Forum unstable again

News, updates, like or dislike

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

joska
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3244
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Forum unstable again

Postby joska » Mon Sep 29, 2014 11:24 am

I've had lots of trouble accessing the forum last night and this morning. No error messages, just no response.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3378
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby dml » Mon Sep 29, 2014 11:55 am

joska wrote:I've had lots of trouble accessing the forum last night and this morning. No error messages, just no response.


Me too. I think others are also experiencing problems.

User avatar
mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 617
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby mfro » Mon Sep 29, 2014 12:52 pm

No problems here.

joska
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3244
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby joska » Mon Sep 29, 2014 1:19 pm

It seems to be random. One minute it's fast, the next minute it's dead.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Sep 29, 2014 2:23 pm

joska wrote:It seems to be random. One minute it's fast, the next minute it's dead.

The Same here
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
calimero
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby calimero » Mon Sep 29, 2014 5:32 pm

same here
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby Eero Tamminen » Mon Sep 29, 2014 6:55 pm

Seen that too. There's no timeout, the page just doesn't load sometimes.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby wongck » Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:55 am

yeap.... yesterday, long loading page and still a blank page after sometime.
Today it is faster and yet to have a blank page. :)
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4019
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby Dal » Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:08 am

Only change made since the weekend was to reapply the smartfeed mod. I'll remove it and see if things improve.

It won't be until tonight at the earliest though.
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby wongck » Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:55 am

2-3 hours back, it was again long loading with empty page.
But now, it's back to fast again... what gives?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4019
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby Dal » Tue Sep 30, 2014 11:55 am

I refer you back to my previous post.
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby wongck » Wed Oct 01, 2014 1:28 am

LOL.... must think in time zone mode.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4846
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby exxos » Wed Oct 01, 2014 8:38 am

Its been odd this morning, was taking about 10mins to load a page, no time outs or anything. Though now it seems to be working fine again (half hour later).
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby viking272 » Wed Oct 01, 2014 11:53 am

Yes I had issues around noon UK time where Tapatalk and my PC couldn't browse to the site. 30mins later it is fine

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby viking272 » Wed Oct 01, 2014 11:54 am

The time in the UK is an hour ahead of the AF clock...

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2220
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby spiny » Wed Oct 01, 2014 11:56 am

viking272 wrote:The time in the UK is an hour ahead of the AF clock...



it's a forum setting, you have to go to your control panel and tick a box sating we are in British Summer Time ...

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby viking272 » Wed Oct 01, 2014 11:57 am

Will do, thanks

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2220
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby spiny » Wed Oct 01, 2014 1:12 pm

viking272 wrote:Will do, thanks


it's a bit odd that the forum software doesn't auto update the time though.

I'm also seeing the 'nothing loads for 30 seconds' issues - it's as if my browser is looking up an old DNS record.

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4019
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby Dal » Wed Oct 01, 2014 4:42 pm

I've experienced the same issue as everyone else here but the thing is, the other sites that are hosted on the very same server do not suffer (http://www.atarilegend.com, http://www.atari-wiki.com, http://www.robokit.info and http://www.septicsurgeon.net). So I think the server is fundamentally ok. Could be a DNS issue perhaps or something specific to the phpbb application (or one of its mods).

Of course this all rears its head when I've got practically zero spare time... :|
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby wongck » Thu Oct 02, 2014 3:41 am

Hey guys, at least it is not down..... we now know that we just try again an hour later.

Dal wrote:Of course this all rears its head when I've got practically zero spare time...

Thanks Dal for keeping AF online!!
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby wongck » Thu Oct 02, 2014 3:41 am

Hey guys, at least it is not down..... we now know that we just try again an hour later.

Dal wrote:Of course this all rears its head when I've got practically zero spare time...

Thanks Dal for keeping AF online!!
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby KLund1 » Fri Oct 03, 2014 6:29 am

I had some trouble tonight PST around 10pm. timed out waiting to load first page.
Got better around 11PM
fyi
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

wietze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby wietze » Fri Oct 03, 2014 6:45 am

Since AF moved host, I have come across this issue quite often.

Just a minute or a few before I posted this message, I tried loading the page, and no response. Then after a while, as if the machine came out of hibernation as it were, the forum is reactive and quite fast again. My assumption is that this occurs after a certain period of inactivity (perhaps Dal can check the accesslog around the time of this post to see if there were no web requests before this moment for a bit?).

The past few days, this issue has occurred to me quite a few times. It would be wonderful if we could at least have an explanation for it :)

Regards,
Wietze

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby wongck » Fri Oct 03, 2014 6:58 am

Yeah.
May be it is hosted on a VM, and it takes some secondz to load back the image.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Postby wongck » Fri Oct 03, 2014 6:58 am

Yeah.
May be it is hosted on a VM, and it takes some secondz to load back the image.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Website Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest