Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

ctirad
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 259
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby ctirad » Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:55 pm

Rustynutt wrote:Think the Magnum card uses a different address.


NOVA Falcon + Magnum works, so you can have 8MB RAM total (or perhaps even 10MB?). Same thing for the Blow-UP FX alt RAM.
NOVA allways eats 4MB of the address space normally used by ST-RAM, regardless the physical VRAM size available on the card.

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby Rustynutt » Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:01 am

There's 4 different RAM in a sentence :)
Magnum memory 8mb total.
ST RAM address "space" (upper or lower as opposed to 14?)
ST RAM memory 4mb RAM only in this case
D or V RAM to make pretty pictures bigger :)

Maybe memory speed isn't king here, but the NOVA allows the VIDEL to be turned off. Beats TC mode just about every which way, other than games and demos......ugg...Planet Scene Generator works :)

Don't forget, with memory at $0100 0000, you need an FRB and cookie that HDD can do, and even the oldest version of NVDI to disable blitter reading to and fro from this memory. I think :)

Cool info here :

http://the.protos.free.fr/TT030/tt-ram.htm


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests