GEMBENCH 6

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby exxos » Fri May 13, 2016 6:39 pm

Current benchmark files.

CT6066 - CT60 @ 66mhz
DEFAULT - STE TOS 206 8mhz stock
STE20608 - same as above
STE20616 - STE TOS 206 @ 16mhz
STE20632 - STE TOS 206 @ 32mhz
FALCON30 - Stock falcon
STFMT28 - STFM running T28 booster (thanks Sophie)
STFM1048 - STFM TOS 104 @ 8mhz (stock machine)
PAK030 - STacy with PAK 030 booster (thanks Darklord)
CT6090SV - CT60 @ 90mhz with Supder Videl (Thanks Fredrik)

These will be included in the next build 23.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

GadgetUK164
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:12 am

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby GadgetUK164 » Sat May 14, 2016 6:33 pm

Thanks for continuing to update Gembench =D

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4165
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby DarkLord » Sat May 14, 2016 9:27 pm

Ditto. Tis a fine effort indeed. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

ThorstenOtto
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sun May 15, 2016 9:14 am

> I've been working on Build 15 for some days now and fixed a lot of bugs.

Is that available somewhere? I can't find any links. I've tried GB606B13.zip, but all i get is

"Arithmetic overflow at line 2385 in file E:\GB6\GUI14.BAS"

Then the program waits for a keypress and exits.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby exxos » Sun May 15, 2016 9:22 am

ThorstenOtto wrote:> I've been working on Build 15 for some days now and fixed a lot of bugs.

Is that available somewhere? I can't find any links. I've tried GB606B13.zip, but all i get is

"Arithmetic overflow at line 2385 in file E:\GB6\GUI14.BAS"

Then the program waits for a keypress and exits.


I'm on build 23.. But its not live yet, build 22 is, but might still have the issue you mention above.

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/GB6/index.htm
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

ThorstenOtto
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby ThorstenOtto » Mon May 16, 2016 2:58 pm

> I'm on build 23.. But its not live yet, build 22 is, but might still have the issue you mention above.

Yes it has the same issue (line number is slightly different, 2349 for build 22). Just for info, i'm trying to run this on an emulator, not real hardware (SToNX in this case), so you can expect some numbers to get quite large. I had similar problems already with other benchmarks, either displaying negative numbers or overwriting the text fields in the GEM dialogs

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby exxos » Mon May 16, 2016 3:08 pm

ThorstenOtto wrote:> I'm on build 23.. But its not live yet, build 22 is, but might still have the issue you mention above.

Yes it has the same issue (line number is slightly different, 2349 for build 22). Just for info, i'm trying to run this on an emulator, not real hardware (SToNX in this case), so you can expect some numbers to get quite large. I had similar problems already with other benchmarks, either displaying negative numbers or overwriting the text fields in the GEM dialogs


This issue should be fixed in the next build. Someone else was running a emulator and scores over 32768% caused the overflow error. In build 23, it will hit 99999%, anything higher will just say "error". I hope the new build 23 will be ready sometime over the next few days.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby troed » Thu Jul 14, 2016 12:06 pm

Hi exxos,

FYI, it seems Gembench 6 doesn't pick up cache enabled on MSTE, as well as not running the FPU test even though it detects the FPU. Gembench 4.03 works fine. See screenshots in this thread: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=30068

(The MSTE in question has a 68882, it's possible the FPU test works fine on 68881 - that I don't know)

/Troed

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby exxos » Thu Jul 14, 2016 1:25 pm

GB6 doesn't read the cache status, it just turns it on, and sets the cache on if found. d.m.l wrote that code, so will have to wait for him to cache up there ;) GB6 should say cache on when it loads. Also use the cache functions in GB6 not any external desk acc's as it will likely confuse the cache status. I have a feeling Doug mentioned something about the MSTE cache, might need fixing, but neither of us have a MSTE (IIRC) :(

FPU,if it finds the FPU, it should run the test. Though don't forget there is no FPU test files yet, so it will not show a result, even though it should actually run the test. If you use a Falcon benchmark file then you should see a FPU value, as I assume I did the benchmark with the FPU installed.

I need to install monster in my STFM and run the test to create a new benchmark file, though someone else mentioned this a few weeks ago. I just don't have time to setup a STFM and do the test currently. There is no alt-ram benchmark in any files yet either, might be in the CT60 benchmark file.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby troed » Thu Jul 14, 2016 1:28 pm

exxos wrote:FPU,if it finds the FPU, it should run the test.


"FPU NOT FOUND" comes up when it should, even though (as you can see in the screenshot) it has identified an I/O mapped FPU

I'd be happy to beta test any changes, of course.

/Troed

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby exxos » Thu Jul 14, 2016 1:36 pm

troed wrote:
exxos wrote:FPU,if it finds the FPU, it should run the test.


"FPU NOT FOUND" comes up when it should, even though (as you can see in the screenshot) it has identified an I/O mapped FPU

I'd be happy to beta test any changes, of course.

/Troed


Strange, If its found the FPU it should run the code. I will take a look at the code quickly and see if I can find anything, thanks for the report.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby exxos » Thu Jul 14, 2016 1:43 pm

troed wrote:I'd be happy to beta test any changes, of course.
/Troed


GB6.zip


There ya go, give that PRG a try.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby troed » Thu Jul 14, 2016 4:31 pm

exxos wrote:
troed wrote:I'd be happy to beta test any changes, of course.
/Troed


GB6.zip

There ya go, give that PRG a try.


Well, now I'm sure it tries to run the test. 11 (edit: verified, it's 11) bombs though :) It _might_ be that the test expects a 68881, not 68882. Worth verifying - it's a newly written test, right?

This explanation might give a clue:

"A line 1010/1111 Emulator Error occurs when the processor tries to execute an invalid instruction. The code 1010/1111 is not really relevant (the code depends on the invalid instruction you tried to execute)."


viewtopic.php?t=14196#p121251

(The FPU test in Gembench 4.03 works fine)

/Troed

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby exxos » Thu Jul 14, 2016 4:39 pm

I have a feeling IO MAPPED was not programmed by Doug in the ASM routines. Which might have been why I bypassed the test to stop the crashing. IIRC doug hasn't done any IO Mapped programing ,so really it would need someone to add one to GB6's assembly code. I know myself and doug talked a lot about the code, but it was some months ago so can't remember exactly. IIRC we thought it wasn't worth spending the time on doing the code, probably because MSTE's don't come with a FPU as standard ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby troed » Thu Jul 14, 2016 5:46 pm

exxos wrote:I have a feeling IO MAPPED was not programmed by Doug in the ASM routines. Which might have been why I bypassed the test to stop the crashing. IIRC doug hasn't done any IO Mapped programing ,so really it would need someone to add one to GB6's assembly code. I know myself and doug talked a lot about the code, but it was some months ago so can't remember exactly. IIRC we thought it wasn't worth spending the time on doing the code, probably because MSTE's don't come with a FPU as standard ?


Sounds reasonable, and true, only upgraded Mega ST (SFP004 expansion board) and Mega STEs (68881/68882) are I/O mapped I think. The latter come with an empty socket for the FPU so it's somewhat less of a barrier than an expansion board.

/Troed

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby rpineau » Thu Jul 14, 2016 6:03 pm

FPU on 68000 is always I/O Mapped (SFP004 and MegaSTE). The FPU test in GB6 are for 68020 and up with direct FPU access (via FPU instruction).
To test the FPU on 68000, specific code using the mapped I/O would be required.
Rodolphe
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4165
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby DarkLord » Thu Jul 14, 2016 9:17 pm

My STacy that we used for testing GB6 has a 68882 in it, via the Pak/3 board.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1409
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Sep 12, 2016 12:54 pm

MagiXMac Set ...

MAGIXMAC.GB6.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby exxos » Mon Sep 12, 2016 1:15 pm

frank.lukas wrote:MagiXMac Set ...

MAGIXMAC.GB6.zip


Is that run a on a PC/emulator type thing ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1409
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Sep 12, 2016 2:18 pm

Magic for Apple OSX
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

ragnar76
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby ragnar76 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:06 pm

is there any guideline to run the tests? i've rediscovered tos2win (beside hatari, steem and stemulator gold) and it runs with the beta from above. results are in the attachment

Edit: I think something is broken. I get a lot of errors in the gui but inside the exported file it looks correct. also the results of gfx, cpu and average are all at 12000%
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby exxos » Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:30 pm

GB6 isn't designed to run on emualtors, pretty much the fastest machine it was based on was the CT60 at 100mhz. Likely you have errors as your %'s are in like 6 figures :)

I think in a later build anything over 5 figures just comes up "ERROR" now.

Latest builds are posted here http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/GB6/index.htm but not had time yet to release a new version. There is only minor changes in the next build anyway.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

ragnar76
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby ragnar76 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:39 pm

hmkay.... have to dig out my ct63 falcon with 100mhz and report the results :D

BlankVector
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 394
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby BlankVector » Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:36 pm

I have just tested GemBench 6 (GB606 B22) on EmuTOS for Amiga and it does not work. I don't know if it is expected or not.

For memories, EmuTOS for Amiga is the same as EmuTOS for Atari, except that:
- direct access to Atari hardware is not supported (and will never work as hardware is missing)
- BIOS/XBIOS calls specific to Atari hardware are not supported, other ones (most of them) are supported
- only ST-High video mode is supported

What happens with GemBench6 :
- the program starts and shows its initial dialog box
- GEM Dialog Box: the dialog disappears, then it hangs.
- VDI tests: the window opens, then it hangs.
- GEM Windows: works fine.
- Integer Division: hangs
- RAM Access: hangs.
- ROM Access: hangs.
- Blitting: displays a rectangle filled with pattern, then hangs.
- VDI Enquire : hangs.
- Alt-RAM : hangs.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6 (almost)

Postby exxos » Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:51 pm

BlankVector wrote:I have just tested GemBench 6 (GB606 B22) on EmuTOS for Amiga and it does not work. I don't know if it is expected or not.



Its a Atari program to run on a Atari machine with Atari TOS. Likely will end in disaster trying to run it on basically a alien machine.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator


Social Media

     

Return to “News & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests