Arkanoid and MIDI

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1892
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Arkanoid and MIDI

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Sep 09, 2017 8:55 am

Hi
Looking at Steem traces, it seems that Arkanoid plays MIDI notes (apparently just 'note on', 'note off' on channel 1) when it also plays music on the soundchip, but I hear nothing on my PC. I can't remember if I did before.
Yet, a MIDI program does produce sound on the same setup (Windows 10, using Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth).
Anybody has Arkanoid playing MIDI on an emulator or real hardware?

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1232
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Arkanoid and MIDI

Postby Stefan jL » Sat Sep 09, 2017 4:32 pm

Just tried Arkanoid in SteemSSE and yes the music is played thru MIDI... nice find Steven, i had no idea about this and the manual does not mention anything about MIDI support :)
Image

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1892
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Arkanoid and MIDI

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:59 pm

Right, I get the sound now, the trick is that it's rather low compared with soundchip.
This means that if you have MIDI enabled, it interferes with soundchip music and you might think something is wrong in Steem.


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests