Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1651
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby frank.lukas » Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:43 pm

The Nova Falcon work at the moment exclusively with a ATI ISA MACH64 Graphiccard. The Falcon can have only 4MB ST Ram, 14MB do not work.

Falcon_Nova_klein.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4186
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby joska » Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:34 pm

Are you selling these now?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1651
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby frank.lukas » Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:29 pm

Yes
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby Ektus » Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:31 pm

It can have more RAM, but only with a Magnum Falcon and a special setting. 4MB ST-RAM plus 6MB Alternate-RAM or some such? Can't remember, it's been a long time :-(

Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby viking272 » Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:06 am

Looks good, I couldn't see any info on the creation of this.
So a few questions
does it fit in standard Falcon case with graphics card?
Does it need better psu
What's the cost plus EU shipping
Will it ever work with 14mb Falcons?
there are a few types of these cards, does it work with all types or specific spec? Eg 5v

Thanks

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1651
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:56 am

viking272 wrote:does it fit in standard Falcon case with graphics card?

no

viking272 wrote:Does it need better psu

no

viking272 wrote:Will it ever work with 14mb Falcons?

no


frank.lukas wrote:The Nova Falcon work at the moment exclusively with a ATI ISA MACH64 Graphiccard. The Falcon can have only 4MB ST Ram, 14MB do not work.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby viking272 » Wed Aug 15, 2018 11:43 am

Thanks Frank

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4186
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby joska » Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:09 pm

frank.lukas wrote:
viking272 wrote:does it fit in standard Falcon case with graphics card?

no


That is not entirely correct. It will fit if you replace the stock PSU with a PicoPSU (or an external PSU) and relocate the harddisk. You'll need to fabricate some brackets though, and also make a short extension for the graphics card's VGA connector so you can access it from the outside. Use a short piece of flat cable so you can route it through one of the existing holes in the cabinet instead of making a new hole.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 594
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby Rustynutt » Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:49 pm

Works with a Mighty Sonic w/ 32mb TT Ram and Afterburner w/64mb TT Ram.
Think the Magnum card uses a different address. I tried it with an Eagle Sonic and had issues. BUT I was using the Mighty Sonic "FAFA8 to try and load the Magnum ram, I didn't think at the time it uses another application to load the ram on the expansion bus. Still, the Falcon can only use 4mb ST ram, but with either of those cards, most the ST ram is open anyway. I moved the NOVA card and Afterburner around in a stock case, like Jo Even said , you'd need an external P/S.

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 594
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby Rustynutt » Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:31 pm

frank.lukas wrote:The Nova Falcon work at the moment exclusively with a ATI ISA MACH64 Graphiccard. The Falcon can have only 4MB ST Ram, 14MB do not work.

Falcon_Nova_klein.jpg


Frank, do you have customer link yet?
Don't see them on your normal sales.

This one will work ? Have the 2MB module, can't fine it right now.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1651
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby frank.lukas » Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:45 pm

ATI MACH64 2MB will work fine. I will sell them October ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 594
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby Rustynutt » Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:42 am

Coolness!

TXG/MNX
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby TXG/MNX » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:15 am

Can they work with ct60e with 512mb?

TXG/MNX
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby TXG/MNX » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:17 am

Do you know why they not work with 14mb ?

TXG/MNX
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby TXG/MNX » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:17 am

Do you know why they not work with 14mb ?

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1215
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:46 am

Because the video memory of the card uses the same memory range as a part of the 14MB ST ram does.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1651
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby frank.lukas » Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:26 am

Nova Falcon do not work the a CT60/63 or CT63e ...

TXG/MNX wrote:Do you know why they not work with 14mb ?


Master of Gizmo say it ...

NO
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

Silly_Pony
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:18 pm

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby Silly_Pony » Mon Sep 17, 2018 12:12 am

4MB in MegaSTE with your nova adapter already annoying, hard disk driver, novavdi, gdos, some .acc = 2.4mb left

But in falcon just cruel. All that power and no ram. So an interesting but pointless development.
1040STe, 1040STf

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby mikro » Mon Sep 17, 2018 5:49 am

Silly_Pony wrote:So an interesting but pointless development.

Indeed. Back then I didn't have much information about stuff like Magnum or NOVA for the Falcon but I kind of assumed they are equally great as on the MegaSTE/TT (i.e. greatly enhancing its capabilities). Only recently I have realised how poorly designed these were when it came to Falcon.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4186
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby joska » Mon Sep 17, 2018 7:02 am

Silly_Pony wrote:But in falcon just cruel. All that power and no ram. So an interesting but pointless development.


What if you have a Falcon with Fast-RAM? I had a Nova in my Falcon/AB years ago, but stupidly sold it when I got an Eclipse for it. The Nova was absolutely brilliant, and far from pointless. Great performance, very stable. I'm getting one now to replace the unstable/unfinished Eclipse :)

mikro wrote:Only recently I have realised how poorly designed these were when it came to Falcon.


Well, if you want to have a 4Mb graphics card in a stock Falcon you don't have that much choice considering its 24 bit address bus. Yes, you can use bankswitching like on the Eclipse, but only at the expense of performance. I have experience with both and prefer the Nova.

That said, a Nova adapter with integrated alt-RAM would be a good solution for stock Falcons. You should be able to have four or five Mb in addition to the Nova. Would have been very expensive in the early 90's, but quite cheap today.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

derkom
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:29 pm

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby derkom » Mon Sep 17, 2018 7:09 am

joska wrote:a Nova adapter with integrated alt-RAM would be a good solution for stock Falcons. You should be able to have four or five Mb in addition to the Nova. Would have been very expensive in the early 90's, but quite cheap today.


This would be a superb solution for those of us who didn't manage to get CT*s when they were available. :)

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby mikro » Mon Sep 17, 2018 7:10 am

joska wrote:That said, a Nova adapter with integrated alt-RAM would be a good solution for stock Falcons.

Exactly. That is what I meant -- we had the Magnum ST/E which was a brilliant alt-RAM solution for its time and we had NOVA which was a brilliant graphics solution. On the Falcon, Magnum actually still wasn't fast RAM, just another 16-bit alt-RAM (on the expense of sacrificing normal ST-RAM...) and NOVA hated more RAM anyway so you needed special hacks to disable its upper 2 MB to get the NOVA working. So an integrated solution would make much more sense but as you say, would be also far more expensive.

Edited according to this thread: viewtopic.php?f=27&t=31168 (failing memory...)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4186
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby joska » Mon Sep 17, 2018 7:43 am

mikro wrote:and NOVA hated more RAM anyway so you needed special hacks to disable its upper 2 MB to get the NOVA working.


I don't think any special hacks are needed, the Magnum Falcon is configured by software.

https://forum.atari-home.de/index.php?topic=11331.0
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

Silly_Pony
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:18 pm

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby Silly_Pony » Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:01 am

joska wrote:What if you have a Falcon with Fast-RAM?


I'm sure both of those people will enjoy it then.
1040STe, 1040STf

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 594
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Falcon Nova Adapter ...

Postby Rustynutt » Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:13 am

Freaking awesome on my Afterburner.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests