Turrican - Special Edition

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Turrican - Special Edition

Postby unseenmenace » Wed Apr 20, 2005 5:16 pm

Here are some of the tweaked graphics I made up as examples for a Turrican revamp.
The example screenshot is actually the early stages of coding with working scrollable STE colour rasters.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by unseenmenace on Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
manicx
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby manicx » Tue Apr 26, 2005 6:58 am

This is excellent mate. Excellent...
Image

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Tue Apr 26, 2005 10:21 am

Does anyone have an STE TFMX player (binary or source)? I only want this for the title, highscore and game ending musics so I could use an ST(FM)/PSG routine if it came to it but it would be nice to have 4 x 8-bit 50KHz stereo.

For the in-game musics I intend to write a custom music routine using 1 SIDvoice, 2 normal PSG voices and 2 of the STE DMA channels for percussion (leaving the other 2 for sound effects). The idea is to give pretty good quality sound with as little CPU usage as possible. To that end all digi-drums and sound effects will be fixed frequency (12.5 or 25KHz) so the DMA hardware does all the work.
Last edited by unseenmenace on Tue Apr 26, 2005 10:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2730
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Postby alexh » Tue Apr 26, 2005 10:50 am

I have one, it was written by Grazey of PHF, the souce code is on one of the Zak hacks. Sounds a bit gritty but hey. It should play Jochen Hippels (four channel?) rendition of the Turrican II intro.

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Tue Apr 26, 2005 11:00 am

Cheers, I'll have a look through the GZH's.
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
NiceGuyUK
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 580
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 1:03 pm
Location: Kent, England
Contact:

Postby NiceGuyUK » Tue Apr 26, 2005 1:43 pm

Also got a 4-chan chipmod of it by Pink/Abyss if its any use at all

EDIT: ah, my mistake, its the end tune not the title
Also known as Big Boss Man of Demografica

User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2143
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Postby ST Graveyard » Tue Apr 26, 2005 9:54 pm

Unseen, I've just seen this post. the graphics look really good. Do you already have a version with paralax scrolling and the stuff you talked about. Could you post more info about this project? I'm very interested in seeing more of it. If I can help, let me know.

This is so exciting!

I see the background colors are optimized. Did you know the amiga version has a smaller version of the lower border (with the weapon and power info)?

cheers,
Maarten
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Wed Apr 27, 2005 6:27 am

ST Graveyard wrote:Unseen, I've just seen this post. the graphics look really good. Do you already have a version with paralax scrolling and the stuff you talked about. Could you post more info about this project? I'm very interested in seeing more of it. If I can help, let me know.

This project is only just started from a programming point of view. At present it is just a sample screen with 4096 colour ratsters that can be moved with the joystick and a palette split for the status panel.

ST Graveyard wrote:I see the background colors are optimized. Did you know the amiga version has a smaller version of the lower border (with the weapon and power info)?

The Amiga version had some of the status info superimposed onto the top of the playfield with a smaller panel at the bottom. They changed this on the ST version presumably to make the playfield a bit smaller for speed reasons.

Image Image
ST version of Turrican II

Image Image
Amiga version or Turrican II

Image Image
Turrican - Special Edition (however finished version will feature overscan)
Last edited by unseenmenace on Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Postby Gryzor » Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am

This. Is. So. Cool.
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2143
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Postby ST Graveyard » Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:48 am

Unseen,

That Special Edition version looks even better than the Amiga version 8O

Keep me posted on this pleez ... Turrican 2 was one of my all time favorites ...

I wanna help with this in the little free time I have ... Maybe I can come up with designs for the new levels? Will new graphics be created for this, or will sprites of the first and second game be used?

Cheers,
Grave
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:06 am

The same title screen, main sprite, status panel and power up graphics will be used throughout and Turrican I and II enemies and scenery used in the equivalent levels but I would like new scenery and baddies for the third stage. I also want to add a new gametype to the third stage in keeping with I and II's jet pack and spaceship levels. Maybe a ground based vehicular level?
With the help of hardware scrolling and blitter sprites I hope to get it to run at 50fps but we'll see how big a playfield I can manage as ideally I want at least 320x200 just for the playfield and then the status panel in the bottom border.
The idea is to have a virtual screen of about 2 x 2 screens and use hardware scrolling to move around it drawing what will be the next screen on the side your moving away from and flipping back to the opposite side when you reach the egde of the virtual screen. I hope that makes sense.
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2143
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Postby ST Graveyard » Wed Apr 27, 2005 1:27 pm

It sounds exciting. How long would it actually take for you to code such a project? Wouldn't it take ages? Are you coding from scratch? Or do you have the original source or something?
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Wed Apr 27, 2005 2:20 pm

To be honest the game engine coding initially should be pretty straight forward and I may get a playable level with just main sprite done in a few weeks. The real time will be spent ripping/converting graphics and music, making up the level maps and optimising the code. How long it all takes depends on lots of things but obviously any help I get will make it quicker :)
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

punkrulesok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:34 pm

Postby punkrulesok » Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:10 pm

This looks fantasic :D .. And really, what should have been done back in the day to show off the STE more ...

Let me know if I can help :)

User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2143
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Postby ST Graveyard » Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:27 pm

Unseen,

A few years back I did some sketches of monsters and stuff ... Maybe these could be used in a new, dark level for Turrican. I would love to see them come alive!

I would like to create a level where Turrican has to go up. A bit like in nebulous. Just go up, higher and higher ... Ghasly monster fly past, at the bottom there is a pool ... sperm like creatures make turricans life miserable (one of my sketches) and at the top of the level we have "The Machine" ... But this time he looks different ... Monstrous ...

what do you think?

Turrican 2 already had a dark, giger inspired alien level .... Why not create a doomy level now?

Cheers,
Grave
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Thu Apr 28, 2005 8:39 am

ST Graveyard wrote:Unseen,

A few years back I did some sketches of monsters and stuff ... Maybe these could be used in a new, dark level for Turrican. I would love to see them come alive!

I would like to create a level where Turrican has to go up. A bit like in nebulous. Just go up, higher and higher ... Ghasly monster fly past, at the bottom there is a pool ... sperm like creatures make turricans life miserable (one of my sketches) and at the top of the level we have "The Machine" ... But this time he looks different ... Monstrous ...

what do you think?

Turrican 2 already had a dark, giger inspired alien level .... Why not create a doomy level now?

Cheers,
Grave

Sounds cool m8, you any good at pixellating your sketches? If not all budding artists apply here :) I will send a pic with the colour palette needed in Degas format to anyone that wants to have a go. There are five colours that can be chosen to suit the graphics of each different level and the remaining colours are the black background and the colours used on the main sprite, powerups, weapon fire and explosions. The grey shades can also be subtly altered to give a bit of mood lighting to some levels. I would imagine all sprites will need masks so you will be able to use the background colour (black) in the sprites as well as in the scenery blocks. Don't forget if you want to do graphics for an outdoor level with a gradient sky (rasters) you need to reserve colour 1 for this. I will also have to code a system that lets you put palette splits within levels (needed for the underwater sections of Turrican II anyway) so think of different uses for that by all means. I would have a go myself but I gotta make coding the basic framework my priority at this stage.
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2143
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Postby ST Graveyard » Thu Apr 28, 2005 9:13 am

Unseen,

That sounds like Chinese to me. I don't have experience with this, but I might be able to give it a try.

I will post my sketches anyway so you can judge them.

Grave
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5089
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Apr 28, 2005 9:47 am

@Maarten: that mainly means you are not allowed to change a fixed base palette or your sprites/tiles will look different on screen and that you have to use special "colors" for special effects like the rasters.

I'm no pixel artist but from a coder's point of view I fully understand the requirements ;)

@Unseen: I'm a bit skeptical but if you make it, it would be very nice to have.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Thu Apr 28, 2005 9:56 am

ST Graveyard wrote:That sounds like Chinese to me. I don't have experience with this, but I might be able to give it a try.

Image

simonsunnyboy wrote:@Unseen: I'm a bit skeptical but if you make it, it would be very nice to have.

I fully understand your skepticism but I have coded a number of games in STOS that were never finished, mainly because I was unhappy with how slow they ran. That said I did an R-Type style shoot-em-up using STOS that wasn't too bad so with the benefit of fast 68000 code and the STE's benefits I reckon I can do it, but not without help and lots of time :)
Last edited by unseenmenace on Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5089
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:10 am

Well in the last few years we had quite a few announcements of "spiced-up" modernized remakes on ST(e) and not a single project ever passed the "i've converted the Amiga title screen to ST palette" stage. Hence my scepticism ;)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Perihelion

Postby Perihelion » Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:54 am

Well unseen, this is exciting and now you have a challenge as well!
btw, good explanation with the degas picture, one picture does say about as much as the pixel information converted into ascii, but sometimes in a better way :)

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:55 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:Well in the last few years we had quite a few announcements of "spiced-up" modernized remakes on ST(e) and not a single project ever passed the "i've converted the Amiga title screen to ST palette" stage. Hence my scepticism ;)

Well I've already passed that stage as I'm currently coding the screen scrolling system but I know what you mean :)

Perihelion wrote:good explanation with the degas picture, one picture does say about as much as the pixel information converted into ascii, but sometimes in a better way :)

Err yeah :lol: Thanks
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2143
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Postby ST Graveyard » Thu Apr 28, 2005 11:20 am

Hey Andreas,

Maybe this is something for you to join in as well, you know your share of ASM, he! This could be exciting to learn stuff.

Grave
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net

Perihelion

Postby Perihelion » Thu Apr 28, 2005 3:19 pm

No dice Maarten, sorry.
My hobby projects do not revolve around ASM at the moment, and as short burst of tips go, there are plenty more skilled people around.
However, as usual, if you need some javascript or (x)html help, i'm here for you :)

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Fri Apr 29, 2005 12:26 am

Been experimenting with the STE's video registers (as I've never used the extra ones before) and come up with this little test program:-
http://webspace.sobroadband.com/rgray/TURISCRL.zip
It scrolls horizontaly and verticaly by 1 pixel at 50 frames per second. The picture is just a mock up but the code scrolls around a 640x392 virtual screen and then puts the status panel in the right place by writing to the video address pointer just after doing the palette split and opening the bottom border. This means there aren't actually any bitmap drawing operations taking place and the program uses virtually no CPU time.

p.s. I don't know why it crashes on exit (Escape). It exits fine from within Devpac :cry:
Last edited by unseenmenace on Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests