VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, lp, [ProToS], moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1108
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby leech » Tue Jul 04, 2017 12:50 pm

Very nice case! Had a good play on the Falcon yesterday and got just about everything working again after the CT60 upgrade. Haven't gotten the BlowUP to work in MiNT yet, that's the next step!
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dhedberg » Tue Jul 04, 2017 12:53 pm

leech wrote:Very nice case! Had a good play on the Falcon yesterday and got just about everything working again after the CT60 upgrade. Haven't gotten the BlowUP to work in MiNT yet, that's the next step!

Thanks! It required some patience and thinking though. :-)
Hope you'll get your setup all working soon.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
Trixster
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:15 pm
Location: England

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Trixster » Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:37 pm

Can someone please give set-by-step instructions for using this hardware and the BlowUP software on both TOS at Mint?

I'm using XaAES 1.6.4 and Mint 1-19-cur and cannot get the software to produce a 1024x768 16 colour picture, i just get a corrupted desktop. Full install instructions would be useful, like where the various .prg files go etc. I'm also getting some interference at 640x480 which s really quite annoying.
Atari Falcon + CT60e | Atari 2600 | Atari Jaguar | A1200 + 80mhz B1260 + Indi AGA2 + Ide-fix Express | SNES
A4000/060 CS Mk2 + Indi AGA + Voodoo3 + G3 800Mhz PPC + Deneb | A3000/060 + CV64 + Deneb + 486SLC2 | PS1
Acorn A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Atom | Master Turbo | A500 | C64 | 3DO | Saturn | PS2 | CPC6128

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dhedberg » Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:56 pm

Trixster wrote:Can someone please give set-by-step instructions for using this hardware and the BlowUP software on both TOS at Mint?

For TOS:
- Install the BlowUp software.
- Make sure BLOWBOOT.PRG is in AUTO folder and is the last AUTO program to execute.
- BLOWACC.ACC should be in C: root (assuming you boot from C:)
- Edit the DEFAULT.BCF file and add the lines found in an earlier post in this thread.
- Start BLOWCONF.PRG and load one of the 1024x768 settings, click SAVE BOOT, and repeat for the other 2 1024x768 configurations. SAVE BOOT will save the current loaded configuration to BLOWBOOT.PRG so that you can configure what resolution to use for different color depths using the BLOWACC.ACC. Note when later on specifying a video mode in the BLOWACC.ACC it will not actually change the video mode. The setting will be applied the next time you change video mode using the Desktop menu.

Trixster wrote:I'm using XaAES 1.6.4 and Mint 1-19-cur and cannot get the software to produce a 1024x768 16 colour picture, i just get a corrupted desktop. Full install instructions would be useful, like where the various .prg files go etc. I'm also getting some interference at 640x480 which s really quite annoying.

Please see the 3-in-1 manual regarding the interference in 640x480. The interference can be due to many reasons. A simple and quick solution is to simply to turn off the external oscillator with the +5V SOURCE switch on the 3-in-1 adapter when you're not using a video mode making use of the oscillator, i.e., one of the standard video modes.

Also if you intend to use the 1024x768 mode, make sure you use the 50MHz oscillator. 40MHz isn't enough.

EDIT: You should put the video mode configurations in the DEFAULT.BCF file and not the STANDARD.BCF file as I first stated. Sorry...
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
Trixster
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:15 pm
Location: England

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Trixster » Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:05 pm

Thanks for the info.

The files i have in my C:\blowup folder (which is where i unzipped the archive) are:

BLOWACC.PRG
BLOWBOOT.DAT
BLOWCONF.PRG
BLOWCONF.RSC
DEFAULT.BCF
STANDARD.BCF

plus a few others.

I dont see a BLOWBOOT.PRG or a BLOWACC.ACC

Mint and XaAES are what i use day-to-day. Any info on getting this working with XaAES?
Atari Falcon + CT60e | Atari 2600 | Atari Jaguar | A1200 + 80mhz B1260 + Indi AGA2 + Ide-fix Express | SNES
A4000/060 CS Mk2 + Indi AGA + Voodoo3 + G3 800Mhz PPC + Deneb | A3000/060 + CV64 + Deneb + 486SLC2 | PS1
Acorn A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Atom | Master Turbo | A500 | C64 | 3DO | Saturn | PS2 | CPC6128

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dhedberg » Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:09 pm

There should be an installer. Did you run it?
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
Trixster
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:15 pm
Location: England

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Trixster » Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:18 pm

I did.

I first disable Videlity in TOS and then ran the blowup installer. it asked for my name and the code you provided in the PM. It also gave C:\Blowup as the install directory which i assumed was correct. Is it not? Should it be installed directly to c: ?
Atari Falcon + CT60e | Atari 2600 | Atari Jaguar | A1200 + 80mhz B1260 + Indi AGA2 + Ide-fix Express | SNES
A4000/060 CS Mk2 + Indi AGA + Voodoo3 + G3 800Mhz PPC + Deneb | A3000/060 + CV64 + Deneb + 486SLC2 | PS1
Acorn A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Atom | Master Turbo | A500 | C64 | 3DO | Saturn | PS2 | CPC6128

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dhedberg » Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:51 pm

No. You did the right thing, the installer should put blowboot.prg in c:\auto and blowacc.acc in c:\

Arw they not there?
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
Trixster
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:15 pm
Location: England

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Trixster » Wed Jul 19, 2017 5:33 am

They don't appear to be. I shall give it another try tonight!
Atari Falcon + CT60e | Atari 2600 | Atari Jaguar | A1200 + 80mhz B1260 + Indi AGA2 + Ide-fix Express | SNES
A4000/060 CS Mk2 + Indi AGA + Voodoo3 + G3 800Mhz PPC + Deneb | A3000/060 + CV64 + Deneb + 486SLC2 | PS1
Acorn A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Atom | Master Turbo | A500 | C64 | 3DO | Saturn | PS2 | CPC6128

User avatar
trecool
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 2:49 pm
Location: Greece

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby trecool » Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:58 pm

OK, this is my attempt to make something quick with this little box!

pic143.jpg

pic144.jpg

pic142.jpg

I had another idea that didn't work so I had to repair my mess...

pic147.jpg

pic146.jpg

pic145.jpg


I just made two holes big enough to be able to switch modes using a toothpick :lol:
I mean, come on, you never really use those switches...ok maybe rgb mode sometimes :roll:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1108
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby leech » Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:07 pm

I'm thinking of investing in a 3D printer, and if I do, I'll see if I can make something that fits these. Maybe even see if I can make the design similar to the VGA Falcon adapter.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

itaboy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 6:24 pm

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby itaboy » Thu Jul 20, 2017 5:50 pm

go leech, go! ;)

dimfil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:48 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dimfil » Fri Dec 29, 2017 6:14 pm

I know, I'm a little bit late to the "party" but I have to ask...

Is there any adapter available?
If not, is there any chance that a new batch will be considered?

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dhedberg » Fri Dec 29, 2017 6:17 pm

A new batch is on the way. Waiting on the PCBs to arrive.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

dimfil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:48 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dimfil » Fri Dec 29, 2017 6:28 pm

dhedberg wrote:A new batch is on the way. Waiting on the PCBs to arrive.


Great!
Can you please add me to the list of interested users?

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1108
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby leech » Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:01 pm

itaboy wrote:go leech, go! ;)


Bought a house instead. But at least now I have room for a 3d printer, if not the money to buy one!
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dhedberg » Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:16 pm

dimfil wrote:Great!
Can you please add me to the list of interested users?

Sure can! :-)
I'll PM you when I've received the parts. Thank you!
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

dimfil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:48 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dimfil » Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:26 am

dhedberg wrote:
mzry wrote:Could some monitor genius please post some config settings for the 40mhz version?

These 50mhz ones don't work with 40mhz:
MS 1024 768 0 2 1216 64 128 244 790 18 772 2 1 50.000000
MS 1024 768 0 2 1216 52 140 244 790 18 772 2 4 50.000000

I don't understand monitor technology enough. I need to use 40mhz because I'm getting bus errors on 50mhz since my bus isn't accelerated.

The two modes above should work fine in Blow-Up, with a 50MHz pixel clock, and on a non-accelerated stock Falcon. At least they do so here on my Falcons.
Here's some more modes. Tweaked the previous two slightly and added a 4 color mode. So these are all 1024*768 modes for 2, 4, and 16 colors, using the 50MHz oscillator. All of them should work on non-accelerated Falcons.

MS 1024 768 0 2 1216 64 128 244 816 32 784 2 1 50.000000
MS 1024 768 0 2 1216 52 140 244 816 32 784 2 2 50.000000
MS 1024 768 0 2 1216 64 128 244 816 32 784 2 4 50.000000


I get an error message while trying to use the three later modes. While trying to Save Boot the message says that this mode is not compatible with vga monitors. So, are these modes only compatible with multiscans or rgb?

Also, when I use Save Boot for each mode, this mode just replaces the old one and is not added instead so I can see all of them in the ACC. What do I miss here? The manual is in German and it's quite difficult for me to understand...

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dhedberg » Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:47 am

First of all, make sure you installed the software using the installation program.
In BLOWCONF, you have to enable the multi-sync mode by clicking the button MS 1/2. It will relax the frequency constraints.
You can store 2 configurations for each color depth. Select the color depth (number of colors) and use the arrow -> button to select which slot to save it in (1 or 2).
Save the configuration to BLOWBOOT.PRG in your AUTO folder by clicking the SAVE BOOT button.
Restart your computer.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

dimfil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:48 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dimfil » Fri Jan 19, 2018 10:15 am

dhedberg wrote:First of all, make sure you installed the software using the installation program.
In BLOWCONF, you have to enable the multi-sync mode by clicking the button MS 1/2. It will relax the frequency constraints.
You can store 2 configurations for each color depth. Select the color depth (number of colors) and use the arrow -> button to select which slot to save it in (1 or 2).
Save the configuration to BLOWBOOT.PRG in your AUTO folder by clicking the SAVE BOOT button.
Restart your computer.



Thank you for your help! Now it's more clear...

As long as the installer is concerned, the blowup.prg was not installed from the beginning, nor the ACC. For the first, it was auto created in the auto folder when I used the blowconf to Save Boot a given mode. For the accessory, I had to manually copy the relevant file from the blowup folder after the installation and rename it to. ACC

I don't know if the installer should have done it already. It would be easier, because it took some time to understand that the blowup.prg would be created afterwards...

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 789
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby 1st1 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:09 pm

dimfil wrote: For the accessory, I had to manually copy the relevant file from the blowup folder after the installation and rename it to. ACC


This one? BLOWACC.PRG
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dhedberg » Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:43 pm

1st1 wrote:
dimfil wrote: For the accessory, I had to manually copy the relevant file from the blowup folder after the installation and rename it to. ACC

This one? BLOWACC.PRG

Yes, that's the one. It can be used as an accessory or a program. It's the configuration tool for selecting what resolutions you want in different color depths. Whenever you change resolution in the Desktop dialog the TSR part of BlowUp will hijack the OS call and set it to the resolution specified by BLOWACC.PRG.

The configurations available in BLOWACC.PRG are the ones you have stored using SAVE BOOT in BLOWCONF.PRG.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

dimfil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:48 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dimfil » Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:00 pm

mzry wrote:Success!

For anyone interested, I wanted 1024x768 16 colours in Myaes and these are the settings I've used:

Daniels Blowup setting:
MS 1024 768 0 2 1216 64 128 244 816 32 784 2 4 50.000000
Myaes CNF setting:
vsetmode 26
rezmode 3

I am getting a perfect crystal clear image, non-accelerated falcon.

Badwolf: try Myaes, as I was getting a corrupted screen in xaaes as well (we must need different xaaes settings)



Can anyone help with this?
For a reason I can't understand, BlowUp app in auto folder gives bombs if used with freemint.
What am I missing here?

EDIT: Never mind... Silly me... I did not check the correct order of the files in AUTO folder. Used Autosort to correct it...

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Saturnin51 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 9:06 pm

Hi everybody,

I received my card and try to use it.

I plug it into the Falcon video connector, plug an USB cable from the screen to it. Switches are on VGA and USB.
I put the BLOWBOOT.PRG (from Daniel) into the AUTO folder at the last position. At the boot I have 11 bombs !
So I replace the program by a cracked version and it runs right well.

I launch the BLOWCONF.PRG. By default it is setup as VGA, 640*480, 256C. I change C:25MHz to C:EXT.
I choose MS1/MS2, 2C. I load the list of config (I changed STANDARD.BCF as seen in this topic, 3 more lines).
I choose the 1024*768 2C.

I obtain always the same message, with 2C, 4C or 16C:

"The necessary clock is too high for the current color-mode. Change color-mode with Desktop ans restart configuring."

Could you help me please ?
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dhedberg » Sat Feb 03, 2018 9:51 pm

The color depth of the current video mode and the color depth of the configuration that you load need to match. What you are trying to do is to apply the 2 color configuration on a 256 color mode.

Why the software bombs out I cannot really say. What OS do you run? Plain TOS? What else do you have in the AUTO folder?
Also, make sure you install the Blow Up software from disk. You cannot just copy the files from the disk as you will then end up with a non-registered demo version, but if the cracked version works for you it should be just as good I assume.

EDIT: About the 256 color mode. To achieve higher resolutions in 256 colors using a faster external pixel clock you really need to accelerate your bus with a Nemesis (or similar) accelerator. The standard bus will choke. If you do have an accelerated bus and want higher resolutions in 256 colors, then the Blow Up software is not suitable as its internal checks will prevent you from even attempting to configure a 256 color mode using the external pixel clock (as you have noticed). I would then recommend Videlity. It's Nemesis aware and you can reach 1024x768 (non-interlaced) in 256 colors. The 3-in-1 adapter is compatible with Videlity.
Same thing with the TrueColor mode. To achieve 640x480 non-interlaced you need an accelerated bus.

EDIT 2: You may be able to achieve higher resolutions in the 256 color mode using the 40MHz (instead of the 50MHz) oscillator with Videlity on a standard Falcon030. I haven't tried it as I have a Nemesis in my primary Falcon030. You will probably notice that the computer will appear to be a bit slower (as the Videl will use a bigger share of the bus) though, but may be worth trying...
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests