Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Do you need some hardware and/or software? Do you want to clear out the attic? Post your classified ads here. Please use the sub forum if you are posting links to items you've found on ebay.

Moderators: Mug UK, Adrenalin, Moderator Team

neil_atari
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:51 pm

Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby neil_atari » Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:35 am

I have a Yamaha CBX D5 that I have owned for about 2 years. In that time I have been trying to find the version of Cubase Audio that was wriiten for use with the CBX D5 and had no luck what so ever. Just wondered if anybody could help me out!

Thanks,
Neil

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1722
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:56 pm

fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

neil_atari
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:51 pm

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby neil_atari » Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:37 pm

Hi,

Thank you I was aware of this but this just keeps bombing out when the program is launched. Any other ideas?

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1722
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby frank.lukas » Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:44 am

Cubase CBX run only on a Atari TT Computer !
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

neil_atari
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:51 pm

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby neil_atari » Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:11 pm

In the original manual for the Yamaha CBX-D5 it states that it works with Atari TT and Atari ST/STE. Also there is a readme file that states it runs on atari ST/STE and Falcon? any more ideas?

Thanks

neil_atari
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:51 pm

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby neil_atari » Sat Apr 30, 2011 3:25 pm

In the CBX D5 manual it states that it runs on Atari TT and Atari ST/STE (no mention of Falcon as this was not yet released). Also in the readme file contained within the CBX download from the Steinberg link above states that it runs on TT, Falcon, ST/STE? Any further help or ideas?

Thanks,
Neil

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby Shredder11 » Wed Oct 19, 2011 1:29 pm

Just posted here an alternative download but I have not tried it yet:

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=21898&p=194934#p194934

docs
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby docs » Sat Mar 31, 2012 9:51 pm

Here you will find the 1.0.2 version. It was for me VERY difficult to find this version (5 years ago):
http://doyeuxyvan.free.fr/cubase/CAFCBXD5/

The 1.1 version on Steinberg FTP is definitely CORRUPTED.

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby Shredder11 » Sat Mar 31, 2012 11:38 pm

Thanks for this as the more working versions the better. Actually just a few days ago a member on here managed to get one particular v1.1 to work with his Atari TT 030 machine, but it requires a red dongle which fortunately I have. I'm going to have a try myself this coming week on a Atari Mega STE, and if that proves tricky I might try my Falcon 030.

docs
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby docs » Sun Apr 01, 2012 9:02 am

I tried v1.1 (FTP Steinberg) on ST and Falcon and no result.

All cubase .prg files are packed with PFX Packer and if you unpack v1.1 .prg file there is no change.

If anyone can provide a working v1.1 version, it would be GREAT.

I remember that also DMAKER is corrupted on FTP Steinberg.

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby Shredder11 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 9:54 am

Here you go and remember you need a Cubase red dongle cartridge. I hope the person on here does not mind me quoting a portion of his PM to me, because the information may help you in setting things up; he was using a TT 030 in this scenario but most of it is still relevant. Anyway have fun and I hope it works for you!

I ended up formatting/patitioning/installing hddriver on my internal 512mb Kingston CF card housed in an iodata idsc21-a adapter with my registered version of hddriver 8.21.
I used an external scsi enclosure with a 1 gb seagate scsi drive formatted with hddriver 8.21 but then partitioned with the scsi tool supplied with cubase cbx. It defaulted to 4 partitions of 256mb. The CBX manual states that 256mb is enough to record 25 mins of stereo recording.

I then just followed the connections in the CBX manual for wiring it all up setting the scsi id on the CBX to 6, and the host switch to midi.

Then i powered on the scsi devices (the CBX and the external scsi drive), followed by the TT. I then booted cubase cbx and it fired up without errors. I am now able to go into my audio hardware settings in cubase and change settings on the CBX no worries. I tried a small audio recording and it works absolutely great!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

docs
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby docs » Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:52 am

UNBELIEVABLE! :o Your Cubase Audio v1.1 for CBX-D5 works!

I launched the program on my Falcon 030 with my red dongle. It shows Cubase Audio v1.1 (Steinberg (c) 1989-1996). You can find in Audio menu the D5 "pool" and "Digital FX".

CBXD5 Features:
http://usa.yamaha.com/products/live_sou ... mode=model

cyberish
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:18 pm

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby cyberish » Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:39 pm

Hi!

cool news! - I'm on the way to hook it up too! On which Atari do you finally use your Yamaha CBX D5?
best, raphael

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby Shredder11 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:13 pm

So far we have two people, one with a TT 030 and the other a Falcon 030.

docs
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby docs » Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:10 pm

If you look at README.TXT (in the buggy Steinberg FTP version 1.1 package), you will read "Cubase Audio ST" and ST/STe/TT/Falcon configuration.

I suppose that you will need 2MB minimal memory on ST, maybe 4MB. (The unpacked .PRG file is about 800KB)

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby Shredder11 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 6:13 pm

Yes 4MB is definitely needed to run Cubase Audio on a STE and Falcon 030, infact for any machine I guess. Apparently 4MB on the Falcon 030 runs Cubase Audio faster than if you have 14MB. My 14MB boards have a switch to select 4MB or 14MB operation.

docs
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby docs » Sun Apr 01, 2012 7:52 pm

I compared the two versions (correct & buggy) of CUBASE_A.PRG which have the same 533 736 bytes size.

The files differ from 0x5C000 to end.

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby Mal7921 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 9:52 pm

Shredder11 wrote:Yes 4MB is definitely needed to run Cubase Audio on a STE and Falcon 030, infact for any machine I guess. Apparently 4MB on the Falcon 030 runs Cubase Audio faster than if you have 14MB. My 14MB boards have a switch to select 4MB or 14MB operation.


That is only true with certain memory upgrades, especially the official Atari 14MB upgrade, the ones with a single 16MB Simm on a board tend to be better (depending on the Simm).

The stock Atari 14MB board was pretty crap really as the board design goes, I've seen one and seen it in use on a Falcon, and it's not just Cubase audio that slows down, MultiTOS ain't that cracky on it either!

The stock Atari board is good from a collectors point of view, so long as its in an anti-static bag, sealed and never used!
Last edited by Mal7921 on Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby Shredder11 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 10:34 pm

I had a Atari 14MB board and later sold it. I did not really have it long enough to notice the speed of it, as I then bought two Bernd Thomas 14MB black boards with SIEMENS 60ns chips on at my request. They also fit straight into the Falcon without the need for any modification, although I think I placed some cardboard to prevent the board touching the metal motherboard shielding.

http://www.atariage.com/forums/topic/167006-new-14mb-falcon-memory-boards/page__p__2063957#entry2063957

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby Dal » Sun Mar 24, 2013 11:17 pm

I'll be trying this on a standard STE this week. I'll post back my results. :)
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby Shredder11 » Mon Mar 25, 2013 12:21 am

Oooh look forward to that! :cheers:

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby Dal » Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:36 pm

CBX arrived today however after having a quick look at the instruction sheet that comes with it, I don't think I will be able to test it any time soon. It appears that the CBX needs to be on a SCSI chain with a Hard drive like this:

ATARI----SCSI INTERFACE----HARD DISK----CBX

As I don't have a DMA to SCSI interface, I can't really test it. :(
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby Dal » Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:04 am

I ordered a SCSI interface from http://shop.inventronik.de/store Was also tempted to buy the Gigafile, I'll get it next month out of my bonus.

I have SCSI drives here so should be up and running with the CBX soon.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

INSPECTOR77
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:28 pm

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby INSPECTOR77 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:52 am

Dal wrote:I ordered a SCSI interface from http://shop.inventronik.de/store Was also tempted to buy the Gigafile, I'll get it next month out of my bonus.

I have SCSI drives here so should be up and running with the CBX soon.


Hello Dal, did you test the atari-scsi interface with cubase audio??

regards
-2 Atari STE 4 ram
-Atari Stfm 1 ram

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase Audio CBX and Yamaha CBX

Postby Dal » Wed Apr 17, 2013 5:11 pm

Wolfgang wanted to send it with the very latest firmware for me so I decided to wait until it was released. The board has been shipped and should be with me any time now.

So the short answer is: No - not yet.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's


Social Media

     

Return to “For sale / Wanted”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests