Dungeon Master from Hard Drive

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

User avatar
polbit
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Fort Worth, US

Dungeon Master from Hard Drive

Postby polbit » Sat Apr 28, 2012 4:34 pm

I've been trying to use my Mega ST 4 with TOS 1.4 and Megafile 30 (HDDriver) to play Dungeon Master from the hard drive. I found two versions on Planet Emulation that say are hard drive compatible. Unfortunately when I install the game as directed and run it from the AUTO folder on the given partition, I get the FTL woosh, then the Dungeon Master title screen, hard drive runs for few seconds, then it all stops, and nothing happens... When I run it the same way but from a floppy it all works fine.

Any ideas?
m68k forever

User avatar
Jammer
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:33 pm

Re: Dungeon Master from Hard Drive

Postby Jammer » Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:54 pm

Try Pera Putnik's hard drive adapted version here
http://atari.8bitchip.info/index.html
You can play it on all ataris and it will also save snapshots of the game.

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Dungeon Master from Hard Drive

Postby nativ » Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:53 pm

I think maybe you need a game save disk in drive a: still? with some of these older HD fixes thats the case.. even some originally HD compatible run this way.
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
Jake/Depression
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:40 am
Location: Finland

Re: Dungeon Master from Hard Drive

Postby Jake/Depression » Sat Apr 28, 2012 8:22 pm

If you used HDDriver load hddrutil and try put cache settings 999.
-soimaamme toinen toista ja unohdamme tulta kohentaa-

User avatar
Jammer
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:33 pm

Re: Dungeon Master from Hard Drive

Postby Jammer » Sat Apr 28, 2012 9:22 pm

Dungeon Master description from PP's website.

Already very well made hard disk runnable adaptation (by Ronald Andersson aka dlanor) further improved. Now it can be started right from Desktop, no need for AUTO folder run ! All gamesave files go in same DIR as game executable. After finishing play, and selecting: Quit Game or Save and Quit, it will return to Desktop. Tested on ST, Mega STE, Falcon. Cheat mode option: by first skill level gain character will become very powerful, so after little sleep may play much easier. Patched some Timer C problems - for compatibility with Hddriver . Latest update: repacked GRAPHICS.DAT with DMExtract by Paul Gross - now levels load much faster - in few seconds ! PP, Febr, 2009

User avatar
polbit
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Fort Worth, US

Re: Dungeon Master from Hard Drive

Postby polbit » Sun Apr 29, 2012 12:34 am

This is a fantastic site, thanks! Didn't know that HDDriver didn't like old games :) Or is it the other way around... Anyway, the new version works great, and this site makes a TT look like a game machine!
m68k forever

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4373
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Dungeon Master from Hard Drive

Postby DarkLord » Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:22 am

polbit wrote: Anyway, the new version works great, and this site makes a TT look like a game machine!


They do that for all Atari's, even my STacy... :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

skeezix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 7:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Dungeon Master from Hard Drive

Postby skeezix » Sun May 20, 2012 1:23 am

My STacy hdd just died :(

Tempting to convert it to a satandisk and mod the case to fit in in there, but seems such a shame :/

jeff
--
Firebee, MiST, ST Book, STacy, TT030, 520STM, Atari 800XL, Atari 2600 heavy sixer, arcade machines, homemade computers, big toys for big boys!

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4373
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Dungeon Master from Hard Drive

Postby DarkLord » Sun May 20, 2012 4:47 am

skeezix wrote:My STacy hdd just died :(

Tempting to convert it to a satandisk and mod the case to fit in in there, but seems such a shame :/

jeff


If you just bent on keeping it stock, you can still get 1 gig and under drives from Best Electronics that
will work with the STacy. Keep in mind, anything that will work with the Mega STe witll work with the
STacy as well, AFAIK.

I put an Ultasatan in mine (the original drive had literally melted down, had black soot in the case all
around it when I took it apart), and I'm very happy with it.

There might be a couple of threads posted here somewhere about my feeble attempts at this... :roll:

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=18687&hilit=ultrasatan&start=100
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests