Falcon Microbox schematic? (Cadstar / Gerbers)

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

rthorntn
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 3:50 am
Location: Sydney

Falcon Microbox schematic? (Cadstar / Gerbers)

Postby rthorntn » Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:37 pm

Hi,

With the gerbers czietz posted, does anyone have a schematic and/or parts list for this board?

In the czietz files the drill sizes appear to be corrupted.

Thanks.

Richard
MSTE (4MB, 2.06) + Lightning VME + SCSI2SD 5.1

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: Falcon Microbox schematic? (Cadstar / Gerbers)

Postby czietz » Tue Jul 31, 2018 5:41 am

Just to be sure: you're talking about this board? https://www.chzsoft.de/asic-web/microbox-pcb-color.pdf? Not the regular Falcon board?
If so, BOM is attached.

EDIT: PS: It's not that the drill sizes are corrupted, they are simply not specified in the drills file. The factory would know what tool 1 - tool 13 was, so the sizes don't need to be specified.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 809
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Falcon Microbox schematic? (Cadstar / Gerbers)

Postby dhedberg » Tue Jul 31, 2018 11:31 am

Oh, every time somebody brings up the Falcon Microbox I get sad. Sad that Atari never managed to release that machine. The Falcon was OK, but the Microbox would have been great.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

rthorntn
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 3:50 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Falcon Microbox schematic? (Cadstar / Gerbers)

Postby rthorntn » Tue Jul 31, 2018 11:46 am

Thanks czietz, much appreciated.

I'm thinking out loud, if a PCB was fabricated, could working parts be sourced (were there any custom IC's that only the microbox had), could a working microbox be created (did it use the same TOS as a Falcon)?
Last edited by rthorntn on Tue Jul 31, 2018 11:59 am, edited 2 times in total.
MSTE (4MB, 2.06) + Lightning VME + SCSI2SD 5.1

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1507
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Falcon Microbox schematic? (Cadstar / Gerbers)

Postby Cyprian » Tue Jul 31, 2018 11:50 am

can someone point me out the difference between Falcon 030 and Microbox?
There is not to much details: http://www.atarimuseum.com/computers/16 ... /index.htm

I know about 32bit data bus for CPU and 3 expansion slots
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

mpattonm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Falcon Microbox schematic? (Cadstar / Gerbers)

Postby mpattonm » Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:08 pm

I have only reviewed Microbox PCB layout, as I have not managed to find the tool to open the schematic with, and it seems to me that Atari planned to introduce new chips revision in Microbox in order to achieve higher component integration and smaller footprint. Some mission critical chips are missing on Microbox PCB, in example, you will no longer find any GALs there. Also some Atari silicon is missing the P/N in the BOM and only references new revision. Needles to say these revisions were not released.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest