obviously audio, rtc needs attention, but does have something slightly off that shows under load (HDD recording), this may not be a problem for a non-musician, but I want to make certain that whoever buys this, is aware of it.

Price idea €500, but feel free to give me offers...
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2726
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby alexh » Thu Mar 21, 2019 8:00 am

Greenious wrote:feel free to give me offers...

Take your pick :)

https://www.dominos.se/

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby Greenious » Thu Mar 21, 2019 9:40 am

Haha, didn't know Dominos opened in sweden, but alas, it's closest restaurant is like 500km from Stockholm...
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby Greenious » Mon Apr 01, 2019 3:00 pm

Well, finally found my 1mb F030 ram board, aswell as the audio in/output components removed from the replacement mobo, aswell as the RFunit.

These are included with the mobo.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby Greenious » Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:53 pm

Ok, have checked on shipping, and after looking at some different countries, generally speaking, it's €45 outside EU, €33 within EU.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby leech » Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:15 pm

Whoa, did your camera get cataracts? :P

Ha, I'm tempted to get the motherboard from you, seems like it'd slide just right into my Wizztronics rack mount case, then I could put my other falcon back together without the CT60e/SuperVidel and have that in the wizztronics case. Wouldn't have to do the internal SCSI for it...
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby Greenious » Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:25 pm

Yeah, my camera on my phone has been broken for a while, and my other cameras are lent out to my parents.

Been too lazy to fix it, or even change to my new phone that I got here... lol but it will happen one of these days.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12680
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby wongck » Tue Apr 23, 2019 11:39 pm

Greenious wrote:Been too lazy to fix it, or even change to my new phone that I got here... lol but it will happen one of these days.

You mean as in putting it up for sale like the Falc ? :lol: LOL
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby leech » Wed Apr 24, 2019 12:19 am

wongck wrote:
Greenious wrote:Been too lazy to fix it, or even change to my new phone that I got here... lol but it will happen one of these days.

You mean as in putting it up for sale like the Falc ? :lol: LOL

Ha, I kind of want that motherboard, but at the same time don't think I should hog them (it'd be my second) because I'd rather some developer get a hold of one and code something for it, which I eventually plan on doing, but I've been planning on doing some things for a long time, but never get around to them ha.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby Greenious » Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:22 am

leech wrote:Ha, I kind of want that motherboard, but at the same time don't think I should hog them (it'd be my second) because I'd rather some developer get a hold of one and code something for it, which I eventually plan on doing, but I've been planning on doing some things for a long time, but never get around to them ha.


I think you should get it, allowing yourself a standard F030 and an accelerated one is not hogging. And those sw developers don't know the difference between nvram and a ct60 anyway, you'd be doing them a service getting a mobo that needs a little bit of love. lol

Besides, I am hogging, I got 4 falcons besides this mobo. 2 more to sell, once I get around to it..
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

ctirad
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 278
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby ctirad » Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:11 pm

Well, my offer is 400€ total with the shipping to Prague, EU included.

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby Greenious » Thu Apr 25, 2019 9:13 pm

ctirad wrote:Well, my offer is 400€ total with the shipping to Prague, EU included.


I have a few interested I'm talking to, noone has yet put a firm offer onthe table, but I'll consider it, even though it is at the low end of what I was hoping for.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby soviet9922 » Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:35 pm

Man, falcon prices really skyrocketed 500 Pound a bare semiworking motherboard, will have to continue dreaming about owning one :'(

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby Greenious » Fri Apr 26, 2019 7:59 am

soviet9922 wrote:Man, falcon prices really skyrocketed 500 Pound a bare semiworking motherboard, will have to continue dreaming about owning one :'(


Adjusted for inflation, Falcons are still cheaper than the day they were released, still cheaper than a decent PC, much more fun, and unlike a PC it has a great second hand value.

Not that I would call it an investmet, but retrocomputing in general is dirt cheap today as you generally get your money back if you get tired of your gear, unlike most other things in life.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12680
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby wongck » Fri Apr 26, 2019 9:09 am

according to the inflation calculator USD500 in 1994 is USD857 in 2019.
IIRC I paid USD400 for my Falc in 1997 (or thereabouts I guess) which is USD633 equivalent now.
Can't even get an Alienware gaming notebook.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby Greenious » Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:34 am

Falcon was released 1992, and I got one of the first, simplest edition with 1mb ram and no HDD. I think the official recommended price was $799, but with import taxes etc I paid $1000 or thereabout.

$799 in 1992 is the equivalent of $1447 today.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12680
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby wongck » Fri Apr 26, 2019 1:54 pm

Yup, guess this is more of another example of early adopters paying more, as usual.

So today's Falcon is absolutely cheaper.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Sold! Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby Greenious » Fri May 03, 2019 6:21 am

It is now sold. Thank you for your interest,
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: FS: Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby leech » Fri May 03, 2019 6:23 am

wongck wrote:Yup, guess this is more of another example of early adopters paying more, as usual.

So today's Falcon is absolutely cheaper.

Speaking of early adopters, that's what VR still seems to be like 3 years later.

Congrats on the sale! The aforementioned VR is one of the reasons I couldn't justify getting this for myself :P
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12680
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Sold! Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby wongck » Fri May 03, 2019 11:51 am

VR is so passé, it now all AR.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Sold! Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby leech » Fri May 03, 2019 2:22 pm

wongck wrote:VR is so passé, it now all AR.

Ha, AR doesn't let me be a spaceship pilot, roaming the galaxy looking for money. Granted I've thought many times that if we lived in an era where we got to fly spaceships everywhere, it'd literally be like playing that Euro Truck Simulator, with bandits.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12680
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Sold! Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby wongck » Sat May 04, 2019 12:59 am

leech wrote:
wongck wrote:VR is so passé, it now all AR.

Ha, AR doesn't let me be a spaceship pilot, roaming the galaxy looking for money. Granted I've thought many times that if we lived in an era where we got to fly spaceships everywhere, it'd literally be like playing that Euro Truck Simulator, with bandits.


You are definitely correct about VR letting you captain a space craft. VR is just great for games.
LOL... I hope your dream job is not driving a truck !
Yeah great game, views and all, just add motion platform for going up & down bridges & mountains especially in the Alps area.
You should drive from North Ireland to Ireland before Brexit kicks in.... well if ETS2 adds it..... mod time.

But AR is for real-world applications - medical, buildings, design, tourism and of course the world–renowned game.
May be Jaq Missile command would have made it if more VR sets are around, but still pale in comparison to the thousands if not millions using VR on their cheap handset running around amok ignoring other pedestrian, personal mobility device and even cars, while swiping on their tiny screens.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Sold! Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby leech » Sat May 04, 2019 2:59 pm

I think AR will really kick off, once we can get sunglasses or contact lenses that they can feed advertisements to. That way no matter where you look, Google will find you and sell advertising space.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12680
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Sold! Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby wongck » Sat May 04, 2019 3:35 pm

Looks like Alibaba or 10¢ may get there first.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Sold! Falcon030 Motherboard, 99% working...

Postby Rustynutt » Sun May 12, 2019 2:23 am

Greenious wrote:It is now sold. Thank you for your interest,


I didn't put two and two together :)


Social Media

     

Return to “For sale / Wanted”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests