Outrun with frame counter

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 976
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby dma » Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:47 pm

I see the driver is taking his grandma for a ride in your last video, such a nice gesture! :lol:

I had forgotten that the car sprite does not change when climbing up or down in the ST port.

User avatar
FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1211
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby FedePede04 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:57 pm

:lol:
dma i think that maybe it's us that is getting old. Don't know about France but in Denmark all the young ladies colour theirs hair grey :lol:
I have thought about add the sprite for up and down, but it will first later.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12710
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby wongck » Sun Jun 09, 2019 2:20 am

LOL.... speedy grandma.

Wow... amazing, if the arcade car can be used, why they did not do it in their release !!
Looking really really nice
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mlynn1974
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby mlynn1974 » Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:42 am

Bug:
00km/h is sometimes displayed by the speed print routine. Strangely the C64 version also does this under certain cicumstances.
The original arcade version never displayed 00km/h it was always 0km/h when the car was not moving.
Still got, still working: Atari 4Mb STe, 520STFM, 2.5Mb STF.
Hardware: Cumana CSA 354, Ultimate Ripper, Blitz Turbo, Synchro Express II (US and UK Versions).

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1136
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby CiH » Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:54 am

Wow... amazing, if the arcade car can be used, why they did not do it in their release !!
Looking really really nice

Publisher to development studio - "Stop faffing with that game, we need it now!"
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12710
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby wongck » Sun Jun 09, 2019 1:25 pm

CiH wrote:
Wow... amazing, if the arcade car can be used, why they did not do it in their release !!
Looking really really nice

Publisher to development studio - "Stop faffing with that game, we need it now!"

Ha ha ha.... same situation with Windows, one month later they have a major service pack for it.
At least with win10 now, they silently update it
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1297
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby Stefan jL » Sun Jun 09, 2019 5:25 pm

FedePede04 really great effort so far, i think this will bean awesome update to the ST Outrun :thumbs:

Is it STE only? Would be nice to have DMA SFX for the car sounds and YM for music :)
Image

User avatar
FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1211
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby FedePede04 » Sun Jun 09, 2019 5:32 pm

Stefan jL wrote:FedePede04 really great effort so far, i think this will bean awesome update to the ST Outrun :thumbs:

Is it STE only? Would be nice to have DMA SFX for the car sounds and YM for music :)


Many thanks :cheers:
we think a like :D
the Sound FX will be replaces with samples from the arcade, but the engine will be hard since you can't pitch the sound on the STE, so maybe ill just skip the engine sound
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1211
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby FedePede04 » Sun Jun 09, 2019 5:33 pm

mlynn1974 wrote:Bug:
00km/h is sometimes displayed by the speed print routine. Strangely the C64 version also does this under certain cicumstances.
The original arcade version never displayed 00km/h it was always 0km/h when the car was not moving.


its an easy fix, there also a problem if the time exceeds 99 sec that i also have to fix :D
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1211
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby FedePede04 » Sun Jun 09, 2019 5:45 pm

wongck wrote:LOL.... speedy grandma.

Wow... amazing, if the arcade car can be used, why they did not do it in their release !!
Looking really really nice


I not 100% sure where I read it, but I think it was here, and it was dml that said it.
but the developer did not get any of the resources from Sega, they had the arcade game.
they recorded it while they play it, and recreated it from scratch.
so I don't think the graphic was so bad, when i take that into account.
maybe also why the colors was so bad if capture, and recreated from a VHS tape :lol:
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12710
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby wongck » Mon Jun 10, 2019 1:13 am

FedePede04 wrote:the developer did not get any of the resources from Sega, they had the arcade game.
they recorded it while they play it, and recreated it from scratch.
so I don't think the graphic was so bad, when i take that into account.
maybe also why the colors was so bad if capture, and recreated from a VHS tape :lol:


wow.... may be that could be called plagiarism and copyright infringement ?
so they change the colours and sprite a bit and pass it as their own creation.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1211
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 1:41 am

i don't think it have anything to do with copyright infringement, i do think they have all the rights to make a conversions of the game.

but what i could think of (don't know, this is just speculations)
Sega did not want to give there data or they could not use the data, The ST and even the Amiga could not handle the graphic data any way, so no point to have them.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

mlynn1974
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby mlynn1974 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 7:53 am

Yes Peter is right, they had a license to convert the game so no copyright issues. It was standard practice to use VHS tapes to see the arcade game. Ocean used this method in articles I have read.

The strange thing about Outrun is that the shape of the car was better on the Spectrum version. It even had the up and down sprites but they weren't carried over and coloured in on the ST and Amiga versions. They must have been short of time and used a different graphic artist: Spectrum, Amstrad, C64, ST and Amiga versions in 18 months. A tall order.
Still got, still working: Atari 4Mb STe, 520STFM, 2.5Mb STF.
Hardware: Cumana CSA 354, Ultimate Ripper, Blitz Turbo, Synchro Express II (US and UK Versions).

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 882
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby Zogging Hell » Mon Jun 10, 2019 10:43 am

Casting my mind back there was an interview with the programmers of Outrun (in ST Action or the One c. 1989) which showed one of the programming team with a model ferrari car, showing how he used it for modelling the sprite (or at least that is what I garnered at the time from the pictures). So I suspect that is why the model is different in the ST and Amiga version.
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12710
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby wongck » Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:03 am

Wow, i did not know about that VHS tape thing. Must be difficult to see the colour and the low rez TV output. Amazing stuff still get out of it.

LOL... they must had the wrong model for the Amiga & Atari.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1211
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby FedePede04 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 11:14 am

Changing Car Part II




New.
Dust have been add to the Desert Map, it now using STE colors, all stages palette have been redone, Sprite when the people fall out have been change.
still missing new Farrari sprite when the car crashed.

download it here :D
https://www.dropbox.com/s/zsodbzwgbmkhz ... n.zip?dl=0

Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 993
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby catmando » Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:30 pm

FedePede04 wrote:Changing Car Part II




New.
Dust have been add to the Desert Map, it now using STE colors, all stages palette have been redone, Sprite when the people fall out have been change.
still missing new Farrari sprite when the car crashed.

download it here :D
https://www.dropbox.com/s/zsodbzwgbmkhz ... n.zip?dl=0



Love watching the progress on this, doing a great job. Do you think the new car needs to be scaled down a bit to match the proportions of the other cars on the road?
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1211
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby FedePede04 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:37 pm

catmando wrote:
FedePede04 wrote:Changing Car Part II




New.
Dust have been add to the Desert Map, it now using STE colors, all stages palette have been redone, Sprite when the people fall out have been change.
still missing new Farrari sprite when the car crashed.

download it here :D
https://www.dropbox.com/s/zsodbzwgbmkhz ... n.zip?dl=0



Love watching the progress on this, doing a great job. Do you think the new car needs to be scaled down a bit to match the proportions of the other cars on the road?


nope, is the other things, that have be able to get the full size, now the biggest an object can be (except the farrari) is 66% of original size but maybe the other cars will be replaces later on :D
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

GadgetUK164
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:12 am

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby GadgetUK164 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:43 pm

Great progress, but guessing I won't be able to play this now on the STFM (my main ST machine)?

User avatar
FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1211
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby FedePede04 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:47 pm

sorry no, i started using the blitter...
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1297
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby Stefan jL » Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:49 pm

FedePede04 wrote:sorry no, i started using the blitter...


There are ST games that use the blitter... as the blitter is optional for all STFM's AFAIK.
Power Drift is a good example of blitter use for a game for STFM :)
Image

User avatar
FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1211
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby FedePede04 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:07 pm

Stefan jL wrote:
FedePede04 wrote:sorry no, i started using the blitter...


There are ST games that use the blitter... as the blitter is optional for all STFM's AFAIK.
Power Drift is a good example of blitter use for a game for STFM :)


thx, i did not know all STFM had the socket for the blitter, i knew you could update some of the ST.
so you can run it if your ST have a blitter, but the color will be change a little.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

jd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:38 pm
Location: Ruislip, UK

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby jd » Tue Jun 11, 2019 6:38 pm

love the latest version, better palette (hated the yellow), better car, better sprites (such as the rocks on stage 2 after turning right on stage 1).

:cheers:

[smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_12.gif]

:thumbs:

User avatar
FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1211
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby FedePede04 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:58 pm

jd wrote:love the latest version, better palette (hated the yellow), better car, better sprites (such as the rocks on stage 2 after turning right on stage 1).

:cheers:

[smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_12.gif]

:thumbs:


Many thanks, glad you like it :D
maybe the rock will be expanded later, depends if i can get some more juice out of it :D
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

mlynn1974
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Outrun with frame counter

Postby mlynn1974 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:05 pm

Brilliant Peter! The new colours look fantastic.
Question: If the emulator is overclocked will the frame counter insert wait vbls to limit it to 25FPS?
Still got, still working: Atari 4Mb STe, 520STFM, 2.5Mb STF.
Hardware: Cumana CSA 354, Ultimate Ripper, Blitz Turbo, Synchro Express II (US and UK Versions).


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest