ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

User avatar
Dizzy-WEWRF
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:22 pm

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby Dizzy-WEWRF » Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:21 pm

Really a great Tool :)
Dizzy
Everything will become well :)

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3586
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby ijor » Sat Mar 24, 2012 5:18 pm

Hi Chris, Nice tool.

(bold highlite is mine):
wongck wrote:...since ST Recover is supposed to run under Windows 95,98,ME,2000,XP,Vista,7,8 and later (even if I only fully tested it under Vista).


Are you sure it works with Windows 9X/ME? AFAIK, Simon's fdrawcmd driver requires W2K or later. Or are you using your own driver for the earlier Windows?

mOa
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun May 12, 2002 11:53 pm

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby mOa » Wed Apr 18, 2012 5:25 pm

ChrisB wrote:
By the way, I don't remember if I fully tested my program with 11 sectors/track disks. [I wrote this application in 2010, and I can't access my ST right now]
If someone can test this kind of format and tell if it works fine, he would help me.

I'm interested in debug infos also, when sectors can't be read even after several tries.
If you check the option "Save track information debug" up in the interface, that produces raw track files that can help me.


I can confirm it works very well with 11 sectors disks. IMHO ST Recover is the best floppy reading tool I've tested so far :cheers:

I have a few requests too :D
- Configurable tracks to read
- Overrunning Disk configuration
- Configurable read error repeats

Well, I hope you understand what I mean ;)

Thank you for ST Recover

User avatar
teh3pwner
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:31 pm
Location: Slovenia, Ptuj
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby teh3pwner » Fri Apr 20, 2012 2:59 pm

Any hope for this floppy, it contains a yahtzee game in croatian made by my dad's old friend and it would be a shame if it got lost.

The image created with ST recover took 10 hours and won't work with emulators, MSA Converter finds jiberish-name folder and nothing else.
Anything else I could do to fix it, suggestions wanted. :)

ST-Recover Debug data for ChrisB: http://www.mediafire.com/?lqis33tslljdz1g
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
Image

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby nativ » Fri Apr 20, 2012 5:11 pm

Does it read on a real ST?

What does it look like in Fastcopy? Knife ST or something similar?

If you are able to view or recover the files on the ST side before transfer it might help.

Any idea of the file size? or whether there were other files on the disk?
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
teh3pwner
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:31 pm
Location: Slovenia, Ptuj
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby teh3pwner » Fri Apr 20, 2012 10:36 pm

Hi, I managed to make a copy of the floppy with fcopy3, fcopy says only sector 1 track 1 is damaged.
I made a .ST image with pperas floppy image program and I tried running the game in emu and real ST,
and get 4 bombs or ilegal operation and processor halt.

Could someone please try it, and is there a way to fix the prg?????
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
Image

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby nativ » Fri Apr 20, 2012 11:18 pm

Cool!

Did Fcopy come up with an option to retry on the error track? Keep retrying ! maybe 20+ times! Ithink you can set number of retries in Fcopy, but it's somehow best to do it manually? try a few consecutive retries then a couple halfway before spin down and some after spin down ( drive access has stopped ).

With any luck with the disk you now have there should be most of the data intact, unless it was self booting? and had a bootsector?
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
teh3pwner
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:31 pm
Location: Slovenia, Ptuj
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby teh3pwner » Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:10 am

When I used ST recover on the copy of the bad disk the entire sector 11 is red, and the game prg doesn't work. The floppy was autobootable.
Fcopy can't read disk info, Is there any way to tell the right amount of sectors and tracks????

So this it the entire floppy content, I'm only interested in saving SUPERYAH.3_0, the folder contains SUPERYAH.PRG and SY_HISCR.LST. Is there a way to copy only superyah from bad floppy.

Also I managed to contact the author Miljenko Vrankovic, but he lost the original floppy when he moved. There was also an Amiga version called Top Yahtzee 1.06.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
Image

User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby Klapauzius » Sat Apr 21, 2012 12:00 pm

teh3pwner wrote:Hi, I managed to make a copy of the floppy with fcopy3, fcopy says only sector 1 track 1 is damaged.


If Fcopy is able to read the disk with one bad sector only, then I'd try to make a *.DIM image of the disk in Fcopy. It's the "Image Copy" option in Fcopy. Not sure if you need FCopy Pro for the image function.
When Fcopy doesn't want to read the bad sector, just skip it. It should not be needed for the game you want to rescue.

Or copy the disk with Fcopy to another floppy and make an ST image from that one.

The ST image you posted here seems to be missing all the sectors # 11, so it's not recoverable.

Post the DIM image or the new ST image here and I'll try to extract the game you need from it. :)
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2403
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby charles » Sat Apr 21, 2012 12:02 pm

does this windows tool allow copy resistant disks with special formats to be copied , and i am with who ever said does it copy the images back to real disk

this just might be a great device for preservation of old floppies the st can not copy (because of copy protection tricks)

charles
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby nativ » Sat Apr 21, 2012 12:28 pm

Klapauzius wrote:
teh3pwner wrote:Hi, I managed to make a copy of the floppy with fcopy3, fcopy says only sector 1 track 1 is damaged.


If Fcopy is able to read the disk with one bad sector only, then I'd try to make a *.DIM image of the disk in Fcopy. It's the "Image Copy" option in Fcopy. Not sure if you need FCopy Pro for the image function.
When Fcopy doesn't want to read the bad sector, just skip it. It should not be needed for the game you want to rescue.

Or copy the disk with Fcopy to another floppy and make an ST image from that one.

The ST image you posted here seems to be missing all the sectors # 11, so it's not recoverable.

Post the DIM image or the new ST image here and I'll try to extract the game you need from it. :)



I'd try a straight desktop copy of just the files required aswell.
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
teh3pwner
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:31 pm
Location: Slovenia, Ptuj
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby teh3pwner » Sat Apr 21, 2012 1:46 pm

Hi, fcopy wont read disk info, how do I set up floppy parameters in fcopy, sectors and tracks????
When i try to desktop copy the 2 files it says A: is damaged.
Image
Image

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby nativ » Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:04 pm

[quote="teh3pwner"]Hi, fcopy wont read disk info,

I think SCAN DISK will autofill the results

how do I set up floppy parameters in fcopy, sectors and tracks????

On the Right hand side you should have SIDES / SECTORS / TRACKS

On the Left there are ALL and USED to try getting or scanning ALL sectors or just the ones with data present 'USED'

When i try to desktop copy the 2 files it says A: is damaged.

Worth a try! :) you have tried from your copied .ST disk and the original?
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
teh3pwner
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:31 pm
Location: Slovenia, Ptuj
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby teh3pwner » Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:10 pm

I tried to desktop copy with copy and original. Original won't even open floppy say it's damaged right away. Copy says it's damaged when
i try to copy.

I don't know how the floppy was formatted, so how many sectors?, the last track is 81 I think.
Image
Image

User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby Klapauzius » Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:02 pm

From the ST image you posted here it's

2 sides
11 sectors
tracks 0 - 83 (!)
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby nativ » Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:07 pm

Klapauzius wrote:From the ST image you posted here it's

2 sides
11 sectors
tracks 0 - 83 (!)


that could well account for the failure of the disk... really maxxxed out


another piece of software to have a go with! :) http://phoenix.inf.upol.cz/~opichals/jay/ JayMSA
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
teh3pwner
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:31 pm
Location: Slovenia, Ptuj
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby teh3pwner » Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:51 pm

I managed to create a DIM image with fcopy pro, but when I open image in emu it shows no files.
So here it is, give it a try when you have some time klaz, thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
Image

User avatar
CoolCoyote
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 12:00 pm

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby CoolCoyote » Sun Apr 22, 2012 5:43 am

Hi ChrisB

Thanks for your StRecover,i used it and work like a charm.
I get back my compils.

BTW,there is just a n little bug on Win7,when you adjust the windows,the sector mapping dont adjust too.There is an blank.

Thanks again dude!
Image
ImageTylerDurden67real

User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby Klapauzius » Sun Apr 22, 2012 7:34 am

Ok, it was easy to repair the disk now. A combination of your old ST image and your new DIM image resulted in a working disk again. :)

Was Super Yahtzee a commercial game? It's missing on Atarimania in any case...

Super Yahtzee.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.

User avatar
teh3pwner
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:31 pm
Location: Slovenia, Ptuj
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby teh3pwner » Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:37 pm

Thank you very much for repairing the image. The game was shareware. It should be added to atarimania.
Thanks again klaz :D :D :D

Now time to play some yahtzee :D
Image
Image

User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby Klapauzius » Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:08 pm

You are welcome. :)
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby KLund1 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 12:07 am

This program looks like just what I need. I posted a question a couple years back about the best way to recover corrupted ST disks. Fcopy, knife were no help.
But nowhere is it listed (that i could see, but i wear glasses), but I'm assuming that this program works with standard 1.44mb floppy drives, and the driver you link to will let a 1.44mb drive read a ST ssfd, and dsfd?
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2494
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby spiny » Wed May 02, 2012 10:31 pm

KLund1 wrote:but I'm assuming that this program works with standard 1.44mb floppy drives, and the driver you link to will let a 1.44mb drive read a ST ssfd, and dsfd?


yes :)

User avatar
ChrisB
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 4:44 pm

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby ChrisB » Thu May 24, 2012 11:54 am

Hello
I'm back after two months.

ijor wrote:Are you sure it works with Windows 9X/ME? AFAIK, Simon's fdrawcmd driver requires W2K or later. Or are you using your own driver for the earlier Windows?


There is an adaptation for Windows 9x/ME, but only for reading the sane sectors. Win 2000+ is required for the deep track analysis and sector recovery (using fdrawcmd).
Anyway, I did not test the software under Win 9X since it is not installed on my desktop PC, so I cannot guarantee anything except I wrote the according code.
If someone wants to test it and tell us if the sector reading works at least, that could be interesting to know (but not very important, frankly).
Author of ST Recover

User avatar
ChrisB
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 4:44 pm

Re: ST Recover, a new ST disk utility on Windows

Postby ChrisB » Thu May 24, 2012 12:01 pm

mOa wrote:I can confirm it works very well with 11 sectors disks. IMHO ST Recover is the best floppy reading tool I've tested so far :cheers:

I have a few requests too :D
- Configurable tracks to read
- Overrunning Disk configuration
- Configurable read error repeats

Well, I hope you understand what I mean ;)


Thanks for the information, I did not remember if I tested 11 sectors/track so much.

Your suggestions are noted, although I can't say when I have free time to implement and test them.

Anyway I recall anybody can download the source code and improve the software. The only limit is it is entirely commented in French. ;)
Author of ST Recover


Social Media

     

Return to “News & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests