Firing up the TT030 after 15 Years

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

Shutterspeed
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:57 am

Firing up the TT030 after 15 Years

Postby Shutterspeed » Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:18 pm

Somethings are hard to part with and this has been sitting around for the past 15 or more years. I used to be a master at all the hardware issues with the ST, MegaST, TT030 and Falcon because I used it professionally in medical implant design SQL databases (RegentBase). I tried to fire up the old TT030 and all I heard were grunts and grinds from the hard drive. I ordered a new hard drive from Best Electronics, and it didn't fire up also. A quick call to Best Electronics and it was quickly diagnosed as a power supply issue so I ordered a new TT power supply.

After installing the power supply the TT purred like a kitten and everything worked, including my old removable SyQuest drive. Best Electronics said I should keep the new Maxtor 340 and copy over original TT hard drive to it as soon as possible because the original drives did not have long lives. I actually have an old ICD hard drive box but there seems to be cut wires and missing items in it. Can I hook up my new Maxtor inside my SyQuest case (disconnect the SyQuest drive) and use that SCSI interface to access the new drives so I can copy all the files and programs from the original drive to the new one? I know I have to move some jumper on the new drive because it is setup to be a boot drive. Does anyone know what I should do?

Thanks'
Jim
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Bama
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 1:25 pm

Re: Firing up the TT030 after 15 Years

Postby Bama » Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:18 am

Hello Jim,

Welcome back!

Quick answer = yes, probably. Don't forget your SCSI basics, (ID, and termination.)

Quick question before you swap syquest for maxtor: any reason not to back up to the syquest? It may avoid extra work.
:-)
BAMA

Shutterspeed
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:57 am

Re: Firing up the TT030 after 15 Years

Postby Shutterspeed » Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:40 am

I didn't even think of that! Then swap out the original for the Maxtor and copy it back!

mikro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 796
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Firing up the TT030 after 15 Years

Postby mikro » Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:24 am

Sure you can exchange the drives. About the jumper settings, usually no jumper means ID0 = good to boot but it may vary. It helps if you have a hard disk driver also on a floppy disk, that will give you much better chances to get everything working on the first or second try. :)

User avatar
Bama
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 1:25 pm

Re: Firing up the TT030 after 15 Years

Postby Bama » Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:44 pm

Hi Jim,

Looking forward to hearing about your progress.
:-)
BAMA


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests