Dracula remake

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

Goldrunner
Guardian of the PaST
Guardian of the PaST

Dracula remake

Postby Goldrunner » Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:19 pm

This is a follow on from a previous thread about my remake of the CRL 8-bit classic Dracula: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=17164

I am quite advanced with this now and all the problems I had have been mostly ironed out, unfortunately, I still haven’t been able to find a way of using different colours for certain portions of text within STAC. However, it is not critical in writing the game and I'm still hopeful there may yet be a solution.

The original version of Dracula was basically text only with a few small graphic pictures of the players death. I decided to go mad on it and add graphics to all locations, however, the 8-bit death scenes will also be retained. Not being an artist I decided to grab scenes from old horror movies and then convert them for the ST. I decided against colour scenes since they normally look terrible because of the ST's 16 colour palette, the same went for greyscale since this uses only 8 shades. Instead I have used Duotone which gives the best of both worlds, it also allows the pictures to be tinted in a number of ways.

The example screens shots here are from the game itself, the ingame shot is a mix of low and medium resolution.

Anyway, I really hope you like the examples, if not, please be kind since I have never done an ST game before!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

CiH
Atari God
Atari God

Re: Dracula remake

Postby CiH » Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:40 pm

Nice use of Sepia, keep going! :cheers:
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

Jake/Depression
Captain Atari
Captain Atari

Postby Jake/Depression » Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:02 pm

Wow! Cool!

DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard

Postby DarkLord » Mon Aug 10, 2009 3:33 am