Doom for TT030.

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 580
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Doom for TT030.

Postby Atarieterno » Sun Mar 11, 2018 2:23 pm

Hi guys;
I've seen on YouTube this video of "Doom for Atari TT", and excuse my ignorance about adaptations of games but: where are there links to download games like Doom or Quake for Atari ?, is it real or is it a fake?
I have TT and Falcon (without accelerating) and I would like to try them.
Greetings.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V0pDN4dPYZg

Doom_cover_art.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby Moulinaie » Sun Mar 11, 2018 3:14 pm

This is a reality:

Patrice Mandin (a french guy) made the adaptation:

http://patrice.mandin.pagesperso-orange ... -jeux.html

Guillaume.

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 580
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby Atarieterno » Sun Mar 11, 2018 5:22 pm

Moulinaie wrote:This is a reality:

Patrice Mandin (a french guy) made the adaptation:
http://patrice.mandin.pagesperso-orange ... -jeux.html
Guillaume.


Thanks for answering, Guillaume.

José Antonio.
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

kcr2000
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 8:20 am

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby kcr2000 » Sun Mar 11, 2018 8:09 pm

It's real, but not playable at this speed on the TT...
For a stock Falcon BadMood is the best Doom.
CLAB Falcon MK2 CT60e 14MB/512MB 2x32GB CF FPU, Atari Falcon 030 14MB FPU, Atari TT030 10MB ST 256MB TT Crazy Dots 2 ThunderStorm 8GB IDE CF, Atari TT030 10MB ST 64MB TT Megavision 300, Atari Mega STE 4MB Crazy Dots, Atari Stacy 4 16MHz, Atari 1040 STE 4MB UltraSatan, Atari 520 STE, misc STf, STFM, 1040, 520, 260, Atari PC1, Atari PC5, Portfolio, NetUSBees etc. + misc 8-Bit Ataris

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1649
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby Eero Tamminen » Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:59 pm

Purely CPU based Quake ports are even less playable than CPU based Doom ports.

BadMood runs at playable speed because it has highly optimized rendering engine written from scratch to take full advantage of both Falcon CPU & DSP (by a person why had written games for living, both for Atari and e.g. for Playstation). I think in total it took several man years of effort, that was freely contributed to Atari users. Falcon DSP is more powerful than the CPU, without it BadMood couldn't be even nearly as fast as it's now.

BadMood supports (at least it supported at some point during its development) both Doom I and Doom II WADs. Doom II WADs are generally more complex (more things visible at the same time, so more calculations & rendering needed) and therefore clearly slower than Doom I WADs.

DML had also code for *rendering* Quake levels on Falcon, but that didn't include any game play support (in BadMood, Doom game logic calculations took about half of the CPU cycles, and it includes some simplifications e.g. to sound propagation, compared to PC version).

User avatar
julyan
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:40 am

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby julyan » Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:41 am

Moulinaie wrote:This is a reality:

Patrice Mandin (a french guy) made the adaptation:

http://patrice.mandin.pagesperso-orange ... -jeux.html


Thanks for the clarification!
I should pay attention both on my work and those slots. I guess that's the whole secret how to play free black jack games. I shoud remember to be more careful there.


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests