NVDI + ET4000 + Color resolution probs.

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

NVDI + ET4000 + Color resolution probs.

Postby Gaiyan » Tue Sep 05, 2017 11:47 am

So I got a working ET4000 setup using Frank's adapter. No worries using the drivers from Idek. I'd like to try with NVDI 5.03 and I can get mono resolutions working fine. Only when I select a color resolution my screen gets all white and wonky. I can move the mouse and it's causing weird glitches on its path. It's working in mono so all programs are in the right order. Any tips?
Image

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: NVDI + ET4000 + Color resolution probs.

Postby Gaiyan » Tue Sep 05, 2017 3:39 pm

Hmm. I think I got it figured. I had to select another card from the VMG-4000.PRG to get colors to work. All's good.
Image

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1445
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NVDI + ET4000 + Color resolution probs.

Postby frank.lukas » Tue Sep 05, 2017 4:02 pm

Please share your memory address and the I/O address with us ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: NVDI + ET4000 + Color resolution probs.

Postby Gaiyan » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:41 am

frank.lukas wrote:Please share your memory address and the I/O address with us ...


Looks like I'm still having issues regarding the palette. It's all wonky. I've tried NVDI drivers and Idek's drivers. I've tried N.AES and XaAES. I've tried loading different palettes. Colours are funky.

In VMG-4000.PRG I've had to select Spectrum HC with Screenbaseaddress: $ FEC00000 and Registerbaseaddress: $ FED003B0. It's the only card that let's me test resolutions.

As a result, I can no longer use 72Mhz dot clock to generate 1280x960 in 16 colours.
Image

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: NVDI + ET4000 + Color resolution probs.

Postby Rustynutt » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:48 am

Have a Spectrum HC in my TT. Couldn't find the original driver. Not much luck really getting anything to work properly outside of 800*600 (834...). This card is a VME, no adapter. The NVDI configuration tool isn't the easiest to interpret, IMHO
If you work out setting, please share :)

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1445
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NVDI + ET4000 + Color resolution probs.

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:53 am

Try to select the Mega4000 Adapter with FEDC0000 for the memory Address and FED003B0 for the I/O ...

NVDI is pity with the RamDACs !
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: NVDI + ET4000 + Color resolution probs.

Postby Gaiyan » Wed Sep 06, 2017 8:37 am

frank.lukas wrote:Try to select the Mega4000 Adapter with FEDC0000 for the memory Address and FED003B0 for the I/O ...

NVDI is pity with the RamDACs !


I don't have Mega4000 option on the list. I selected ET4000 when installing NVDI. Should I have selected Nova?
Image

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1445
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NVDI + ET4000 + Color resolution probs.

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:11 am

What NVDI Version you use ?

Try NVDI 5 or better 4 ...

Send me your eMail Address via PM, I can give you NVDI 3 and 4
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: NVDI + ET4000 + Color resolution probs.

Postby Gaiyan » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:15 am

I have NVDI 5.03. I have access to all NVDI versions. NVDI 4 ET4000 is better?
Image

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1445
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NVDI + ET4000 + Color resolution probs.

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:23 am

You have to use NVDI ET4000. In the English Version from NVDI 5 the VMG Program is a very old Version. The VMG from the german version is newer ...

NVDI4 ET4000 is better, it use a lot fewer Ram.

When NVDI ET4000 will not work use the NOVA Driver together with NVDI5 with the install Option NOVA ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: NVDI + ET4000 + Color resolution probs.

Postby Gaiyan » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:25 am

frank.lukas wrote:You have to use NVDI ET4000. In the English Version from NVDI 5 the VMG Program is a very old Version. The VMG from the german version is newer ...

NVDI4 ET4000 is better, it use a lot fewer Ram.

When NVDI ET4000 will not work use the NOVA Driver together with NVDI5 with the install Option NOVA ...


I see. I was wondering why it was so different. Thanks for the tips! I'll let you know when I get a chance.
Image

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: NVDI + ET4000 + Color resolution probs.

Postby Rustynutt » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:53 pm

Same here, was using ET V5. Going to pull the Spectrum and stick in your adapter and ET card after messing with a problematic Falcon.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests