New Atari PSU in the making

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4184
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby DarkLord » Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:17 pm

Yeah, they had problems with the declared value (I think I just started it out too high, was trying to
be honest - what a concept! :) ).

Also, IIRC, they wouldn't accept your claim that it wasn't going to stay in the country but go back out
and they hit it up hard with an import tax.

All that stuff. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:57 pm

DarkLord wrote:Yeah, they had problems with the declared value (I think I just started it out too high, was trying to
be honest - what a concept! :) ).


ahh yep :( $20 max value gets though normally these days. Problem is, even if its $1 over the "limit" then the courier charges like $40 just to send the bill, then they put VAT on their bill, then add the import tax, then put VAT on that. So $1 tax ends up at $50 bill just to pay $1 import tax. I have a feeling you wrote on around $100 value, so works out at about $72 import bill :(

I ended in a rant about this, so I've moved myself into the time out area :)
http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=85&t=28869
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2352
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby spiny » Wed Nov 18, 2015 3:46 pm

bought :)

I'll do a guide too, once it's here :)

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Wed Nov 18, 2015 5:01 pm

spiny wrote:bought :)

I'll do a guide too, once it's here :)


Nice, There shouldn't be much in swapping it anyway. First order and its gone wrong :lol: You ordered the transformer, but thats a different button than the actual PCB part :lol:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2352
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby spiny » Wed Nov 18, 2015 5:16 pm

hahaha, do i need to order the top button as well ?

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Wed Nov 18, 2015 5:35 pm

spiny wrote:hahaha, do i need to order the top button as well ?


Yep - top button is for the PSU - the bottom "menu button" is to add the transformer to the order.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2352
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby spiny » Wed Nov 18, 2015 8:29 pm

hopefully ordered the right bits now :)

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Wed Nov 18, 2015 8:43 pm

spiny wrote:hopefully ordered the right bits now :)


Just come though :) Thanks for your support :cheers:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:33 pm

I have made the PSU order easier, so everything is just in one menu now, so only one button to chose.. as its caught out 2 people already :lol:
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/store.htm

I also have new PSU switches http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=28881

I'm tempted to send a switch to those who pre-order, if people would like one ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2352
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby spiny » Fri Nov 20, 2015 12:40 am

^ new switches would be a good thing I reckon - I know a few of mine do the 'scary arc-ing noise' when I flip then on or off.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Fri Nov 20, 2015 9:42 pm

spiny wrote:^ new switches would be a good thing I reckon - I know a few of mine do the 'scary arc-ing noise' when I flip then on or off.


Yeah, new switches are cool ;) I will send you one, moderator discount ;)

I've molished up a install guide. http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/psu/index.htm#PSUFIT. I need to check it, don't think I have missed anything, maybe some typos.. Will read it again Monday.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
Arawn
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 12:47 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby Arawn » Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:48 am

Hmmm, you said on a previous post that the transformer with the screw and cap will not fit under the shield of the original PSU. And that large capacitor also seems to be quite tall.

It has occurred to me that if we do without the screw and cap and the resulting height permits to keep the shielding, 3 or 4 (or even more) evenly spaced pairs of holes could be made through the PCB and secure the transformer with nylon cable ties? Just throwing an idea for debate...
1040STfm (Spanish), SM125 monitor, Megafile 30, 520STe (4MB), 520STfm (XtraRAM 1MB), Mega STe (4MB, 120MB HDD), Mega ST4, TT030 (4MB+64MB, 1.2GB HDD)

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Sat Nov 21, 2015 8:50 am

Arawn wrote:Hmmm, you said on a previous post that the transformer with the screw and cap will not fit under the shield of the original PSU. And that large capacitor also seems to be quite tall.

It has occurred to me that if we do without the screw and cap and the resulting height permits to keep the shielding, 3 or 4 (or even more) evenly spaced pairs of holes could be made through the PCB and secure the transformer with nylon cable ties? Just throwing an idea for debate...


The bolt is pretty much flush with the top of the transformer. Also as the wires stick up from the top of the transformer, the bolt is actually irrelevant anyway. If you want to keep the metal PSU cover you would have to not use the transformer and use a external one. I did consider other transformers which may fit, but generally they are more expensive and not as efficient as toroidals. Unfortunately lower VA ratings are generally not smaller either. There are tiny versions about, but again, more expensive and they are not easily obtainable. "Swings and roundabouts" .

There is actually no need to keep the PSU cover. In fact its better to remove it to stop the older PSU overheating anyway. I also sell upgraded Original PSU's in my store if you want to keep things original.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Mon Nov 23, 2015 6:04 pm

Quick update -

Got 3 orders and all gone quiet, so started building them up today. Just waiting for the transformers to come and fuses and stuff like that.

Had them powered up with my bench PSU and working good :)

psuitm.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:09 pm

Transformers come and other bits :). Though it seems some transformers "stick up" higher than others :roll: A couple of mm is all it takes to not fit properly. The mounting washers on the transformers are 2mm thick (4mm total), possible a 1mm version could work, though they seem hard to find and may not solve the issue. The metal washer plate also ends up sticking up more because the washers are not flexible enough to mould around it properly :roll: I really don't know why they are so thick as transformers i've had in the past the washers were almost paper thin. I will see if I can get a rubber sheet and cut out some thinner washers first of all.

What I am going to try also, is cutting a 80mm hole in the PCB so the transformer sinks down onto the metal PSU framework, so then there will be about 6mm extra space to play with. I had been thinking of doing away with that area of the PCB on future revisions anyway because of such issues.

I will probably also switch to a 30VA transformer in future builds as its 6mm shorter. The 50VA is somewhat overkill as even pulling 4amps on the 5V rail pulls about 1.7amps from the transformer. So 30VA still gives 2amps total output anyway.

Hopefully will have it sorted in a few days either way :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:01 pm

New rubber arrived. A quick knock-up as only just got home...

psu2.jpg


So for those who had palpitation's can rest easy now ;) Though I still advise not fitting the metal cover as it drastically reduces air flow around the PSU. We all know the "story" of leaving a floppy ontop of the PSU area can help get floppy labels off due to the heat.. well this is a killer for the original PSU's as they get rather hot and with little air-flow = not good.

The wires on the transformer mostly get in the way, though on the "production" PSU's I have shortend the 4 secondary wires so they are more pulled towards the PCB now. The mains wires can be cabled tied down towards the mains socket if needed.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Thu Dec 03, 2015 9:41 pm

2 Production units ready to be sent off soon :)

psuforum.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2352
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby spiny » Thu Dec 03, 2015 10:04 pm

just got to decide which of my Ataris gets 'blessed' with the new PSU :)

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Thu Dec 03, 2015 10:18 pm

spiny wrote:just got to decide which of my Ataris gets 'blessed' with the new PSU :)


Bless them all ;) :lol:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2352
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby spiny » Thu Dec 03, 2015 10:37 pm

once xmas is out the way ... :)

User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1421
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby dlfrsilver » Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:25 pm

I love the sticker 'Made in Britain' :) At last something not made in China ;p !
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:49 pm

dlfrsilver wrote:I love the sticker 'Made in Britain' :) At last something not made in China ;p !


yep exactly. I started to stick them on a lot of stuff of late. The solder I use is made in the UK as well :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby exxos » Sun Dec 06, 2015 11:20 am

Current orders are boxed up ready to go. Will be posted on Monday :)

I will start building up some for stock, but I won't be keeping transformers in stock though as they are £12 each, I have to order 3 to get free carriage. So the store will say pre-order for while then probably be a 1 or 2 week lead time on them in the future.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
Ragstaff
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 610
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby Ragstaff » Sun Dec 06, 2015 1:20 pm

Just going on record to say I WILL order a few of these early next year when finances permit. There are quite a few ST's here in Melbourne that could do with one, I'll be picking 2 or 3 to "bless", as per comments above ;-)

dlfrsilver wrote:I love the sticker 'Made in Britain' :) At last something not made in China ;p !

Agreed! Nice to see this for a change, reminds me of very long ago!

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2352
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: New Atari PSU in the making

Postby spiny » Sun Dec 13, 2015 2:24 pm

mine has turned up, but i'm on holiday, so can't fit it till Tuesday. I'll take loads of pics :)


Social Media

     

Return to “News & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests