GEMBENCH 6

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby lp » Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:59 pm

First rule of software writing. No one reads the manual, trust me I know. Most people just unpack an archive and double-click away on the app. So it's best to nip it in the bud as they say.

One problem, and I'm being honest here, is you retain the name GemBench which implies it's GEM friendly. To make matters worse, that's partly GemBench's claim to fame, being tasking friendly.

So essentially you have taken it a step backwards, thus a certain amount of confusion is going to creep in. I realize the tasking and video mode affect the results, but regardless of that it has for many years been tasking friendly. If you are going to impose a single tasking OS with medium resolution, might consider renaming it to something more generic like TosBench or STbench and eliminate the confusion with its predecessor.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby exxos » Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:24 pm

Yeah nobody reads how to use stuff thats a granted.

GEMBench is GEM friendly, works fine in GEM. It doesn't work with multitasking environments which basically replace GEM with some other OS. This is because I simply never programed it in support for it as GB6 was for my use for what I need. If people are that bothered when I release the sources they can update if they want. I don't think benchmarking OS's is particularly useful these days anyway. People are still free to use GB4 if they wish. Its a lot less accurate, but if people are running it in all kinds of multitasking situations and video modes, then its not going to give accurate results anyway.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby leech » Sun May 21, 2017 10:29 pm

Hmm, so according to the latest build (26), my TT is slightly slower than a STE at Blitting? Interesting, since I don't think the TT has a blitter, right?

Code: Select all

GEMBENCH 606 Build 26
======================================
     REFERENCE            SYSTEM     
======================================
TOS 3.06  AES 3.20  TOS 2.06  AES 3.20
BLiTTER NP          BLiTTER Enabled   
RES 640*200*4       RES 640*200*4     
GEMDOS v0.20        GEMDOS v0.20     
TT/HADES 68030      STE 68000         
LineF FPU inst.     FPU Not present   
NVDI not present    NVDI not present 
CACHE D=ON  I=ON    CACHE D=OFF  I=OFF
Ran from ST-RAM     Ran from ST-RAM   
======================================
GEM Dialog Box:            8.070  162%
VDI Text:                 11.565  126%
VDI Text Effects:         14.265  151%
VDI Small Text:           17.170  131%
VDI Graphics:              7.235  385%
GEM Window:                5.920  168%
Integer Division:          2.825 1113%
Float Math:                3.730    0%
RAM Access:               15.285  237%
ROM Access:               32.735  227%
Blitting:                  3.690   97%
VDI Scroll:                6.445  148%
Justified Text:            8.495  136%
VDI Enquire:               9.750  212%
ALT-RAM:                  18.735  388%
======================================
Graphics:                         191%
CPU:                              525%
Average:                          262%]


TT has 4mb of ST-RAM (stock 2mb, plus 2mb add-on board from Atari and 4mb TT-RAM also the old Atari board (I really should upgrade that to 16mb, I think it's just jumper settings).
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby exxos » Mon May 22, 2017 8:23 am

leech wrote:Hmm, so according to the latest build (26), my TT is slightly slower than a STE at Blitting? Interesting, since I don't think the TT has a blitter, right?


Can you try without the caches on, save the file and send it to me. I can include it in the next release. I think there is a TT benchmark file, but with caches on.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby leech » Mon May 22, 2017 3:27 pm

Yeah, there is a TT file labelled TT16MED.GB6 that seemed to be 1-3% faster on some benchmarks, except I think the Integer Division and Float Math, but probably because I have an 68882@50mhz in there. Not that I think it's running that fast, but that's the chip (bought a bunch for cheap, so put them in the TT030, Falcon and MegaSTe (of which apparently I still need a GAL for that).

I didn't think you could disable the cache on the TT, since it's always been a built in on the 68030. I'll give it a shot though.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby exxos » Mon May 22, 2017 4:10 pm

leech wrote:I didn't think you could disable the cache on the TT, since it's always been a built in on the 68030. I'll give it a shot though.


I'm not sure it has even been tried by anyone yet. Works on the Falcon with a 030 so should work on a TT I guess.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby rpineau » Mon May 22, 2017 4:13 pm

The 68030 cache is controlled by software, So you can totally de-activate it on the TT (and any 68030 machine).
Rodolphe
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby leech » Mon May 22, 2017 5:18 pm

Here is the benchmark with both Caches turned off.

It's quite impressive how much those caches actually affect the performance!

(off-topic, but got to say, the TT030 connected to my 55" LCD screen is awesome!)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby exxos » Mon May 22, 2017 5:22 pm

leech wrote:Here is the benchmark with both Caches turned off.

It's quite impressive how much those caches actually affect the performance!

(off-topic, but got to say, the TT030 connected to my 55" LCD screen is awesome!)


Cool, dont suppose you can do a sreenshot of both as well ? Screenshot *should* work in GB6 menu :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby leech » Mon May 22, 2017 6:58 pm

Sure, I'm technically working from home, this sounds almost like work, right? :P
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby exxos » Mon May 22, 2017 6:59 pm

leech wrote:Sure, I'm technically working from home, this sounds almost like work, right? :P


Sounds like me lol

Can you do with cache as well ? Then can do a side by side comparison vs the STE booster.

EDIT1:
Might be better comparison to compare a stock STFM as it doesn't have a blitter.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby leech » Wed May 24, 2017 2:19 am

Okay, here goes.

These are both comparing to the STFM1048.GB6 files (I think that is a stock STF with 1.04 TOS, 8mhz right?)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
paulwratt
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 10:16 am

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby paulwratt » Sat Jun 10, 2017 3:45 pm

I managed to get the Viking driver to work in the latest release of PCE (check the download server, not the download page), using dynamic CPU speed I wanted to test or benchmark it (PCE is the only emu usable in chromium on a RPi2)

I grabbed the B26 build of GemBench 6 (and 4, but it chrashes on start, it does not like the viking video mode, 1280x960 mono). The first time I ran GB6 I just pressed "A", seemed to be testing fine, looked away for a sec and it was at the desktop again (somewhere near the middle of the test list), started it up again and it hung (no bombs - just a busy bee). not sure exactly what the problem was, re-run it half a dozen times since then and it has finished everytime.

with the Display % can you seperate out the GEM functions from the VDI functions, with this emu I get a slowdown on the GEM display tests, and a speedup on the VDI tests. you have a spare line there.

Also, is it possible to squeeze in the RAM somewhere, the AHDI driver skips the memory test so I cant tell how much memory the machine thinks it has.

BTW, have anyone tried GB6 tests with MyAES or XaAES. I am about to try get MyHatari to work on PCE-atarist, and wondered what the AES & GEM-DOS version numbers will be (mint000.prg)

Anyway I get about 120% display & 860% CPU running PCE on RPi2 (with Chrome running in bg on another VT) compared to the standard machine

(the GEM tests are under under 100% but the VDI tests are all over 150%)

Cheers

Paul

BlankVector
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 402
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby BlankVector » Thu Sep 07, 2017 5:51 pm

Hi, I've just made a video tutorial about downloading ST software with a PC. And I chose GemBench 6 as good example :mrgreen:

YouTube: Download Atari ST software with a PC and a floppy
Last edited by BlankVector on Sat Oct 14, 2017 3:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Moulinaie
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: GEMBENCH 6

Postby Moulinaie » Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:24 pm

Hello,

Just a thought about the calculation of the average performance of a computer compared to another.

Suppose I have two Atari and two CPU tests to perform.
And suppose the results are here:

Atari 1: 1st test 10 sec / 2nd test 5 sec
Atari 2: 1st test 5 sec / 2nd test 10 sec

If I take the Atari 2 as a reference. Then Atari 1 is rated 50% for 1st test and 200% for 2nd test.
I calculate the average (50+200)/2 = 125% The Atari 1 is faster!

If I take the Atari 1 as reference. Then Atari 2 is rated 200% for 1st test and 50% for 2nd test.
I calculate the average: (200+50)/2=125%, The Atar 2 is faster!!!

This is a maths problem as using percentages is a question of product (multiply), and using the standard mean is a question of sum (addition). So they don't match!

If you use the geometrical mean... everything is ok as:

sqare root of (50 times 200) = 100%. Whatever the reference, you'll get Atari 1 = Atari 2 as every machine has the same strengh over the two tests.

For more than two values, the correct average is the nth root of the product of the n values.

Guillaume.


Social Media

     

Return to “News & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests