ST/STE games with bugs

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, ICS, Doctor Bob Gordon, Moderator Team

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1259
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

ST/STE games with bugs

Postby Stefan jL » Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:37 pm

There was a thread at atariage about games with bugs and since there usually are more activity here so do i start a thread here also and maybe more buggy games can be listed :)
I don't mean TOS incompatibility or game that don't work because 4mb of RAM is used... and neither should ST games that is incompatible with STE be listed here.
Only commercial games.

What i found is:

Double Dragon:
If an enemy is falling in an pit after the killing punch/kick but managed to stop falling then he becomes invincible and you can't progress in the game.
This video shows it at ~4:16:
http://arcade.ym2149.com/files/sc500n1/atari/bugs/double_dragon_bug_atarist_20120930000359.AVI

James Pond 2: Robocod:
Pressing escape button should take you to title screen but fails (might work on some ST's though.. please test how your ST (STE) behaves).

Also when going under an exit and stretch and grabbing to the platform above it then letting go of the strecth button makes the game crash.
I don't think there is many places you actually can do that.
Video showing that:
http://arcade.ym2149.com/files/sc500n1/atari/bugs/robocod_bug_atarist.AVI

Trantor: The Last Stormtrooper:
Music is very buggy... it don't sound correct at all. Compare with the SNDH rip as that one sounds much better.
Video that let you hear the music:
http://arcade.ym2149.com/files/sc500n1/atari/bugs/trantor_buggy_sound_atarist_20120916195522.AVI

Wrath of the Demon:
Pressing the pause button "P" will not allow you to unpause (should be by pressing "P" again)

And in the "Dark Tower" level after killing the stone thrower (goblin?) so must you pick up the life potion that appears or else you are stuck there forever and must restart the game.

Another thing about WOTD (not a bug) is that it has several unused digi (quartet) music, maybe these will play if you play the game on an Mega ST or such?

Monster Business:
Now i don't know if this is a bug... but i played thru the game using a trainer (Automation 504) and at the ending so does it not play the ending music, it plays the standard level music. The reason i am not sure this is a bug or the ST version just don't have any special ending music is that the SNDH rip actually do contain the ending music and it is possible the SNDH was ripped from some demo maybe? one of the Synth Dreams?
The Amiga version do play the ending composition (i check a youtube lonplay of it).

Tetra Quest:
The picture for the high score screen is missing or corrupt (US release only)... the game will crash when trying to show it.

Cisco Heat:
Unstable STE / ST detection os some ST's? Two of my ST's lock up just when the music should begin to play. I can't explain why it happen, please test on your ST and maybe we can make a list of incomatible ST motherboards, the ones i tested that don't work are - "C070789-001 REV.F2" and "C103414-001 REV.1". (both 1mb)
Image

User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby bullis1 » Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:02 pm

Here's one: in Darius+ the difficulty selection doesn't work.

In R-Type 2 the true ending is supposed to be revealed after beating the game a 2nd time. In the ST (and probably Amiga) version the game does restart automatically after finishing it but you get the same ending no matter what. I'm not sure if it's just because the devs never implemented it (not a bug then) or if it's in the game data somewhere but the code condition isn't working.

I've encountered lots more over the years but I'm having trouble remembering the specifics right now :?
Member of the Atari Legend team

Dio
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby Dio » Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:40 pm

Laser Squad, final mission tends to hang during AI think.

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby nativ » Sun Sep 01, 2013 12:01 am

Drivin' Force - Falling through track.. unless it's supposed to be a feature???!!!
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12418
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby wongck » Sun Sep 01, 2013 1:34 am

all motor driving games has bugs, crashing into something makes not effect on the car.
Oh :oops: ... that's a feature.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby AtariZoll » Sun Sep 01, 2013 7:50 am

There is more ...
From head:
Dyter-07 - because bug in code and/or data it will crash at final level (talking about original, not some crack) .
Iron Lord - impossible to finish last level . Additionally Action 16 release has corrupted file, so can not continue after winning battle.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby AtariZoll » Sun Sep 01, 2013 12:59 pm

Just found:
Missing One Droid - it seems that European edition is faulty - there is only 40 track on floppy with sectors. Same problem is visible on Pasti and IPF images. So, some files will not read. Despite it, game is playable - but title pic is missing, some samples missing too.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1259
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby Stefan jL » Sun Sep 01, 2013 5:55 pm

I don't think R-Type 2 has the real ending... not many (or any at all?) ST conversions of arcade games had that, for example Rod-Land only has half the game.

Drivin' Force... many games has bad collision detection but in this case it seems serious, does it happen often? Under certain conditions maybe? Like certian speed or turning?

Missing One Droid... could it not be from an single sided disk release?

Some updates to the list then:

Darius+:
Difficulty setting do nothing.

Laser Squad:
Game hangs at final mission during AI movement.

Drivin' Force:
Falling thru tracks?

Dyter-07:
Crashes at final level.

Iron Lord:
Impossible to finish last level, also Action 16 release so can you not continue after winning an battle.

Missing One Droid:
Disk only has 40 tracks? Thus missing title screen and samples.
Last edited by Stefan jL on Sun Sep 01, 2013 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby nativ » Sun Sep 01, 2013 6:18 pm

Drivin' Force... many games has bad sprite collision but in this case it seems serious, does it happen often? Under certain conditions maybe? Like certian speed or turning?

the track rises in the air and if you have a collision your speed will drop and leave you too slow for the track so you fall through... or if you are going to slow. The track isn't really a track not in the beizer curve sense it's giant twinky bars | | | | | one after the other
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1259
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby Stefan jL » Sun Sep 01, 2013 6:43 pm

It looks similar to Power Drift :)
But if it always happen when you slow down maybe it is a gameplay feature then?
Image

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby nativ » Sun Sep 01, 2013 6:51 pm

Stefan jL wrote:It looks similar to Power Drift :)
But if it always happen when you slow down maybe it is a gameplay feature then?


I think PowerDrift is actually playable! but yes similar technique! but actually not very playable at'all! at least last time I played it!
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby AtariZoll » Sun Sep 01, 2013 7:09 pm

Stefan jL wrote:...
Missing One Droid... could it not be from an single sided disk release?
...
.


It is single sided, and sum of file lengths is about 350KB, so it fits. But data after track 39 is missing. This version (Euro) is color and monochrome.
Same game is published in US with name Floyd the Droid On The Run . No STX of it, and cracks have only color files. I was able to use sample and title pic files from US edition in Euro edition (crippled), and it loaded them fine.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1259
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby Stefan jL » Sun Sep 01, 2013 7:33 pm

I tested the ST version of Drivin' Force and it seems you fall thru the track when you are too close to the edge, this is most likely not a bug just bad game design :)

How many releases is there of Missing; One Droid? Atarimania lists 3 versions... one from Bug-Byte wich is the US version according to Atarimania but the scan of the Bug-Byte manual shows the text "not for sale in USA or Canada"? then there is the Arialosoft release wich is the only European verision according to Atarimania and then there is the US version with the name Floyd the Droid.
Image

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby nativ » Sun Sep 01, 2013 9:22 pm

[quote="Stefan jL"]I tested the ST version of Drivin' Force and it seems you fall thru the track when you are too close to the edge, this is most likely not a bug just bad game design :)

very bad.. I think it happened several times in the middle of the track too! :)
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1259
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby Stefan jL » Sun Sep 08, 2013 6:33 pm

Sometimes there is a larger gap between the road "logs" that you are suppsosed to jump over if you have high speed :)

hm.. i rememeber someone mention Super Sprint had a bug wich caused the opponents to crash continuously and therefor give you unlimit points.

I have also heard that Robocop 2 has a platform gap you cant jump over wich makes it impossible to complete the game... i never got so far i seen that, but i wish to make video showing that part.
Image

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 875
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby Zogging Hell » Sun Sep 08, 2013 11:13 pm

Dio wrote:Laser Squad, final mission tends to hang during AI think.


Sometimes this clears itself if you literally leave the game for hours, the bug is triggered when you don't send men through the tunnels or everyone goes through the tunnels. The AI can't seem to work out what its meant to do with the units that can't get to you in that case, the work around is to split your force so the sectoids have something to chase (makes things more tricky though). The AI pause (hang) gets worse on the higher levels. There is also another bug on the Cyberdroids level (4), the big nasty droid gets bogged down in AI, while trying to blow up your computers in one room if you hide from him. This is a bonus actually on the higher levels as it gives you chance to blast him in the back.
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

User avatar
X3peri_MENTaL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 6:58 pm
Location: The Broom Cupboard
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby X3peri_MENTaL » Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:04 am

Can think of few off the top of my head.

Batman: The Movie - Respawn bug
Potentially terminal respawn bug on the last level. Fully documented at:
http://web.archive.org/web/201110111206 ... ion_ID=318
(see bottom of page)

Ikari Warriors - invincible tank exploit
Fatally Damage a tank (while driving) then immediately abort the game (before tank explodes). Next game, any tank you drive is invincible.

Double Dragon - Invincible Abobo bug
At the end of one level (cannot remember which), doors open and you fight Abobo(s). If you hit these suckers just as they die... then they don't! Instead, their sprites flash and they become invincible - meaning you get your ass kicked repeatedly until you die. This bug has bitten me many a time. :(

There are a bunch of other bugs/exploits in that game. I remember one where you can overload the credits counter for infinite credits (like you'd need them!)

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby AtariZoll » Mon Sep 09, 2013 7:38 am

Stefan jL wrote:...
How many releases is there of Missing; One Droid? Atarimania lists 3 versions... one from Bug-Byte wich is the US version according to Atarimania but the scan of the Bug-Byte manual shows the text "not for sale in USA or Canada"? then there is the Arialosoft release wich is the only European verision according to Atarimania and then there is the US version with the name Floyd the Droid.


Bug-Byte is UK firm, as I know, so that it is US edition is certainly error. US version is Floyd the Droid, and it is OK, except that no monochrome support (files) .
In any case, Bug-Byte proved that their name is with the reason - they released buggy floppy :mrgreen:
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1259
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby Stefan jL » Sat Sep 14, 2013 8:12 pm

AtariZoll wrote:Bug-Byte is UK firm, as I know, so that it is US edition is certainly error. US version is Floyd the Droid, and it is OK, except that no monochrome support (files) .


I tested the pasti image from atari-mania and it works fine? Or is that image fixed?
http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st-missing-one-droid_21856.html

I saw at Mobygames that it had trivia about Bad Company syaing that the budget release did not work:
http://www.mobygames.com/game/bad-company/trivia

quote:
"The budget release of this for the ST apparently immediately drains all your energy, so you die within seconds of starting the game, on any ST/STE configuration. This was on the 'Pocket Power' label - Bad Company indeed....

I played some Bad Company last week (pocket power release) and it did not happen... maybe this is an random "bug"... some sort of disk copy protection that somtimes fail?
Has anybody heard of this bug before?
Image

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby AtariZoll » Sun Sep 15, 2013 9:03 am

Stefan jL wrote:I tested the pasti image from atari-mania and it works fine? Or is that image fixed?
http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st-missing-one-droid_21856.html


I quote myself: "So, some files will not read. Despite it, game is playable - but title pic is missing, some samples missing too."
If Bug-Byte logo shows twice in order, it is bad image - and I'm sure that same is still there, as nobody can make good one .
Explanation is that buffer RAM is already filled with Bug-Byte logo when it tries to read title pic - to same buffer. It fails, but no any error check, so it will show same buffer with old content again.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby 030falcon030 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 6:22 pm

Wizball, it just randomly crashes too often we always thought it was a pity cos the game is excellent (though I have still completed it many times)
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1259
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby Stefan jL » Sun Jul 13, 2014 9:03 pm

The Munsters has a minor graphics bug, it is the vampire (or whatever it is) that get corrupted graphics if you first play the game and die and then play again so is the sprite just a garbled mess.
So it only looks ok the first time you play it.
I have only tested the original release and not the budget Edos release.

First time:
Image

And after a restart:
Image
Image

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby AtariZoll » Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:14 am

Here Munsters work flawless. So, it may be TOS version problem. Or more likely copy protection related - game has lame copy protection check what writes something to RAM for delayed effect.
Please describe exact testing config: what emulator +version, what TOS version, RAM size set ... What floppy image used ?
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1259
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby Stefan jL » Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:29 am

For the screenshots above so did i use Steem SSE 3.6.4, TOS 1.62 (STE mode) 1mb... Pasti from Atarimania entry.

But i first saw this when i was playing the game on my real ST (TOS 1.02, 1mb) using an original copy of the game and then thought i would see if it happens using the atarimania Pasti in Steem.. and it did so i never though of testing many different configs in Steem as i was so sure it was game bug. So this might be a TOS 1.0 only game then...or?
Image

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1259
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: ST/STE games with bugs

Postby Stefan jL » Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:17 pm

Now i think i figured it out... it is after you kill the vampire and then restart and after that so is the sprite a mess :)
Image


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests