Lightning VME is here

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

User avatar
whiskey
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 11:36 pm

Lightning VME is here

Postby whiskey » Thu Apr 05, 2018 7:58 am

...and it's beautiful. Got the package 2 days ago and only will have time to install tomorrow aaargh
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby Orion_ » Thu Apr 05, 2018 9:46 am

This is awesome !
I just bought a Mega STe, I couldn't dream of a better way for transferring files !
Where can we buy this ?
Is it compatible with Frank Lukas ET4000 adapter ?
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

User avatar
whiskey
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 11:36 pm

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby whiskey » Thu Apr 05, 2018 10:55 am

Orion_ wrote:This is awesome !
I just bought a Mega STe, I couldn't dream of a better way for transferring files !
Where can we buy this ?
Is it compatible with Frank Lukas ET4000 adapter ?

no idea about the ET4000 adapter, see here for details:
http://wiki.newtosworld.de/index.php?ti ... _Interface

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1620
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby frank.lukas » Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:54 am

The Lightning works fine with all Nova VME Adapter. You need to patch the Nova with a single wire and a spezial GAL. The Driver Software are the same ...

patch_klein.jpg


-> http://wiki.newtosworld.de/index.php?ti ... _Interface
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby Orion_ » Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:05 pm

Is the GAL reprogrammable ? (I have an eeprom programmer which is compatible with GAL 20V8)
Where can I get the new GAL binary ?

Where can we buy the Lightning VME ? (I can't find any website with a link to buy)
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1620
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby frank.lukas » Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:16 pm

Orion_ wrote:Is the GAL reprogrammable ? (I have an eeprom programmer which is compatible with GAL 20V8)
Where can I get the new GAL binary ?


reprogrammable = yes

To buy write "tuxie" a PM ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
whiskey
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 11:36 pm

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby whiskey » Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:21 pm

Orion_ wrote:Where can we buy the Lightning VME ? (I can't find any website with a link to buy)

In the Atari TT users group on Facebook they listed this email for orders (and it worked for me):
thunderstorm at tuxie de

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12466
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby wongck » Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:56 pm

:thumbs: ah another hardware for the Atari.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2702
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby alexh » Thu Apr 05, 2018 4:59 pm

I like the idea. Applaud the designers. USB is not an easy thing to support especially for an non OS friendly environment like the Atari ST.

How many VME slots does a MegaSTe have? Mine are empty at the moment but I always assumed a gfx card might go in there eventually.

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby czietz » Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:22 pm

alexh wrote:I like the idea. Applaud the designers. USB is not an easy thing to support especially for an non OS friendly environment like the Atari ST.


The Lightning VME wouldn't be possible though without your work (among others) of bringing an USB stack to MiNT and TOS in the first place. Thank you!

alexh wrote:How many VME slots does a MegaSTe have? Mine are empty at the moment but I always assumed a gfx card might go in there eventually.


It has only one slot. That's why we designed the Lightning VME to sit between the motherboard and the VME riser card. You can see how it's mounted (in the TT) on http://wiki.newtosworld.de/index.php?ti ... sh_Version.

Thus, the VME slot itself stays free and can be used for other cards. As noted above, the Nova requires a small hardware patch; some other VME cards we tested work without any modifications.

User avatar
whiskey
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 11:36 pm

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby whiskey » Fri Apr 06, 2018 4:33 pm

czietz wrote:The Lightning VME wouldn't be possible though without your work (among others) of bringing an USB stack to MiNT and TOS in the first place. Thank you!

Thanks to all involved either directly or indirectly.

I got one question - is there a way to use usb2lan ethernet connectivity under plain TOS? If I understood correctly, the network chip drivers are for MiNT only.

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby czietz » Fri Apr 06, 2018 6:59 pm

whiskey wrote:I got one question - is there a way to use usb2lan ethernet connectivity under plain TOS? If I understood correctly, the network chip drivers are for MiNT only.


This is correct -- right now there is no USB2LAN support under TOS. Someone would have to develop a STinG driver or similar, because the current driver requires the MiNT TCP/IP stack that (obviously) is not available under plain TOS.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12466
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby wongck » Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:58 am

I just took at look at the photos.
Wow... very clever design indeed!!! :D
Placed in between the inputs cables and the VME back-plane.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby viking272 » Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:23 am

Amazing work guys, looks a really polished product

User avatar
whiskey
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 11:36 pm

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby whiskey » Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:30 am

czietz wrote:This is correct -- right now there is no USB2LAN support under TOS. Someone would have to develop a STinG driver or similar, because the current driver requires the MiNT TCP/IP stack that (obviously) is not available under plain TOS.

that means I will have to install MiNT in order to have network connectivity to transfer files. Last time I did something like that was installing MultiTOS in 1995 8O

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby PeterS » Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:59 am

Lovely work. It's good to see USB on more Atari machines, it can benefit everyone.

User avatar
whiskey
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 11:36 pm

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby whiskey » Sun Apr 08, 2018 5:35 pm

Works like a dream, tested a usb mouse and a usb stick. Copied a partition image from SCSI to the usb stick using hddriver.
However, with Lightning installed my TT memory board doesn't fit. I guess I have to buy Thunder&Storm as well...
IMG_20180408_192902.jpg
IMG_20180408_192843.jpg
IMG_20180408_191927.jpg
IMG_20180408_193014.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby mzry » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:51 am

Mine will be arriving this week, also with some GALs that will *hopefully* fix my TT that stopped working, fingers crossed.
Falcon ct63e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - SCSI2SD - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64

remig
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 8:04 am

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby remig » Thu Jun 14, 2018 6:18 am

Does someone managed to use the lightning vme with Freemint? It works fine under tos/magic, but under Mint 1.19 it froze just after loading the lightning vme driver. Tried with 1.10 and 1.20 drivers.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1620
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby frank.lukas » Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:43 am

For me it working fine under MiNT/XaAES. May be your 1-19-cur is to old? What all in your USB Folder?
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby czietz » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:39 am

remig wrote:Does someone managed to use the lightning vme with Freemint? It works fine under tos/magic, but under Mint 1.19 it froze just after loading the lightning vme driver. Tried with 1.10 and 1.20 drivers.


Please post a screenshot showing the messages on screen after your system froze. Generally speaking, Lightning VME works fine under MiNT 1.19. All of us developers use MiNT and also a lot of users.

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 886
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby Atarieterno » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:07 am

Lightning is incompatible with Cubase.
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby czietz » Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:45 am

Atarieterno wrote:Lightning is incompatible with Cubase.


Define "incompatible".

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 886
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby Atarieterno » Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:50 am

czietz wrote:
Atarieterno wrote:Lightning is incompatible with Cubase.


Define "incompatible".



With the Lightning drivers loaded in memory: Cubase does not start.
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

remig
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 8:04 am

Re: Lightning VME is here

Postby remig » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:34 pm

czietz wrote:
remig wrote:Does someone managed to use the lightning vme with Freemint? It works fine under tos/magic, but under Mint 1.19 it froze just after loading the lightning vme driver. Tried with 1.10 and 1.20 drivers.


Please post a screenshot showing the messages on screen after your system froze. Generally speaking, Lightning VME works fine under MiNT 1.19. All of us developers use MiNT and also a lot of users.


Here's the screenshot under 1.19.379. My USB folder only contain the files supplied in the 120 release.

I also tried to switch with the usb km and the usb loader from the 1.19.379, same result.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests