4 Player Adapter

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

User avatar
purpleeagle01
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 9:42 am
Location: Wien

4 Player Adapter

Postby purpleeagle01 » Sat Mar 26, 2011 7:21 pm

Hi we make evry saturday an Atari Play Day :-)
and i have an 4 Player adapter for printer port my question which games support them??
The Most Good things beginning with the letter A
Like Atari Austria Wien(My Favorite Soccer Team)

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4053
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby Dal » Sat Mar 26, 2011 7:47 pm

Gauntlet was the only one I played with 4 players using the parallel port adaptor thingy...
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11149
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby Mug UK » Sat Mar 26, 2011 8:37 pm

We did have a nice long list of multiplayer games on the Wiki - not sure if it survived the data loss.

wiki/index.php?title=Multiplayer_Games

Phew! It survived :)
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
purpleeagle01
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 9:42 am
Location: Wien

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby purpleeagle01 » Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:23 pm

Many Thx :-)
now we have more fun !!the good old atari weekends are back yeaaaaaa :-) :lol:
The Most Good things beginning with the letter A

Like Atari Austria Wien(My Favorite Soccer Team)

User avatar
RoBo
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: CH-Wettingen near Zurich

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby RoBo » Tue Apr 05, 2011 9:20 am

Dynablaster isn't mentioned in the Wiki

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4053
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby Dal » Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:41 am

RoBo wrote:Dynablaster isn't mentioned in the Wiki


Feel free to do something about it then :D
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
Serblander
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:58 am
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby Serblander » Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:29 am

purpleeagle01 wrote:Hi we make evry saturday an Atari Play Day :-)
and i have an 4 Player adapter for printer port my question which games support them??

The only games that i know and can confirm to work with the 4-P printer-port adapter are:

Gauntlet II & Leathernecks

If memory serves, the original Gauntlet on the ST did not support this, but i have not tried it myself (even though i have it) and therefore cannot confirm that.

I'd love to know if any other games make use of this as i'd love to try it out on some new games. :D
twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/Serblander

WANTED: (all CIB where possible)
--> ROBOKIT « Atari ST
--> R/C Aerochopper « Atari ST
--> Traders « Atari ST
Any CIB Atari ST networkable game (Populous II, Fire Brigade, Vroom, etc)

User avatar
ICS
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2002 12:26 am
Location: .de

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby ICS » Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:41 pm

RoBo wrote:Dynablaster isn't mentioned in the Wiki


The original of Dynablaster came with a device that looked like a 4 player adapter, but you had to plug joysticks 1 and 2 in there.
So more or less a "hardware copyprotection". As I do not have the original anymore, I cannot say if there was any special chips
or whatever inside that device, but it was a small box rather then two cables coming outside of a printer port connector.

This is all from senile memory, as it was forever ago btw, circa 1992.

User avatar
Serblander
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:58 am
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby Serblander » Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:12 pm

ICS wrote:
RoBo wrote:Dynablaster isn't mentioned in the Wiki


The original of Dynablaster came with a device that looked like a 4 player adapter, but you had to plug joysticks 1 and 2 in there.
So more or less a "hardware copyprotection". As I do not have the original anymore, I cannot say if there was any special chips
or whatever inside that device, but it was a small box rather then two cables coming outside of a printer port connector.

This is all from senile memory, as it was forever ago btw, circa 1992.

That's right (from what i remember of the reviews - never had an original nor copy). Also, as i understand it, you can use the STe's analog controller ports (with two Jag-pads connected) for the extra players if you wanted to - so 4 in total AND I BELIEVE you could also have 1 player use the keyboard - can anyone confirm this?!
twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/Serblander

WANTED: (all CIB where possible)
--> ROBOKIT « Atari ST
--> R/C Aerochopper « Atari ST
--> Traders « Atari ST
Any CIB Atari ST networkable game (Populous II, Fire Brigade, Vroom, etc)

User avatar
ICS
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2002 12:26 am
Location: .de

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby ICS » Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:18 am

Serblander wrote:
ICS wrote:
RoBo wrote:Dynablaster isn't mentioned in the Wiki


The original of Dynablaster came with a device that looked like a 4 player adapter, but you had to plug joysticks 1 and 2 in there.
So more or less a "hardware copyprotection". As I do not have the original anymore, I cannot say if there was any special chips
or whatever inside that device, but it was a small box rather then two cables coming outside of a printer port connector.

This is all from senile memory, as it was forever ago btw, circa 1992.

That's right (from what i remember of the reviews - never had an original nor copy). Also, as i understand it, you can use the STe's analog controller ports (with two Jag-pads connected) for the extra players if you wanted to - so 4 in total AND I BELIEVE you could also have 1 player use the keyboard - can anyone confirm this?!


In Dynbabusters you can use the STE controller ports iirc, and even the Jaguar 4 port box possibly (forgot the name).
Dynablaster probably not. Joysticks 3 and 4 went into the standard joystick/mouse-port if you had the original with the interface box.
On the cracked version I presume this had been shifted back to the normal ports.
Anyhow was too long ago to still say for sure if I ever played this in 3 or 4 player mode at all.
Surely often in 2 player mode which was great fun!

User avatar
Serblander
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:58 am
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby Serblander » Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:31 am

ICS wrote:In Dynbabusters you can use the STE controller ports iirc, and even the Jaguar 4 port box possibly (forgot the name).
Dynablaster probably not. Joysticks 3 and 4 went into the standard joystick/mouse-port if you had the original with the interface box.
On the cracked version I presume this had been shifted back to the normal ports.
Anyhow was too long ago to still say for sure if I ever played this in 3 or 4 player mode at all.
Surely often in 2 player mode which was great fun!

If i ever see an original Dynablasters with the adapter i will probably pick it up (depending on price and shipping). In the meantime, i am more than happy with my 10-P Saturn Bomberman! 8)
twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/Serblander

WANTED: (all CIB where possible)
--> ROBOKIT « Atari ST
--> R/C Aerochopper « Atari ST
--> Traders « Atari ST
Any CIB Atari ST networkable game (Populous II, Fire Brigade, Vroom, etc)

User avatar
Serblander
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:58 am
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby Serblander » Thu Nov 24, 2011 5:28 am

I just tried it out to be sure and...

Just as i thought:

The original Gauntlet on the ST is NOT compatible with the 4-P adapter!

I just tried out my original (2 disc) version of Gauntlet and it did not recognize the 4-P joystick printer adapter nor did it work with it.

Also, the instructions only mention a 1 or 2 player game, nothing about extra/full 4-players.

I thought this was the case by memory, but i keep seeing it listed in many wiki/4-p lists.

So, if anyone is interested in getting 4-P Gauntlet action happening, stick with Gauntlet II :cheers:
twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/Serblander

WANTED: (all CIB where possible)
--> ROBOKIT « Atari ST
--> R/C Aerochopper « Atari ST
--> Traders « Atari ST
Any CIB Atari ST networkable game (Populous II, Fire Brigade, Vroom, etc)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11787
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby wongck » Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:56 pm

Mug UK wrote:We did have a nice long list of multiplayer games on the Wiki - not sure if it survived the data loss.
wiki/index.php?title=Multiplayer_Games
Phew! It survived :)


I think the wiki salvaging was completed :mrgreen:
More stuff are added now. :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby MiggyMog » Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:06 pm

Think the 4 player ones are here muggy:-

wiki/index.php?title=Multitap_Games


Ivan iron man's 4x4 off road racer supports this as well?

I had one & took it back as one socket never worked, still there is a link in the wiki to build your own folks!
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.

Hempsa
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 5:00 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby Hempsa » Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:08 pm

Is the paraller 4 player adapter same for both Amiga and ST? Would this work with Atari too?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/COMMODORE-AMI ... 4aa5206e93

31336haxx0r
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 pm

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby 31336haxx0r » Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:15 pm

Take a look at the first link of this page: http://atari4ever.free.fr/hardware/others.html

It describes how to build such an adapter. What bugs me is that it uses pin 26 on a DB25 connector :roll: as well as the /STROBE line which is AFAIK output only.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4760
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:59 pm

Are there differences about those 4 player adapters?

A few months ago, we tried one that works on the Amiga on my 1040STE with Gauntlet II. It did not work at all on the STE :(
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

31336haxx0r
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 pm

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby 31336haxx0r » Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:07 pm

Does your parallel port still work...?

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4760
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:10 pm

Is there a simple way to test? ;)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

31336haxx0r
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 pm

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby 31336haxx0r » Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:44 pm

I'd connect a (known working) printer to it and print away. :D

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4760
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby simonsunnyboy » Fri Dec 16, 2011 5:17 pm

I have a known working printer but I don't know if it is Atari compatible without much messing around. Not to mention that I would have to dig very very deep for a DB25 printer cable ;)

Could be worth a try..the printer is actually a HP Laserjet 1200. (See new thread in Professionals Section)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2342
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby lotek_style » Sun Dec 18, 2011 9:27 am

In DYNABUSTERS+ we also support the printer port :)
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4760
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Dec 18, 2011 10:04 am

The printer works on my Falcon, see other thread so I have to check if it does with the STE aswell.

I even tjink, that Thorn reported also that this Amiga 4 player adapter didn't work on Ataris.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

31336haxx0r
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 pm

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby 31336haxx0r » Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:03 pm

FYI, I found stuff about the Amiga adapter here.

User avatar
Serblander
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:58 am
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: 4 Player Adapter

Postby Serblander » Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:09 pm

Hempsa wrote:Is the paraller 4 player adapter same for both Amiga and ST? Would this work with Atari too?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/COMMODORE-AMI ... 4aa5206e93

A few weeks ago i tried the ST 4-P adapter on the Amiga version of Gauntlet II. Only the 3rd/Yellow player was working, nothing with 4th/green player. Tried it back on the ST, all good. Back on the Amiga 500 - same thing - 3-P only. I'm guessing its something to do with the Amiga confusing it for a printer or similar. In any case, Gauntlet II is meant to be played on Atari. ;)

On a side-note, i only realized my friend had Leathernecks on the Amiga as well (i have it on the ST) after the ST-to-Amiga link-up night. Next time i will try the adapter on the Amiga version of Leathernecks. If it still only works with one extra port (3-P total) then its a hardware problem. If all 4-P's work, then its a software problem with the Amiga version of Gauntlet II. Time will tell.
twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/Serblander

WANTED: (all CIB where possible)
--> ROBOKIT « Atari ST
--> R/C Aerochopper « Atari ST
--> Traders « Atari ST
Any CIB Atari ST networkable game (Populous II, Fire Brigade, Vroom, etc)


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests