Xenomorph by Atari Legend

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

coy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:03 am

Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby coy » Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:47 am

Hello

Just wanted to point out that the Xenomorph patch made by AL keeps on loading when you try to reach the 8th (or 9 th level), in others words this version is corrupted. Other things, i was unable to make a save, and the trainer boosts your radioactivity level (!) not really recommended..

I didn't manage to run the game with the pasti from Atarimania. have found a working version however


Other things, i was unable to make a save
The save function WORKS - Apologise
Last edited by coy on Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11208
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby Mug UK » Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:33 am

I've not got access to AL site in work as it's classed as 'games' ;-)

If it's a Maartau fix, then talk to him and give him some saved games he can play with and fix the trainer. If it's a Klaz version, he usually hibernates during the summer months.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4124
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby Marcer » Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:02 pm

Avenger did this.. its quite my fault.. as I was the crappy game tester.. I never manage that far as level 8-9 :P

but maybe tha gods can fix this?
- Atari ST/FM/E - Mega sTe - Portfolio - Falcon 030 FX 3 in 1 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- FTP... Ask for info
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11208
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby Mug UK » Thu Jun 17, 2010 6:35 pm

Ah it's one from that long ago :oops:
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4124
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby Marcer » Fri Jun 18, 2010 2:23 pm

Provide the savegame disk anymaybe something can be fixed aswell
- Atari ST/FM/E - Mega sTe - Portfolio - Falcon 030 FX 3 in 1 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- FTP... Ask for info
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby Methanoid » Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:47 pm

Has this ever been fixed? I love this game and want a 100% one disker PLEASE!

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2906
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby AtariZoll » Wed Sep 04, 2013 5:17 pm

Try another crack: http://www.thegamearchives.com/?val=0_2 ... 5_0_24_0_0

Or even better Pasti original from Atarimania.
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby Methanoid » Wed Sep 04, 2013 5:18 pm

None of those are one diskers :-(

Sent from my GT-I9505G using Tapatalk 4

bandit
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby bandit » Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:29 pm

did you try all of them: http://depot.archive-atari.st/Legacy/Games/Xenomorph/

empire, pp, replicants?

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby Methanoid » Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:31 pm

I say again, none of them are one diskers.. Sure I can play 2 or 3 diskers but 1 disk means no swaps!!

Sent from my GT-I9505G using Tapatalk 4

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2906
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby AtariZoll » Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:01 am

I don't think that you have much options - swap floppies, or enjoy in error :D
Seriously, there is always risk, when you make some bigger changes in game - like level packing or similar - to make some mistake. And if not test it thoroughly ...
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby nativ » Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:46 am

sadly 'cracking' to some these day means 4MB only and HD only. Not up for the challenge of 800k! and 512k :angel:
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2906
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby AtariZoll » Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:47 am

nativ wrote:sadly 'cracking' to some these day means 4MB only and HD only. Not up for the challenge of 800k! and 512k :angel:


That's pretty much incorrect. Most of later HD fixes work with 1MB. And I do floppy versions too - which are mostly usable on 512K machines too. What I do not is packing at all cost - storage is now cheap.

Coy: do you run it on real ST, from floppy or in emulator ? I ask it because if run from floppy problem may be not bad crack but bad floppy (write) - if reading of 9th level is unreliable it may stuck on it. So, you should try to write image on another floppy and try with it ...
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby nativ » Thu Sep 05, 2013 12:47 pm

AtariZroll : What I do not is packing at all cost - storage is now cheap.


It was the smart packing that gave faster load times. Not to mention several games on one disk!
Last edited by nativ on Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby Methanoid » Thu Sep 05, 2013 12:51 pm

nativ wrote:What I do not is packing at all cost - storage is now cheap. It was the smart packing that gave faster load times. Not to mention several games on one disk!


I did enquire some years ago about depacking some titles in particular for emulator use... For example, on this title, XENOMORPH, we could have it on one disk but have the disk as a 1.44Mb disk or any size needed.. just avoiding the need for swaps. Loading speeds could be quicker too..

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2906
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby AtariZoll » Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:19 pm

nativ wrote:What I do not is packing at all cost - storage is now cheap. It was the smart packing that gave faster load times. Not to mention several games on one disk!


I don't want several games on one floppy. I even don't use floppies. There are hard disks, pardon Flash cards, and HxC floppy emulator. And even if no, you can write quickly images onto floppies for those titles which want to use. Storing SW on floppies is very stupid.
Considering 'smart packing' - it is used by game coders, publishers too, often. And as by many cracks, depacking is usually very slow, so shorter disk loading was 'compensated' by slow depacking, and at the end it loaded slower - remember Dungeon Master ? Or Sleepwalker ? There are some faster depackers, but majority used slower ones because better packing ratio.

I looked Xenomorph Pasti and Pompey Pirates crack. Pasti at Atarimania is bad (gamedisk 1 has bad sectors), and can not play.
Pompey crack is on 2 floppies, and strange is that they made it so, that floppy 1 is 2 sided, and floppy 2 is single sided. But original asks to swap only gamedisks 1 and 2 during play ... So, why they did not it so that first (program disk) is SS and put 2 gamedisks on DS floppy ??? And of course someone need to play it to see is flawless.
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2906
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby AtariZoll » Sat Sep 13, 2014 6:35 pm

After some combining from diverse sources (because STX img. of floppy #1 is bad) I managed to put all it on single floppy. Did some improvements, so it works much faster, and of course no need for juggling. There is added test for which disk is inserted, so corruption of master disk should not happen - but keep it write protected for case.
Note about used version: it is not exactly the same game version which is used by most of cracks, like by Atari Legend or Pompey Pirates. Loading rutine
starts 16 bytes higher in RAM, for instance. I don't see any version marks in code. But possible that some bugs are fixed in this.
More info in readme.
Xenomorph1flo.zip


P.S. I found version marks. What I used is V 1.4, others used v. 1.2 .
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by AtariZoll on Sun Sep 14, 2014 10:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby Methanoid » Sun Sep 14, 2014 10:00 am

Awesome.. I'm off to play!. :D :cheers:

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1235
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby Stefan jL » Sat Sep 20, 2014 11:48 am

AtariZoll wrote:P.S. I found version marks. What I used is V 1.4, others used v. 1.2 .


Where is this marks in the game? I want to check what version my original copy is.

Maybe the difference of v1.2 and v1.4 is the "green blob" bug that Terry Greer mention on his webpage: http://www.terrygreer.com/xenomorph.html
(my Xenomorph copy has that green blob bug)
Image

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2906
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby AtariZoll » Sat Sep 20, 2014 12:45 pm

Stefan jL wrote:
AtariZoll wrote:P.S. I found version marks. What I used is V 1.4, others used v. 1.2 .


Where is this marks in the game? I want to check what version my original copy is.

Maybe the difference of v1.2 and v1.4 is the "green blob" bug that Terry Greer mention on his webpage: http://www.terrygreer.com/xenomorph.html
(my Xenomorph copy has that green blob bug)


On program disk. If you make ST image of it - 1 side, 10 sectors/track, 80 tracks, then will find version info at pos. $2C1B2 - use Hex viewer .
It would be good if you can make STX image of play disk #1 . It is same by versions 1.2 and 1.4 . What was on Atarimania was with some bad sectors. Then we can complete Pasti images of it.
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1235
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby Stefan jL » Sun Sep 21, 2014 12:06 pm

Unfortunatly so was my copy bad... at least the program disk.
Anyway here are SCP copies i made of them, maybe it is useful in some way. I had no idea how to check version number in the SCP or STX copies.
http://arcade.ym2149.com/files/scpro/not_working/xenomorph_scp_(program_disk_bad).7z
Image

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2906
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby AtariZoll » Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:02 pm

Thanx Stefan jL - I converted it to STX using Aufit, then to ST using my SW. It is version 1.4. Program disk has one bad track. And it is not copy protected, btw. So, you can write it from ST image (will post here if want). Disk 1 is same as De edition's one (no text there), except serial in bootsector.
All files 100% same. All in all, we have now complete V 1.4 STX images. I will send them to Atarimania.
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

sannaakita
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:17 pm

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby sannaakita » Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:06 am

Hi everyone

I'm Terry Greer - and I'm both pleased and surprised that my old game Xenomorph still has players - hopefully its still enjoyed as well.
(I was the designer/artist on it and I've written up what I can remember about its creation on page ion my website http://www.terrygreer.com/xenomorph.html )

For a while I've been wondering if I should recreate Xenomorph (or something very similar - in the same way that Legend of Grimrock revised Dungeon master) - what would your opinion on this be?

If I created a kickstarter early next year would anyone here be interested?
The revised game would be on the PC primarily.

Cheers
Terry

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1235
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby Stefan jL » Mon Sep 22, 2014 5:31 pm

Hi Terry, even if i have not played Xenomorph in 20 years so is it a game i still think fondly of... especially now when i know why that green blob is invulnerable, i think that was the reason i never completed the game when i was young, i always got cornered in the tunnels by the blob and lost interest but now i can make a new try and avoid to trigger the bug :)

I have seen your webpage earlier and saw your thoughts about a kickstart project, it is a great idea and i will support it :D

One of the best things with Xenomorph is the clean and bright graphics but still does not look cartoony (in a comical way) and i hope you figure out a way to bring this to the new game... i am so tired of todays games with only dark and muddy graphics (wich includes Legend of Grimrock).
Darkness and brown/grey graphics does not automatically give a game atmosphere.
Image

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: Xenomorph by Atari Legend

Postby Methanoid » Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:33 am

I never finished it but did love it,as did friends who mapped the levels out (still have printouts they did in a bound folder for me).

I liked the game on Amiga so much I had a coder friend make an HD install which was released on the scene sites.

DM in space... Great game. A Grimrock style remake would be great!


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest